We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad customer service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Luis

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Don Luis
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Puerto Montt
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad customer service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was put in a suite "upgraded" as the administration had lost my reservation, which they managed to find later, i am staying 2 nights. The second day in the eveing they tell. Have to move rol s because someone else has reserved this room... They never offered to help me move (a hassle!), they did not offer a discount for the inconvrnience, they simply told me they would charge the full suite rate becuase i didnt wAnt to move! They put me there because of their mismanagement and they bullied me to move without making it easy for me to move! Arrogant and the worst customer service ever, in fact the reservTions manager threated me that they would over charge me instead of apologizing! Bad news !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    143
    50
    10
    9
See reviews for
61
87
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chowchilla, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This was a great hotel. It is close to shoping, restaurants, a beautiful view of the water. The hotel staff was the best in Chile. The room was clean. The restaurant at this hotel was very good. My wife and I had left clothes in Punta Arenas The hotel staff tryed to help us get in contact with them. Durning a group dinner my wife and i were late, the staff at the entrance was so helpfull of finding the name of the restaurant they went to and giving us directions 

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brandon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Don Luis, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for your comments, Hotel Don Luis has an excellent location near from the most important activities in the city. We thank you as well for your comments about our staff, they are very committed to give a genuine and warm service to our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel was ok! The location was excellent and the breakfast was fantastic, but the rooms were pretty small and for the price I expected a little bit more both in terms of facilities and service. Close to the downtown area and the big shopping mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed here in order to catch the Skorpios Cruise to Glacier San Rafael. The hotel was okay, But... If I went back, I would stay in the city of Puerto Varas. Puerto Montt is not nearly as nice. Puerto Varas has nice restaurants, lake and volcano views, coffee shops, a city square, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla_Kay_99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Don Luis, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments, we regret that the city has not been satisfactory, when come back again to Chile, you can visit in Puerto Varas Hotel Cabaña del Lago, we are sure that you can enjoy and relax at Lake Llanquihue.

Greetings from south of Chile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinandega, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed two times at this hotel. Passing thru Puerto Mont. I had trouble checking in and checking out the first time. On the way back from my cruise we staoped by to drop of our luggage because we came in early . Went over to Pto. Vargas for the day to check it out. If i ever travel this way again I would stay in Puerto Vargas. Much better place.
Getting back to Don Luis, as I returned in the evening to check in the staff had not checked us in yet. Had to wait a good half hour.
Later on that night as a was trying to sleep there was a continuous sloos from high pressure water passing through the pipes. All night long. Hardly got an hours sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manicero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Booked in by a cruise ship agency for our arrival night in Puerto Montt, and decided to say again when we next came through Puerto Montt. Were happier the first night, not two weeks later. On the night of our arrival, a week night, there was a better selection in the restaurant. Not the hotel's fault, but two weeks later we got little sleep (and had a very early a.m. flight out) because the city of Puerto Montt put on a 400 decibels rock "concert" until 1230 in the a.m. The room was fine both nights, certainly clean. I find that, on balance, for this hotel and others Latin Americans tend to be more critical and caustic than English-language reviewers. Accuse me of soft expectations in Latin America. I don't remember the breakfast; it was neither the skimpiest nor the most ample and tasty that we had in Chile. If you have to stay in Puerto Montt (consider Puerto Varas, if you can), this (for just over $100 if you pay in US dollars) is probably about as good as you can expect.

Room Tip: Rooms are probably all about the same. Some complain about smoke, so check out two if you can befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60726Nicky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed at Hotel Don Luis last December. The hotel is very well located, close to many places of interest, such as the cathedral (where a Christmas concert was held....free admission!), the waterfront walkway, traditional cafés where you can taste delicious pastries (German recipes) and have excellent coffee, popular bars/restaurants, etc. The hotel is also very close to a tourist information point and also to two shopping areas. If you walk one block to the waterfront walkway you can get public transportation to go to other cities, such as Angelmó, where you can eat excellent traditional dishes such as "curanto" and all sort of fish and seafood based recipies. It is also very easy to find places to but souvenirs, very good quality handcraft products, and jams made with typical Southern Chilean fruits. So, Hotel Don Luis can really be your "headquarters" to visit Puerto Montt itself but also to go to other places around. There are tourist agencies that offer short trips to Chiloé. They pick you up from the hotel. Rooms are comfortable. Service es very good. Breakfast is included, and they have a variety of breads and cakes. Also fruit jams, honey (Chilean honey is very good quality), ham, a variety of cheeses, orange juice, eggs, fruits, and all the coffee and tea that you want.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilma N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Montt hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manquehue Puerto Montt
Hotel Manquehue Puerto Montt
#2 of 22 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seminario
Hotel Seminario
#6 of 22 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Presidente Suite Puerto Montt
Presidente Suite Puerto Montt
#3 of 22 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Vicente Costanera
Gran Hotel Vicente Costanera
#9 of 22 in Puerto Montt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Antupiren
Hotel Antupiren
#13 of 22 in Puerto Montt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Luis

Property: Hotel Don Luis
Address: Quillota 146, Puerto Montt, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Puerto Montt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Don Luis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Don Luis has a privileged location near the Cathedral, the Plaza de Armas (Civic Center), banks and public institutions, while being only 15 minutes away from the airport. Has 60 rooms and in addition it has free of charge Wi Fi, sauna, exercise room and restaurant with room service, which distinguish it among its class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Don Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing