We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough room to swing a cat but a great breakfast”
Review of La Tetera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tetera
Ranked #10 of 61 Pucon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here on either side of a 4 day hike. The staff were nice and helpful and the breakfast was really nice. The only thing we felt was that the room was tiny and it was very difficult to walk around the bed. Also that it was a tad expensive.

Room Tip: Room 2 is quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hybinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Perfect location very close to downtown center. Staff is very helpful with all visitor activities while staying here and quite friendly. I hiked Volcan Villarrica and staff will if told ahead of time will make up a breakfast for you before the formal breakfast time to accomodate the hikers who must leave so early for the climb. Breakfast very healthy and filling. Rooms clean tho small. Stayed here 4 nights. Vegetarian restaurant 2 doors down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Pucon in November, 2011 for 5 days. We were there in the off season (apparently the town grows 10-fold with tourists during December and January). La Tetera is located on a quiet street withing EASY walking distance of town.

The couple that owns La Tetera are very friendly and helpful. They took the time to describe the bike route to Los Ojos falls, complete with maps, directions, and the best place in town to rent well maintained bikes, as well as to call Antilco to help arrange a horse back riding trip (you can find my review of Antilco on TripAdvisor as well).

Though sparsely furnished, our room was very clean, with a comfortable bed, a big window with a view of the volcano, and a nice private bathroom with a good warm shower. Breakfast was healthy, filling, tasty, and served basically whenever we were ready in the morning.

We hiked up the Villarrica volcano during our stay, which involves getting started at around 5am. If you let the owners know the night before, they will leave you a nice breakfast (complete with hot tea and coffee) all set up just outside your room so you can eat before heading out on the trek.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The owner couple was very kind and always ready to help the guests. I stayed in a room with private bathroom, which has a small balcony and lots of sunshine in the morning. (I'm very lucky regarding the weather in Pucón) Everything is very clean an organized. I loved them all.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whataGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Good rooms, very clean with a nice bathroom. Slept well here.
Breakfast is amazing. It´s a great start to the day to have a real breakfast!!
The staff were very helpful.

Only think the place is missing, is a common area for the guests where they can wath TV and hang out.

Plenty to do around Pucon, and the food is great in the town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyjay123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

La Tetera is a very comfortable hostel, placed in a very quite road near the centre of Pucon. I slept very well.The room was cosy, the beds are good and everything was kept very clean during my stay. A little desk was helpful for the daily work at the laptop. The internet connection was always brilliant.

The breakfast is very nice with the self-made bread and the variety offered each day.
And last but not least, the continuous help of the manager couple Ruth and Grietzen is priceless. What ever I needed I got the help and support. Thank you very much again.

On my first day I have arrived coming from Santiago. There I have slept at a five start hotel.
May be the bathroom looked more modern, or the size of the bed was bigger. But if you would ask me for a rating I would not give full marks. I travel a lot and I sleep in all sorts of accommodation. But at the end of the day it is the personal service that you will keep in your mind if you remember your holiday.

Monika B. from New Zealand

Room Tip: I had a room with the view to the Vulcano Villarricca and own bathroom. However, the shared bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We arrived late, they were not nervous, had the time to explain everything about the city. For people with a lot of questions or who need a lot of help to get around, they are at your service.
Realy kind people what speak differnt languages. the breakfast room is cozy.
The rooms: well, there is not too much place. If you pack out something from your backpack or suitcase, the way to the bathroom and/or to the door is blocked.
Location: close to the center and quiet

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_A11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pucon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Araucarias
Hotel & Spa Araucarias
#24 of 26 in Pucon
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Volcan Apart Hotel
Del Volcan Apart Hotel
#14 of 26 in Pucon
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Insolente Hostel - Pucon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Maison Nomade Eco B&B
0.2 mi away
Hostal Emalafquen
Hostal Emalafquen
#20 of 195 in Pucon
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lacustre Trip Hostel
Lacustre Trip Hostel
#11 of 195 in Pucon
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tetera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tetera

Address: Urrutia 580, Pucon, Chile
Region: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Pucon
Price Range: £41 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA TETERA is a charming, comfortable but moderately priced Guesthouse, especially thought for international, individual travellers. Because we only have six rooms, the contact with the guests is very close. We organise excursions for those who wish, or we provide all the information you need, if you want to go on your own. Most rooms have shared bath, but there are also some with private bathroom. The building has lots of native wood that gives a cozy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Tetera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing