We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, centrally-located hosteria on busy street”
Review of Hosteria Outsider

Hosteria Outsider
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Varas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hosteria Outsider
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We ended up at the Outsider Inn/Hosteria Outsider last minute when we needed to stay in Puerto Varas so that we could catch an early flight the next day. From the outside, my expectations were fairly low. It's located on a busy street and the facade wasn't too impressive. However the value, the customer service, and the actual state of the inside definitely made up for it.

Make no mistake, Hosteria Outsider is fairly basic. It's located upstairs from a travel agency and restaurant and there are private rooms w/ bath along the perimeter of the central room where there are tables for breakfast (and is pleasant enough to sit in at other hours to relax). All but one room face out onto the busy street, the does get quiet at night after the minibuses stop running. We got a room with a queen bed and the bed was comfortable. The room itself was a bit small, but the bathroom was big and the shower had great water pressure. The room in general was clean and pleasant, but no TV and not very conducive to hanging out.

The breakfast was simple, but good. And for the price, Hosteria Outsider is a great deal. We also had a great experience with the staff. However, we did not need much guidance from them for booking tours or anything like that, so I can't attest to how helpful they would be in that regard.

Overall, if you need a simple, clean, affordable place to stay in Puerto Varas, Hosteria Outsider is a good choice. But if you want/need more than just a comfortable place to sleep or something with more amenities, I would opt for a larger hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlfmn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Hosteria Outsider
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Manu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: muy cerca del centro, ideal si vas sin auto
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alejandra Dina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Camila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank claudioalberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocío L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weisserhaus
Weisserhaus
#10 of 27 in Puerto Varas
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
0.3 mi away
Hostal y Cabanas Villa Germana
Hostal y Cabanas Villa Germana
#12 of 82 in Puerto Varas
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Outsider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Outsider

Address: San Bernardo 318, Puerto Varas, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Varas
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing