We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to enjoy Puerto Varas”
Review of Solace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2011

If you want to enjoy the amenities of Puerto Varas in a quality hotel, I recommend Solace as your choice. Rooms are very comfortable and if you are lucky enough, you can get excellent views from Llanquihue Lake in those heading southeast.The hotel also has an excellent service to pick you and drop you at Tepual Airport in Puerto Montt. If you are looking for a relaxing escape for the weekend or if you are planning on going further south, be sure to check out this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyllop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

I loved this hotel! You can't find a more convenient location - the town is a short two-block walk. But you don't compromise a bit for the convenience! While not quaint or "cozy", Solace is spotless, the rooms spacious and up to date. Many have interesting views of local church steeples. Breakfast was good - though somewhat standard. They often ran out of fruit and don't expect well-cooked eggs! My friends ate dinner here and said it was delicious.

This was part of a group trip, so I cannot speak to value. But I would not hesitate to recommend Solace.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CultureSleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We had a large room with a sofa and lots of space for luggage. WiFi was both in the lobby and individual rooms. Bathroom was smallish, but with modern fixtures and a heated towel rack. Breakfast was good and healthy.

Great location in a very pleasant town on the lake. We loved all the local dogs who would adopt you as you walked the streets. Great restaurants and bakery in town. Try Danes coffeeshop/bakery. Wonderful, tasty food.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 26West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our holiday, Natural Wonders of Chile, booked through Llama Travel. The tour company they use within Chile is Pro-Tours.

We stayed in room 507 which appeared to be a junior suite was quite spacious and very modern. We had a fantastic view of the Osorno Volcano. Not a lot of luggage space but manageable. Our room had a TV with plenty of english channels and a listing of all the channels could be found in the TV guide, mini bar/fridge, safe and free Wi-Fi. What I enjoyed the most was the heated floor in the bathroom!

We found the breakfast choice to be excellent with cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit including strawberries, a choice of fruit juices, cakes including cheesecake, rolls they also had a hot tray with freshly cooked scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages.

The hotel is close to the town centre where there are a good choice of restaurants, shops including North Face and a couple of supermarkets.

We recommend Pastagonia, in the main square, where we had freshly made pasta and a couple of beers for our lunch. For dinner, we actually ate both nights at Fogan Las Buenas Brasas. This restaurant was recommended by our guide and we thoroughly enjoyed both meals. You also get a complimentary pisco sour when you arrive. It is tucked down a side street but they have a massive white sign on the roof saying ‘restaurant’ so you can’t miss it.

We had a full day excursion around Lake Llanquihue and although it was raining lightly first thing in the morning, it soon cleared up so we got some really good clear views of all the volcanoes in the area. Our guide, Carlos, told us due to the fact it rains most days you normally only see the volcanoes 80 days a year so we were very lucky.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank javdac6070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

2 blocks away from the main square and some mor to the beach, this is really some of the best location in Puerto Varas. It's a really quiet hotel with really nice rooms (a litle bit hot during the morning because of the sun). It was much more than we expected for this price (we took a special offer wich includes a car rental).
Breakfast was great, and personal were really nice and helpfull with us.
I defenitly back here when I´ll return to Puerto Varas.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

This is a modern and very confortable hotel. The service is very good. The rooms are modern , well equiped and with plenty of space and there is free wi-fi internet.
The hotel also has a small but fully functional business centre.
The location is just minutes from the city centre and the lake. However if you have a problem climbing a steep (but short) hill, you might have a problem.
The food in the restaurant could be better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edgarsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The Solace is quite an expensive option, but we chose it because of good reports in Trip Advisor. It didn't live up to expectations. Our bedroom was modern and spacious (though without the lake view we requested, and it's a bit of a stretch to call it a junior suite) - but there were no drawers at all, and only very limited shelf space. There were not enough hangers and it took 3 phone calls to get some more. We phoned for an iron, but to our amazement were told that they were not able to provide one !! (The other hotels we stayed in during this trip happily provided irons) .The hotel seemed to be managerless during our stay, so there was no decision maker to whom we could complain. There was no hotel/TV guide provided, so we had to flick through about 100 channels, only to discover that there was not a single channel in English - not even CNN or BBC World ! On the plus side, the bathroom was fine and the bed was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was a bit strange: fine if you like cheescakes or lemon meringue pie, but the hot food wasn't appealing - though to be fair the chef did happily rustle up some fresh scrambled eggs & mushrooms. The hotel has a computer room with free broadband, and is well located on a hill close to the town centre (we can recommend Restaurant La Marca close to the hotel on the way down to town). So, the Solace was a bit of a mixed bag, but, overall, not as good as we expected.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Los Volcanes
Dreams Los Volcanes
#2 of 27 in Puerto Varas
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solace Hotel

Address: Imperial 0211, Puerto Varas 5550000, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Varas
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Varas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Varas
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solace Hotel has been built in a modern style according to the highest standards of efficiency and qualified service. It was thought to satisfy most travelers' needs, in an environment full of warm and comfort. Its building remarks natural elements, as wood, stone, looms, among others. Wide and comfortable rooms, fine decorated and equipped to provide functionality. Warm, comfort and privacy, to have a unique and unforgettable stay. All our rooms have a privileged view to the city, main, church, Llanquihue Lake and Osorno and Calbuco Volcanoes. 07 Suites Rooms and 79 junior Suites Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing