We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”
Review of Solace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the location, room quality & food of the hotel but beware never to get a room in the wing alongside the car park unless you have confirmation the function room will not be in use.

We were in room 212 and retired about 2130 to pack for our flight the next day then read until about 2330. We could hear faint music but about 2200 a band started up and over the next hour progressively increased the volume (poor bands think noise makes up for quality) so that by 2300 we could hardly hear ourselves think, the room was reverberating with the noise. The bathroom, with its tiled walls was almost uncomfortable. We realised we were directly above the function room.

At 2345 went down to reception to ask what time the noise was finishing to be told 0100. Told we could not sleep because of the noise and was offered earplugs! Refused and insisted they give us another room for the night. The last room available was 2 floors above but the noise was almost as bad as it was being transmitted by the building structure. Complained again and at 0015 the band was made to turn down the noise.

We subsequently found out that at least 2 other people in adjacent rooms had complained before us and been moved. The management should not allocate rooms above the function room to people not involved with functions in it, offering ear plugs is farcical.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South east side are only quieter when there are no functions in the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Playdendavenports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniel c, Gerente at Solace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We deeply regret that your stay has not been completely satisfactory.

I apologize on behalf of the hotel and our staff for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Kind regards

Daniel Cabello
Operations Manager from Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is locate less them 500 meter from downtown, quiet and closed to everything. Good room, clean, modern, good wifi, very warm, good furniture. All this qualitites also can be applied in the public area. The breakfast is good, not so many options but enough to satisfy you. Weak point : don't has media lunas and only has american coffee. That was the best cost benefit in my search.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielValeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniel c, Gerente at Solace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.
and many thanks for your usefull suggestions. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.


Kind regards

Daniel Cabello
Operations Manager from Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

One of the best stops on our travels through Patagonia. The rooms were clean, modern, roomy and very well maintained. The elevators were fast and efficient. The beds were very comfortable and we got one of best sleeps of our trip. The provided breakfast was really excellent. A great variety of dishes and a nice eating environment. The hotel is very centrally located to the main part of the city. The only complaints we had, which were minor, a veterinarian center seemed to be on the other side of the parking lot and dogs barked during the night. Each morning the bathroom fan went on automatically and sucked air through the vent in the bottom of the door which made the bathroom a bit drafty. Again, very minor complaints. Would love to come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniel c, Gerente at Solace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest
we really appreciate your positive review, and many thanks for your usefull suggestions. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind regards

Daniel Cabello
Operations Manager from Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I had room 311 which had an excellent view of the Church, which is lit at night. The public areas of the hotel are lovely, but this particular room was a disappointment. It is part of a suite and the walls are very thin. My side of the connecting door did not lock properly so I had to ask reception to have it fixed. I also moved the couch in front of the connecting door. There were huge stains on the carpeting and the chair. Lighting for reading was very poor. There was good lighting on the other side of the room, but not over or near the bed. The bathroom was small. Wi-fi was unstable, but it was complimentary.

Breakfast buffet was average,though they had excellent coffee.

I just think this room was a lemon - so if you stay here, inspect your room first.

Room Tip: Inspect the room and don't accept a room with stained carpet or furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 14 June 2012

very good, but I am going back and won't stay there for the simple fact that they are blocks from the lake without a view that you could get in another hotel. Besides that, breakfast was OK, bad juices, slow toaster, strong coffee, light coming in at night in my room.

The hotel was extremely clean, the rooms where impeccable and the beds very comfortable and nice sheets and all that that is key. the common areas nice and clean, the food was pretty good, I did not like the hamburger do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Happily, during our visit, the dogs were not barking. The location up on a hill was fine for us, but could easily be a problem for those less mobile. We stayed 2 nights and did get the view of Volcano Orsorno when the clouds cleared. This hotel was extremely well-staffed: there was usually someone there to open the front door for us. The included breakfast buffet was very nice. This hotel is very nicely decorated, but perhaps they went overboard with the bowls for wash basins; I'm glad I'm at least of average height!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise. It is very modern and clean. On top of a hill overlooking much of the city. We got on ok view from our 2nd floor room but if you got something higher up I'm sure you would be able to see much more. It is a couple of blocks from the downtown area and very walkable to the lake. I would chose this place over our Marriott Hotel in Santiago any day. It comes with free wifi, a nice assortment for breakfast and a very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linhelsobrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dreams Los Volcanes
Dreams Los Volcanes
#2 of 27 in Puerto Varas
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solace Hotel

Address: Imperial 0211, Puerto Varas 5550000, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Varas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Varas
Price Range: £80 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solace Hotel has been built in a modern style according to the highest standards of efficiency and qualified service. It was thought to satisfy most travelers' needs, in an environment full of warm and comfort. Its building remarks natural elements, as wood, stone, looms, among others. Wide and comfortable rooms, fine decorated and equipped to provide functionality. Warm, comfort and privacy, to have a unique and unforgettable stay. All our rooms have a privileged view to the city, main, church, Llanquihue Lake and Osorno and Calbuco Volcanoes. 07 Suites Rooms and 79 junior Suites Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Solace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing