We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy stay with lots of hospitality”
Review of Casa Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Perla
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy stay with lots of hospitality”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Perla is a great host. Her house is very homey. Comfortable bed and quiet location. Perla gave us great advice on a national park to visit and we had a fabulous hike there. There's not a ton of affordable hostels in Puerto Mont, so I recommend Perla's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtaylor1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Casa Perla is a cute little house and you are actually staying with Perla and her family. The father and son do not speak a lit of English but Perla speaks perfect English.

The things that we loved about staying here was Perla herself who is lovely. The fact that although breakfast was supposed to be finished, her and her maid still made us some breakfast and made sure we ate before we left. She is extremely welcoming and makes you feel very at home. The double room we stayed in was large and the bed very comfortable.

The shared bathroom is small but well equipped with a hairdryer and very clean.

It is however a little way out of town but easy enough to walk into the town which isn't very big and there are plenty of taxis.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It's taken me a while to write this review but I wanted to say thanks to Perla for all her help. We had a double room that was very cosy and comfy. This is a real guesthouse and the walls and surfaces are all decorated with trinkets and photos - very quaint but might not appeal to someone who likes sterile modern hotels and the like. In our case however we loved staying there - a welcome respite from the dirty hustle of an industrial city like Puerto Montt. The area looks relatively rough on first inspection but from our experience, that's just Puerto Montt and actually by the time we left we were pretty happy wandering even after dark. We had some good grub and a few beers (draught!) in the pub/bar down the road which Perla recommended. Perla also helped us organise a rental car for less than any of the quotes I had managed to get myself and then allowed us to cancel/move a booking on our return without any penalty. She also happily phoned the rental company to extend our rental.

All in all Perla was very helpful to us and her house is a bastion of cosiness in an otherwise fairly inhospitable city.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Flatfish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed here with a friend in July 2012 on the way north to Santiago.

The place in general is quite homely and decent. The staff was decent. Overall, it was pretty cozy and it definitely had an intriguing charm.

However, the roofing/ceiling wasn't sealed properly. We arrived on a pretty rainy day. Before going to sleep, I noticed that the space above the bed (the one right next to the bookshelf) was taped, and didn't think much of it. I woke up during the night to find cold and dirty water pouring down onto the sheets. I couldn't sleep at all that night.

Perhaps, if we had another room, I would have been ok. But that was definitely one of my worst hosteling experiences ever.

Room Tip: Do not pick the room that I stayed in (downstairs with the two beds and the bookshelf).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This place was wonderful. We booked at last minute and did not expect much from the pictures available. We had a pleasant surprise when greeted by Perla, a lovely Chilena lady with exceptional English. Her family home is warm, clean and inviting after a long bus trip. The directions she gave us were great. A standard breakfast was provided. Wifi good. A couple of bathrooms which although small had good water flow and temperature. The dorm room had beds which was a lovely change from bunks. Perla also had great recommendations on eating venues so listen to her advice. There is no pool or fitness centre sorry. I accidentally selected the options.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleynSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Arrived into Puerto Montt after dark (from Argentina) - map was NOT clear at all and we literally were wondering around (up hills) in a relatively ´dodgy´ place. To be fair, locals were extremely helpful and we did find our way in the end!

Very cute homestead, lovely big twin room. Walls are a little thin - you can hear a pin drop at night giving an intimate experience to say the least.
Our host was lovely, though unwell at the time Perla still made an effort to come say hi.
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Casa Perla is an uphill walk from the bus terminal. A veeeeerry long walk uphill. Not very ideal when you are carrying a backpack. It's also a good 20 minute walk to the centre of town and to the harbour where all the good (fresh) seafood is. There are almost not a lot of amenities around Casa Perla.

Add all this in with the (pretty) dark streets of Puerto Montt, it is easy to feel A BIT uncomfortable trying to find food/groceries after sunset.

Having said that, i think it is one of the better options for staying in Puerto Montt. The pickings are slim and there don't seem to be much accommodations around (believe me, I've checked)

The room itself is pretty cosy. But the thing to note is that Casa Perla is in a relatively old cabin building. The interior of the house is a bit dark and there are a lot of pretty weird souvenirs hanging all over the house. The floor boards squeak a fair bit when you are walking around. We were not very comfortable with that.

Pictures and a longer write up of Casa Perla can be seen here:
twandjo.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/of-houses-and-possibly-witches-puerto-montt/

There are also no locks on the door, and although I have to say that the whole place feels "safe", you never really know what kinda people the other guests are.

The owners themselves are LOVELY. They speak excellent English and (from what I understand) German and would go out of their way to tell you of the places to go around Puerto Montt.

Breakfast is pretty decent too

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Montt hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt
0.9 mi away
Hotel Seminario
Hotel Seminario
#6 of 21 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Presidente Suite Puerto Montt
Presidente Suite Puerto Montt
#2 of 21 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Don Luis
Hotel Don Luis
#5 of 21 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hospedaje Javiera
Hospedaje Javiera
#3 of 66 in Puerto Montt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Don Nicolas
Hostal Don Nicolas
#16 of 27 in Puerto Montt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Perla

Property: Casa Perla
Address: Trigal 312, Puerto Montt, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Montt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing