We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top restauarant”

Restaurant Casavaldes
Ranked #6 of 177 Restaurants in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My girlfriend and I visited this restaurant during a 2 week trip in Chile having had it recommended by Lonely Planet. It was absolutely spectacular - great food, friendly servide and an amazing view of the lake. I also appreciated the recommendations givenby the bi-lingual staff.

If you are in Puerto Varas and want a decent seafood restaurant, dont hesitate to go here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Lee, thyank you very much for share your good experience at Casavaldés.
Best regards,

Pablo Valdés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 192 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Casa Valdes was just a short walk from our hotel in Puerto Varas. We started with the ceviche, which was excellent, following by the Congrio, which was a great dish. Each of us had a different way of preparing Congrio and it was wonderful. Good service, and a nice location along the water.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank seatravelerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for share your good experience at Casavaldés.
Best regards,

Pablo Valdés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best sea food and fish restaurant we've been to during a 3 week trip through Chile. Perfectly related fish, good selection of wine and very courteous service. I would highly recommend it.

Thank Sami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for your good review about Casavaldés.
Best regards,

Pablo Valdés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Casa Valdes occupies the middle ground between cheap and cheerful bistroish fun on the one hand and hushed fine dining on the other. The décor is muted and rather minimalist, more bare wood than plush. The staff are friendly and helpful. You come here to eat seafood or you don't come here, and you will do very well. There is a large tank of live crustaceans by the door, and you can go and choose your own.

Drawn by the novelty of Juan Fernandez lobster, we picked one that was big enough to satisfy two people, and the son of the house, who looked about nine, gave us a hand in choosing. Another time we would have it steamed rather than grilled; the grilling seemed to dry it out just that little bit too much. I preceded this with clams served in a broth made from conger and flavoured with parsley, which was subtle and not over-filling. My wife had deep-fried prawns, which looked aggressively orange. Bottle of pink Chilean fizz with this; good without being outstanding.

On a wet evening - and in the Chilean Lake District there are probably quite a lot of those - Casa Valdes was a good place to be sitting, looking out at the rain, and wondering whether Volcan Osorno was a figment of the imagination. We arrived at 8.00, early enough for service not to be a problem, but by the time we left the place was full, which may explain comments elsewhere about having to wait a while for food. But go there; if you're a fish-eater, this is probably the best place in Puerto Varas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir, thank you very much for share these nice comments about your good experience in Casavaldés.
Best regards,

Pablo Valdés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you like fish don't miss this restaurant! Fabulous views over lake, large tables set well apart, a fish menu to die for - the king crab was out of this world! Don't miss the local salmon either. Excellent wine list, impeccable service - just an all-round first-class restaurant. Added bonus for my companion was that the charming owner is a big rugby union fan!

Thank seel_peta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you very much for share your good experience at Casavaldés.
Best regards,

Pablo Valdés

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Casavaldes also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Restaurant Casavaldes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing