We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and loved it! It is a beautiful setting and a wonderful hotel. The location could not be nicer--perched high on a hill, overlooking the lake, it is just delighful. The staff are wonderful---so helpful and accommodating! The lobby is beautiful and so welcoming. The rooms are large and comfortable with huge windows looking at the lake, and a nice balcony for enjoying the fresh air. The restaurant is very nice, as well. The breakfast buffet is quite delicious and the chef is happy to make an omelet or scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 704 and loved it!---huge and lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marys1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBaylis, Manager at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear marys1234,
Great to read you review! Thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed your four night stay with us and hope you visit Puerto Varas again in the future.

Kind regards,

Santiago Baylis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    295
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
330
793
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
508 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel, which has a very helpful staff and excellent rooms. The location could not be better, within easy walking distance (5 minutes) of the main street of Puerto Varas, and with a hillside perch overlooking the huge lake and distant volcanoes. If the weather permits, you will have a fantastic view! The service and staff were first rate, as were the amenities and the comfort of the room. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBaylis, Gerente at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Rick049,
Your comments motivate us to keep pushing our service standards further every day, thank you for your kind words.

Kind regards,

Santiago Baylis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked this hotel as it was recommended on Trip advisor.
Upon arrival even though the account is all paid they run off your credit card. Now a couple of days later after paying our account in cash I find they have out through a large amount on my credit card. I guess now I am going to have to argue to get this back.

The hotel is nice but the rooms could certainly do with some maintenance.
The hair dryer in our bathroom was missing off the wall with only the wires there,
The soap holder in the shower was falling off the wall
The tv remote in the bedroom was held together with sticking tape and didn't work until it was pushed together again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brisbanetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBaylis, Manager at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Brisbanet,
First of all, my sincere apologies for the problems encountered during your recent stay. Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate your time, as it gives us the opportunity to keep growing.
Regarding your credit card settlement, please contact me directly if there is any problem, my email is sbaylis@hotelescumbres.cl. Possibly the guarantee retained upon arrival was not released on time or correctly by the credit card management company.
The other issues will be solved immediately.
I am very sorry that we were not able to provide you with our customary extraordinary service.
Kind regards,


Santiago Baylis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in February 2014 & found it excellent in every way. We arrived late one evening very tired after the 14 hour Cruce Andino crossing & the comfort and friendliness of the Cumbres was just what we needed. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We had a corner Luxury room on the top floor with wonderful views to the Volcano & also to Puerto Varas plus a lovely balcony. The room was quiet & spacious with a huge, blissfully comfortable bed. Lots of wardrobe space & a big bathroom area with very good shower.
Breakfast was an amazing selection of cakes plus ( thankfully ) cereals, fruit, juice, croissants, yoghurt etc as well. We ate in the restaurant in the evening where the food was good & enjoyed the comfortable bar & lounge area after our meal.
The hotel is set on a small hill above the lake and only a 5 minute walk along a footpath to the centre of Puerto Varas which we wished we had had more time to explore.
This hotel had been recommended by our Tour Operator, Imagine Latin America & was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBaylis, Gerente at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Worldreamer,
We are very pleased to read your review, thank you very much!
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your expectations.
We hope you visit Puerto Varas again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Santiago Baylis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calama, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel was very comfortable and worth the price. Views of the volcano and lake were outstanding. Breakfast was included and very diverse. Carpeting needs to be cleaned but overall the hotel was well maintained and clean. Service for meals other than breakfast was not stellar. Only a 5 minute walk to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBaylis, Gerente at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Hill S,
Thank you very much for your recent review! We appreciate your time and will consider each comment as it will allow us to keep growing and become better each day.
Kind regards,

Santiago Baylis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

In our lakes and parks tour we changed hotels 7 times, some cheaper then this some more expensive but this was our favourite. Our room overlooked the lake, it was clean tidy and more than adequate.
We found on the whole service in Chile to be slow, mediocre and very inattentive but not in this hotel. Front desk staff were very efficient and accommodating, the bar staff were a little slow but Ok but the restaurant staff were wonderful. The lady who runs the restaurant deserves a special mention, nothing was too much trouble, she recommended choices and wines and the food for Chilean standards was superb. The tapas they serve in the bar area is wonderful and we shall remember it fondly, all in all we loved this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobsterlover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
735 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My family and I spent three nights at this hotel. We found it quite accomodating and conveniently located. Breakfast was quite satisfactory and the rooms were cozy and nicely designed.
On the good size, no doubt, caring service and willingness to help all around. Everybody tried to go the extra. For instance, on learning that it was my birthday, Mr Carlos Heim at the check in counter sent to my room a complimentary delicatessen tray full of assorted cheese and nuts with two glasses of wine. A surprising present, indeed!
We really made use of the courtesy mountain bikes for rides around the lake. Bike lanes made the job easy and safe.
We also enjoyed our stays at the lobby, with live music and a 'home away from home' feel.
There is a car rental on site, too, that can be recommended if you are planning to drive your way to the different sightseeing spots.
The bads? Not many, really. The swimming pool on the seventh floor was a bit cold on the second day of our stay. But who wants to stay so long inside with so many things to discover around?

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter and more scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SILVIABRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dreams Los Volcanes
Dreams Los Volcanes
#2 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas

Property: Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Address: Av. Imperial 0561, Puerto Varas, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a concept hotel aiming to blend the highest level of service in the region with the warmth and comfort of home, nestled in the natural beauty of Puerto Varas, in the heart of southern Chile.We invite you to be moved by the amazing views from our world class rooms, while you experience our unique style of service, designed to complement the awe-inspiring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing