We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenery and luxury accommodation”
Review of Casa Molino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Molino
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our stay in Casa Molino was very pleasant. We had the Cascada-room with fantastic view over the lake and the snow-capped Osorno volcano. Fantastic ! The room was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable and in the bathroom they provided everything we needed. The bathroom was not at the same level as the bedroom but 1 store higher (perhaps not so well fit for people who have troubles with stairs)
For dinner there was always a choice between menu's, so everyone could find something he/she liked. We were asked what we wanted for breakfast and at what time, and in the morning it was all ready.
Staff was friendly and helpfull and we felt almost like home.
I can surely recommend this hotel in Puerto Varas, especially if you like the countryside and don't want to be in the middle of town. Perhaps it is a bit difficult to find and rather far from town, but that was for us no problem : after long day's excursions we just wanted to rest.

Room Tip: See remark on stairs to bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravel074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were booked for 3 nights and loved it. The scenery cannot be beat, best breakfasts we had in all of 4 weeks in Chile, sheets & towels were perfect (something I'm fussy about), and service was great! We stayed in what was the smallest room in this 11 room hotel and it WAS small; but with excellent public spaces, this wasn't really a problem at all. The most luxurious and largest room was much more than twice the price of our very reasonable rate for the value... although the extra space would have been nice.

We awoke every morning to Volcan Osorno, the Mt. Fuji of Chile. We've encountered some so-so service in Chile, even at a hotel with a $400+/night room in San Pedro de Atacama, but the service here is what you'd expect in a 1st class hotel.

My only complaint (aside from our tiny room) was the fact that you had to travel a bit down a gravel road since it's about 15 from the restaurants in town, but they offer dinner.

Room Tip: If you want to spend more, the best suite in the hotel is Ensenada. If you want the smallest, least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed 5 days in Casa Molina. Unfortunately, the room did not have a view of the lake, but the room was spacious and bathroom well presented. We had breakfast and 2 evening meals - both very enjoyable, although curry chicken with Italian pasta was an unusual mix! The common areas were beautifully decorated and very comfortable and the view over the lake to the volcano was magnificient. Staff friendly and attentive. It is a little out of town but well worth the drive.
Some recommendations - have the dinner menu ready at breakfast time so the guests can decide before they go out for the day. Also offer FRESH orange juice.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Boultys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The entire experience at Casa Molino was a great one! The guest house, grounds and staff are very accommodating. From the minute we arrived until we left, the staff treated us like members of the family. We were greeted at the door each time we came in with a friendly smile and questions about how our day went. We booked the "Ensanada Suite" and it is truly one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in. The cleaning service came every day to make up the room, provide fresh towels and restock the firewood we burned in our private fireplace. The bathroom is huge in this room. The giant tub has a great view of the volcano "Osorno" and the shower is massive as well. Each night we were asked what time we would like breakfast and each morning it was ready. We will definitely stay at Casa Molino if we are ever in Puerto Varas again.

Room Tip: We toured all the rooms at Casa Molino. They are all very nice. Pick whichever one best suites you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This guesthouse is well worth the effort it takes to find it and get to it. Albeit out of the way, it is not so hard to navigate around the area once you get used to it. Definitely advise to have a rental car of your own.
The rooms are awesome, we stayed in the Cascada room both times, 2 nights each time. Loved it. The service was wonderful, staff helpful and accommodating. We would stay here again should we be in the area.

Room Tip: Cascada room has the bathroom upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Casa Molino offers an unusual combination (for Chile) of a stylish, cosy boutique hotel in a spectacular setting, with good service and decent food. The setting on the edge of the lake looking across to the volcano is beautiful, and the rooms (at least those with lake views) enjoy the same view, are tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The unpaved access road is no better, no worse than any in a rural area in a developing country and the bizarre comments from some reviewers expressing surprise that the hotel is not in the centre of town are indicative of their ignorance and lack of research rather than any failing by the hotel. It does not market itself as a city-centre hotel - of which there are many in Puerto Varas - but as a retreat in the Lake District and it does that job perfectly. Nice gardens/ lawn area, lovely public areas with roaring logfires / woodstoves and enormous windows to take in the view. You definitely do need a car to enjoy this hotel and the Lake District more generally.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Skibummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Casa Molino is set about 10-12 minutes outside of Puerto Varas. It sits on an absolutely amazing property overlooking the lake. The hotel itself is very nice and well appointed and the views from the rooms are stunning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KFG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,974 reviews
2.5 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
637 reviews
3.2 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#14 of 27 in Puerto Varas
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,771 reviews
5.8 mi away
Los Caiquenes Hotel Boutique
Los Caiquenes Hotel Boutique
#15 of 27 in Puerto Varas
95 reviews
2.1 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Molino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Molino

Address: Calle Costanera Viento Norte, parcela 8 | Loteo Molino Viejo, Puerto Varas 5610000, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range: £84 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Molino 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Molino is located just 7.6 kms. from downtown Puerto Varas. Nestled on the edge of Lake Llanquihue in a very enchanting area, on 15 acres of beautiful gardens. With breathtaking view of the Osorno, Calbuco, Tronador and Puntiagudo volcanoes.We offer a different concept of accommodation, intended to make each one of our guests feel at home. With a friendly and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Molino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing