We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Malalhue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Malalhue
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Malalhue is a nice hotel, clean, cosy and with nice people. It is about 30 minutes walk from town centre. Rooms are nice, but noisy. Breakfast and diner are very good, with splendid wines.
Wi-fi was free but accessible only in the lounge area. There are also 3 free to use computers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lieuwe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

I recently stayed in room 202 - do not rent this room. It is on the second floor under the low hanging roof. The noise from the highway is so bad at night you cannot have your window open and try to sleep. This is the main highway from Argentina to Chile in this area. The room was so small there was not even a chair in it [no place to put one]. No desk and no place to put your luggage, I had to put the luggage in the bathroom to be able to walk around the bed. The small TV got one Spanish channel in black-and-white. The bathtub was approximately 3 feet long and a foot and half wide with sloping sides, no place to stand with your feet flat due to the sloping sides. The toilet leaked water on the floor for the entire three day stay. The location says it's close to the city center, but I don't know what they're talking about. At a brisk pace it took 32 min. to walk to the center of town. 85° was the coolest the room ever got, no a/c . There was a nice swimming pool area and kids were using it, but it was a shade of green found mostly in Koi ponds. On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelerJoe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The only letdown hotel of the trip. It was nice enough, though far from the town center but we had a room on the ground floor and it was noisy. The parking lot was right outside our windows but more noisy was that we could hear everything in the dining room--from late night diners to early buffet-breakfast eaters. The place was nice, friendly, and clean, though.

The distance to town is a bit of a drawback. Even though we had a car it is hard to park in Pucon so it was a hassle to drive into town.

Their heated pool is nice. Wi-fi was free but accessible only in the lounge area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We enjoyed staying just outside the city center in this quiet and peaceful chalet-style hotel. They offer a reasonably priced prix fixe menu each night, which we sampled and enjoyed as well.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank TulsaTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We only stayed one night at the Hotel Malalhue, but it was a very pleasant stay. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. We had to leave early in the morning for the volcano climb, and they had a full breakfast spread ready for us a couple hour before the normal time for their breakfast serving. They also allowed us to store our luggage with them for the entire day.

The room was very big and comfortable, and nicely decorated. The restaurant at the hotel was convenient and very reasonably priced for hotel dining. We ate there after a full day of exploring the town, and enjoying the hot springs. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the downtown area, but in a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cologator98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We stayed at this hotel as a part of a tour group through Patagonia so I can't comment on the cost. The hotel was very good though. The hotel staff was very helpful and spoke some English. The lobby had 3 computers for internet use. The room was very nice and comfortable and had HBO in English as well. The food was good, not unbelieveable, but good. The breakfast had quite a good variety and was more than just a typical continental breakfast of bread, cereal, and cold cuts. The location is on the outside of town so it is about a 15-20 minute walk into the main part of town (or an inexpensive cab ride). Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank haji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Alpine style hotel some 15 mins walk from the town centre on a busy road. We had a rather nice room at the rear of the hotel with a lovely view of the smoking Villarrica volcano, beds were comfortable, no chair, light coloured curtains - bring your flight eyeshades, if you like a dark room. Breakfast was fine & the staff were very friendly, but when asked about a bus into the centre - they did not suggest either a shared taxi or a "collectico" which were available.

There were 2 problems with the hotel -

Noise from the main road and also from an unmade road running down the side of the hotel (which also created dust) and lack of sound insulation between bedrooms - you really don't want to hear your next door neighbour visit the bathroom during the night.

Lack of seating; in the lounge, there were a few chairs but also 3 free internet connections - usually being used by 2 children (from the hotel?). It would have ben nice if there had been some comfortable seats on the grassed area behind the hotel with suitable shading for guests to use.

The walk into town was reasonbly well lit in the evening - but you may wish to bring a torch.

We hired a bike from a firm recommended by the hotel and that proved enjoyable - there is a good bycycle lane on the opposite side of the road to the hotel.

For meals, we had 2 fish dinners at La Grilla, which is considered "the" best fish restaurant, despite it's name. We also went to the poplar Urugaryan parrillado - just past La Grilla also on Fresia street for our steak meal, I can highly recommed both.

Whether I would choose this hotel again - would be dependant on the alternatives. We were late booking and Pucon was heaving with people and nearly grid locked with traffic in the evening, may be out of high season things would be quieter.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pucon hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pucon Green Park
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cumbres del Sur
Hotel Cumbres del Sur
#10 of 26 in Pucon
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Boutique CasaEstablo
0.6 mi away
Kari Mapu Park
Kari Mapu Park
#19 of 26 in Pucon
18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Pucon
Gran Hotel Pucon
#13 of 26 in Pucon
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malalhue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malalhue

Address: Camino Internacional 1615, Pucon, Chile
Region: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Pucon
Price Range: £59 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Malalhue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Malalhue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing