We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need a flexible schedule”
Review of Navimag

Navimag
Ranked #12 of 40 things to do in Puerto Montt
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Connecting the Chilean Patagonia through the southern fjords. Come and join us in a different travel experience #traveldifferent
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You need a flexible schedule”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

You need to make sure your schedule is flexible and have at least three days after the stated Navimag arrival dates. We showed up Tuesday morning for a Tuesday night departure and found out the boat wouldn't leave until Wednesday...then Thursday. We don't know when the boat finally left Puerto Natales because we canceled. We had a flight we had to catch on Friday afternoon in Puerto Montt. Navimag did gave us a quick refund, though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DanGindling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    92
    36
    31
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yes it's expensive and an old ship, but”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Just be prepaired, act accordingly and you will have a great time!
We had a interior cabin for two, you don't spend much time in there other than to sleep and it is not a very comfy sleep but yes, you are on a freighter cruise! We've been lucky and had nice weather for most of the journey, so our time was spent on the bridge (you can go in there!), on one of the few benches on deck (yes there are not enough), inside in the dinning hall or in the airplane-like seats in the tv room or on the floor somewhere on deck where there was sun, no wind and no stinky exhaust.
The views have been great, the food was eatable and I would go again!

Helpful?
3 Thank RBuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience but it depends of the weather”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We took the trip from Puerto Natales to Puerto Montt.

We had the Amadeo ferry, be aware this this is a cargo ship so do not expect much comfort. The cabins are small but clean. The food is however poor but eatable. I would recommend to bring some own snacks with you as well your own wine. They sell a basis wine on the ferry. This is smaller ferry, they told us they have larger Ferry as well which is larger with better facilities.
Navimag. The crew is very friendly.

Be aware that there can be a significant delay in the travel schedule depending on the weather. Also you have to cross the golfo de penas so you can get seasick (they offer medicine).

The views are spectacular, I loved the trip and stayed much time outside (bring warm clothing) or on the bridge. Beautiful nature while reading a book.
You will be able to see dolphins, whales. Be sure you are awake and outside when crossing the angostura Inglesa and Puerto Eden.

In short it is a great alternative to travel up north (or south if you start in Puerto Montt).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank markito0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist service suspended”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I contacted Navimag. They are anticipating starting this service again. It isn't cheap however other passengers were happy with this service. I was told by an employee to continue calling to see when service resumes. There is a toll free number on their website.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Brass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My partner and I travelled with navimag during Mid May which is the low season so the ship was downgraded to a smaller sized one. From reading the reviews below we were aware of what was on offer. We thought the food was very good and there was a lot of it- you will never go hungry. Although it does cycle around the same theme of potato and some type of meat. The living quarters were very comfortable with not too many people and a tv that is constantly playing movies. There is a section of the trip that you sail on the open seas which can be rough and a few people were very ill during this time, however they do offer seasick pills. Fortunately I didn't get sick and had a great day on deck outside. Our arrival date was also delayed because of bad weather, this is a positive because the captain chose not to sail on the open sea when the waves were very large for the safety of his passengers and cargo.
There was amazing scenery and wildlife to be seen along the trip including smoking volcanos, mountains, whales, sea lions and dolphins. It really was a great experience that everybody on board agreed was special.
As for the animal cruelty... Chile is no different to the rest of the world. This is really an insight into how cows and animals that end up on our plate are treated worldwide. It is not specifically a Chilean thing, I think it is important to unveil how animals are actually treated around the world.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Navimag also viewed

Puerto Montt, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Montt, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Montt, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Montt, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Navimag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing