We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Compare!”
Review of Quincho Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quincho Casa Hotel
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Quincho Country Home formed an early part of our planning for our journey to Argentina and Chile. Although we had planned on the Picaflor Suite(Humming Bird) we found ourselves upgraded to a very large Suite with separate sitting room, study, large bedroom with equally large sitting area and en suite bathroom.

Nothing was too much trouble and every request was met with a smile and a 'please do ask for anything you want'!

Not only was the room exceptional but the food, freshly prepared each by the chef, and the bespoke inclusive tours, guide and driver.

Personal service of the highest possible standards.

No question, we would go again and again.

Thank you Quincho Country Home.

Room Tip: With only four suites, all are of the highest standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Carberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Greeted at the airport by Joos [guide] and driver, Juanito. They looked after us the whole time we stayed at Quincho and were very good indeed. We had Bandurrias, the master bedroom.
Good welcome on arrival and we were made to feel very much at home. Nice touches like fresh flowers everyday, chocolate beside bed at night, putting our shoes by the fireside to dry. Matteo, young cook, produced very good dinners which we ate in the bay window in the sitting/dining area with wonderful views of Lake Llanguihue and Volcan Osorno. House wine was included and was perfectly nice. We were the only guests the second night and standards never slipped. The first night only one other couple staying. Lunchtime picnics were good but not exceptional. We stayed for two full days with excursions to the Volcano, Puerto Varas, waterfall[ Saltos de Petrohue], Emerald lake and also horseriding and a Fjordd. We had stopped on the way to the hotel at Joos' suggestion to see Frutillar and walked around the amazing opera house on the lake.At the end of our stay Joos and Juanito took us to Petrohue to catch the Ferry to start the Lake crossing to Argentina and didn't leave until they were sure we had seats and our baggage was loaded.
I think 2 to 3 nights would be sufficient here to see the area.

Room Tip: Bandurrias. large room, wonderful views, very comfortable bed & pillows, sofa, super dressing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

It is quite difficult to find this small country house as the signage it is not exactly prominent! Once you get there you find a very warm welcome. It is set in four hectares well back from the busy road The staff go out of their way to be helpful. There are only four bedrooms. We had the bridal suite Bandurria which is a must as it has an enormous picture window with a breath taking view of the volcano which is memorable. This room also has a large bathroom and walk in wardrobe area the food was excellent and the chef made every effort to cook to our tastes. We hired a guide to take us around he drove us up Volcano Osorno, took us out on boat to see birds. We visited the fish market and chose what we would have for dinner. We went into Porta Varas for a coffee but did not stay long as there were swarms of wasps everywhere.

Room Tip: Only book a room with a view of the Volcano, the front of the house room as no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Silja Torborg and her staff have done a fabulous job of making one feel as if they were at home. The Lodge has only 4 rooms and the large one on the upper floor has a spectacular view of the Volcano across the lake! The staff will cook what you like and the meals are pretty good. We suggested that meals are planned the night previously so that the Chef can buy just what the guests want and in the abundance that they like. . We stayed for 3 nights but 2 will do, as the trip to the Penguin colony is far too long. Silja is working on other sightseeing opportunities and her constant attention to detail is worth the stay in itself.

Room Tip: Enjoy the Pisco Sours and the relaxing comfort of the main living area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giocant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

There are many good things about Quincho; here's my list.

1. You have the same guide throughout, so from when you are collected at the airport to dropped off again. We had Carlo and he was brilliant. Knowledgable about all things wildlife and Chilean. It was great to have that personal service and consistency.

2, The activities- we did a look around Orsono,kayaking and rafting, I'd recommend them all.

3. The food is excellent. Healthy, perfect portions and beautifully presented. Mattheus the chef is clearly very passionate.

4. The hosts are lovely too. Very welcoming and can't do enough to make sure you your stay is perfect.

5. Quincho feels like home, we had been travelling in hotels for a few weeks before we arrived here and it was so lovely to feel at home.

Definitely a higught of our time in Chile. If we'd had longer I would have liked to explore Puerto Verras a bit more, it looked like a lovely small town.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Romantic, personal, and homey. It was the perfect getaway for my husband and me. The food was exquisite and the service was top notch. Every detail attended to. It was a great access point for an area that is highly underrated, Los Lagos.
I loved the vista, loved the Bandurrias suite. The staff, especially Isabel and Marcelo were just fantastic. I'd go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Bandurria suite if you are okay with stairs. It's the honeymoon suite and it's AMAZING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMcNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here a while ago, it is a wonderful, peaceful retreat where one can indulge in total understated luxury, with superb comfort and wonderful cuisine, we loved it. We were here in spring and it was perfect time, although summer and autumn would be nice too and winter as the log fire is spectacular.
This is a very special place, great for a couple, for a family where you rent the whole place or an event.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.5 mi away
Los Caiquenes Hotel Boutique
Los Caiquenes Hotel Boutique
#15 of 27 in Puerto Varas
95 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel AWA
Hotel AWA
#8 of 27 in Puerto Varas
79 reviews
3.8 mi away
Arrebol Patagonia Hotel
Arrebol Patagonia Hotel
#20 of 27 in Puerto Varas
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Casa Molino
Casa Molino
#12 of 27 in Puerto Varas
300 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,767 reviews
6 mi away
Cabanas y Piscina Rucamalen
Cabanas y Piscina Rucamalen
#25 of 27 in Puerto Varas
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quincho Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quincho Casa Hotel

Address: Ruta 225, km 7.5, Puerto Varas 5550000, Chile (Formerly Quincho Country Home)
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range: £1,265 - £1,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quincho Casa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word “hogar” is Spanish for home. It comes from the word hearth, where families used to gather for warmth and to feed. This is what Quincho aims to bring to each of our guests. The feeling of not being a traveller or tourist, but to find in Quincho a home away from home. Surrounded by four acres of gardens and secondary forest, Quincho Casa Hotel is a cosy retreat with breath taking views of the Osorno and Calbuco volcanoes, and Lake Llanquihue. Our staff’s best attribute is personalized service, which aims to make every guest at home. We have a maximum capacity of eight guests whose every need is carefully tended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quincho Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing