We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Antumalal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Antumalal
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming, beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were here in January and we loved the unusual style. Dining on the terrace with the wonderful views was a treat and the food was very good. The pool was lovely, we had a three bedroomed lodge, again with great views. Breakfast was a bit uninspiring but still fine, you can ask for something cooked which we didn't realise until the second day. The gardens are beautiful and the vegetable garden is a treat. We were a party of 10 and I think all enjoyed the experience. There is a very personal feel to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Many thanks for your lovely words about the hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for your comment about hot food at breakfast, we will bring this to the attention of the waiters. We do hope one day you can return to the Antumalal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    71
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
95
231
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We found this to be an excellent hotel in all respects. The location on the lakeside is stunning, it's grounds are very well maintained, Extensive and offer many private idyllic spots such as beaches, lookouts, piers, and lawns. The rooms offer panoramic lake views and dramatic sunsets. The bedrooms are well equipped and spacious. We found the staff to be unfailingly courteous, helpful and friendly. The restaurant makes best use of the cliff side location and offers fresh and tasty food and a good wine selection. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Ask. For sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkroverSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this comment. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed a great stay. We do hope that you will recommend us to your friends and family & that maybe we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Antumalal in a future visit to Pucón.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
254 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The property is beautifully situated and the views from our room were magnificent.
I do have some issues with the hotel. The staff is much less welcoming and engaged than in the great majority of hotels in Chile.
The WiFi is very poor and problematic.
The dining room has a gorgeous view and the food is quite good.

Room Tip: Request a very large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for your comment. We were quite surprised to read that you found our staff unwelcoming as, I am sure you have read in the majority of the comments here on this page, our staff are heralded as being top class. Do you have a specific example you could share with us?

In regard to the wifi, we do have issues during February at times due to the huge influx of tourists that saturate the available networks. This may sound like an excuse, but it is a real problem for all of us here in Pucon when the population swells from the normal 23.000 all year round to close to 90.000 during February. I can assure you that we do consistently work to improve on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our family of 7 spent 4 nights at the Antumalal Hotel in Pucon in January. The hotel is quite special. Before you even get there they are helpful and responsible for booking any excursions you might want. . The grounds are luxurious with many nooks both inside and out to relax in. It is family owned and they treat you as family. The restaurant has a nice buffet for breakfast with eggs to order included in your stay and should you eat other meals there, they are excellent as well. The bartender, Israel, will get to know you and our happy hour was a great way to be together. Located a few kilometers from the town center, it's an inexpensive cab ride there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely comment. I shall also pass it onto Don Israel! It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know when you return next time that you have stayed with is before many times. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this very nice hotel. Our room was facing the lake Villarica and the beautiful garden. Unfortunately it rained for 3 days. We enjoyed the open fire places and the views from the floor to ceiling windows. It is a pity that there are almost no comfortable chairs to sit and relax. Everything is vintage, but please note we enjoyed this. Breakfast was just okay. Lunch was very good. Very friendly staff. Kind receptionists advising where to go or to have dinner. Rooms are comfortable with open fire place as well. Small bathrooms. Quiet location, five minutes drive from city centre. Nice pool, good massages.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. In order to help us to continue improving could you let us know what you feel could be added to the buffet breakfast, and when you mention there were a lack of comfortable chairs, were you referring to the bedrooms or the public areas? We look forward to welcoming you back to the Antumalal in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was the last time we stayed here. We have known the Antumalal since the late 1990s and priced more than quadrupled since then, making this hotel very poor value for money.

The main selling point continues to be the nice location right on the waterfront. Breakfast here is nothing special. The hotel is nicely designed in Bauhaus style but does appear a bit dated ow. You could put up with the rather small rooms when they cost 150 USD but at 300-400$ they are way too expensive.

My advice is to head a few km towards Villarica and stay in the Park Lake hotel instead. The rooms are twice as big for half the money and the hotel is of a comparable standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry to hear that you will not be returning to stay at the Antumalal again. We do not believe we are at all a comparable hotel to the Park Lake as the Antumalal is independent and the Park Lake is a chain hotel. In order to help us to improve, can you give us more information about what you felt was lacking in the buffet breakfast please? Thank you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

If you're visiting Pucon, looking for the perfect location - lakeside resort and amazing view this is a great place to consider. However, if you want the service to go along with it ou may be in for dissapointment.

When my wife an I arrived (for our honeymoon), we realized there was no refridgerator, but we could live with that. Then we booked an 1.5 hour massage (which was not cheap) and only were serviced for about one hour. After inquiring, they gave an excuse saying that the time included preparation in the beginning and "rest time" for the guest at the end. We argued that if we pay for 1.5 hours we should be massaged for 1.5 hours.

The final straw came when we asked for a bucket of ice for our Champagne. They said they ran out and would have some at our room ASAP. 2 hours later there was no ice available.

Seperately, these are all argulably minor points, but together with just ok service overall, and what seemed to be a "nothing we can do about it attitude", it was dissapointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfocados, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have checked with the Manager who was on duty that day & he informs me that you were not charged for your massage as a result of this inconvenience, which seems to have been as a result of a communication issue between reception and the masseuse. In regard to your comment about the ice, we can only apologise that you suffered this inconvenience. Sometimes we just have to admit our errors and ask that this small negative experience did not affect the overall enjoyment of your stay. We do hope we can welcome you back to the Antumalal at some point in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pucon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
8.5 mi away
Vira Vira Hacienda Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pucon Green Park Hotel
Pucon Green Park Hotel
#11 of 25 in Pucon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#12 of 25 in Pucon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cocurantu Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antumalal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antumalal

Property: Hotel Antumalal
Address: Km2 Camino Pucon-Villarrica, Pucon, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pucon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pucon
#3 Family Hotel in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antumalal 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a place to sleep, the Antumalal offers an unforgettable experience. Building began in 1945 fusing vanguard architectural forms with functionality and complete integration with the surroundings. To this day the unique character has been preserved, and all areas offer the amenities of a luxurious boutique hotel. Each of the 22 rooms is paneled with local wood and stone and all materials and furnishings are locally made. The panoramic windows look out over the private park and lake instigating a feeling of calm and total rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Antumalal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antumalal Hotel Pucon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing