We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of potential 2011”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Huincahue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Huincahue
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Pucon
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lots of potential 2011”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Huincahue in July/August 2011, for about 3 nights. The hotel has a lovely feel, the staff are friendly and the location is outstanding. The room was comfortable, and the bed was good. The big thing was the heating- the entire hotel was freezing cold (winter) because the wall heating wasn't working (it seemed that it wouldn't be fixed for some time). The room had reverse cycle heating/aircon, but this wasn't much good for a cold bathroom! This made it unpleasant to sit for meals and relax in the lobby or bar. If this was fixed, this would be a comfortable 4 star hotel.

Nonetheless, Francisco the manager was very helpful and priced the room suitably and overall we were happy. If the heating isn't fixed- summer only.

Room Tip: ask for one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrreviewaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had a pleasant 2 nights stay. The double bedroom is very spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, cereals, fruit, cakes, loaf bread with jams, (paper thin) ham and cheese, fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee.

The only problems we had were with lack of attendance at the front desk. We were required to hand in our room key before going out but there was never anyone there to take it! Another problem was the weak wifi which only worked in the lobby and breakfast area.

Overall though I would recommend this hotel as it is good value for the location and quality.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneycar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

My husband and I recently visited Pucon and stayed at the Hotel Huinachue with our son and a friend and found it a delightful place to stay. There is a lot to like about this hotel. The staff were extremely nice and helpful and the rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. We loved the wonderful view of Volcan Villarrica from our window. The hotel is nicely situated opposite the plaza and close to restaurants, cafes and shops. We would highly recommend Hotel Huicahue.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisP06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I am writing from within the hotel, Dec. 3, 2011. Out of curiosity I read the reviews for this hotel, and laughed a bit at the creative writing. Mostly what people have said is exactly right on, but I think the hotel has got an unfair bad rap for relatively minor things like a cold lobby or slightly dark areas. The bottom line is this hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious and well lit with big windows, the location is literally perfect, there is free good wifi in the lobby areas, the service is friendly, and a big bonus is if you have a car they have an enclosed, gated, private, locked parking area, which is really great. One prior writer pointed out a few things which are also true, but not really that bad: water takes a long time to get hot--this is very true, but once it does get hot, it stays hot and even; cold--yes, it is a bit cold, but if you know how to work the heater, it quickly gets nice and warm in the room, and the heater is nearly silent; not a very good breakfast--I don't fully agree, although I have had better breakfasts. Maybe they have learned from the reviews. My eggs were freshly made just for me, and were nicely scrambled and served hot off the griddle, not overdone. The breads were very plain as the prior writer said. There were a couple of croissant like rolls which were fresh and slightly crispy. The fruit was fine. There was yogurt. Coffee was instant! Juice was in fact fresh. I thought the cheese was actually very good. So, a kind of average breakfast. The main thing here is very clean; very spacious (I am in the first room to the right, down the hall through the door, then first right door). Bathroom is large and everything works. Towel is plush and feels new. So, I like it, and was very, very surprised to see it so low on the list. It will rise up over time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

The only reason I was in Pucon is my partner wanted to climb the Villarica volcano (which he ended up not doing because of the weather). We arrived at the tail end of a Chilean national holiday so most hotels were fully booked. We managed to find a room at the Huincahue after driving around town for a few minutes. From the street, it looked the best of all the ones we saw (and we did not feel like paying the extremely high prices at Hotel Antumalal).

We got a very quiet, large room facing the garden and swimming pool. It's important not to face the street as there is a casino one block away and there may be noise late at night from people walking home or from cars.

The bed was typical of Chilean hotels, meaning, a small queen sized bed. After staying in Chilean and Argentine hotels I can say Argentine hotels have larger, better beds.

Also, it was a bit chilly on one day during our stay in Pucon (we stayed 2 days) and the hotel common areas, like the dining room and lobby, as well as the hallways, were very cold and dark. Chileans don't heat or light their rooms as well as Argentines because of the high energy costs in Chile, but still, we were paying about US$127 per night which was not cheap, so I expected them to heat and light the hotel properly.

Service is very good -- staff are on top of things, friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was grim: watery coffee, no fresh juice, bland cheese, pre-sliced supermarket bread (a la Wonderbread), no natural (unsweetened) yogurt. Eating brekkie in a dining room as cold as a crypt was unpleasant. But this is not unusual for Chilean hotels where the food and amenities are far below Argentine hotels.

In fact, if you go to the supermarket in Pucon, you will see just how awful the food/drink choices are in this country: powdered coffee (Nescafe) dominates, powdered milk or milk in cartons sitting on shelves, no fresh milk, terrible bread, bland cheese, wilting vegetables, all in a supermarket with inadequate lighting (so you can't see the awful veg/fruit?).

So this hotel is not giving you bad stuff -- it's just giving you regular Chilean stuff.

Still, our room was quiet, comfortable, had heating and some light and the shower was strong (although you have to wait a few minutes for the warm water to come on).

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street, but facing the garden/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isolde100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concepcion, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We had a really bad experience in Hotel Huincahue. They changed the condition of the room that we already had payed. Originaly it was included a cot, but late at night they said they couldn't include it. It was raining a lot, and it was late but Huincahue hotel didn't demonstrate any intention to try to solve the problem. We had to take our children and look for another place. Definetively they don'y know what respect, regard or kindness is.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinfoguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pucon hotels

Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

This was the second hotel we looked at in Pucon on arrival without a reservation. It was clean, had wi-fi, availability and reasonable rooms so we decided to stay for the night. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The location was excellent, being on one corner of the main square and about 3 blocks from the lake and with a view of the volcano. Its also close to the main street with its restaurants.

For me, the only problem was the breakfast. It was very simple with little selection. As in most of the other places we stayed in Chile, the coffee was weak and tasted like instant. Also, when we came back at night from eating out, we saw the breakfast already prepared albeit covered and in a chiller unit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slatBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.6 mi away
Cocurantu Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Pucon
0.3 mi away
Martina de Goni
Martina de Goni
#17 of 25 in Pucon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La posada Plaza Pucon
0.3 mi away
Del Volcan Apart Hotel
Del Volcan Apart Hotel
#14 of 25 in Pucon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Malalhue
Hotel Malalhue
#19 of 25 in Pucon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Huincahue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Huincahue

Property: Hotel Huincahue
Address: Pedro de Valdivia 375, Pucon, Chile
Region: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Huincahue 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Huincahue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huincahue Hotel Pucon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing