We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views excellent breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Hailsh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great views excellent breakfast.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here two nights while visiting the Lake District. Found the location really nice overlooking the lake and very easy to walk into the town for bars and restaurants. Had a good tour from here around the lake and area including visiting the rapids and up to the top of the volcano all by local guide/driver.

Room Tip: Hotel built on hill so choose rooms on ground floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest: Thank you very much for your comments. Indeed, our hotel is conveniently located nearby the area’s main tourist attractions. This means many activities can be started from our hotel. We also have a bike rental which is a fun way to tour the city. We are happy to know you had a great stay. Greetings from Puerto Varas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    578
    153
    40
    17
See reviews for
496
847
52
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Complimentary drinks were nice, but I would've preferred something other than Pisco Sour. The highlight was the breakfast and volcano view. Will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_potato_but_sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest: We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, our hotel has magnificent views from every angle. We also wish to inform you we have extended our range of welcome drinks. Thank you for your comments and we hope you visit us again soon. Greetings from southern Chile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 February 2014

-Friendly staff
-clean rooms
-nice location, quiet location, not to far from the restaurants and has a nice view.
-Breakfast was good for Chile (not as good as an Argentine breakfast :D )
-comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest: We thank you for sharing your excellent opinion of us and we are very happy you had a most pleasant and satisfactory stay with us. Greetings from Chile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Great staff, friendly and courteous. Excellent food and Pisco Sours. Yum! Nice touch to be greeted with a complimentary drink after our long journey. Loved having the mini kitchen with the kids. Loved the rustic decor, but our mattress could have been more comfy. Huge windows and sliding glass door out to the beautiful garden area. The volcanoe views were great. Some days more clear than others. Easy walk to town and great restaurants and shopping. The buses were fun to take into Puerto Montt.

Room Tip: The last rooms near the large grassy area are awesome. Feels so private and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl5419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest: Thank you very much for your encouraging comments. Indeed, our hotel has a rustic decor in tune with its surrounding nature, as well as one of the best views of the lake, volcano and town, which is just 5 minutes away. Our team strives to provide our guests with friendly but professional service. We have taken note of your comment on the comfort of the mattress and we thank you again for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. Greetings from the south of Chile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
718 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We missed our flight connection in Santiago after we returned from Easter Island. We ended up spending the night in Santiago instead of here . We stayed here one night after touring Chiloe Island.
Our room was in the basement but the view was fantastic. We could see the boats cruising in the water plus we had an excellent view of the volcano (Mt. Osorno). Flowering plants surrounded the hotel. We had an extra room with a large flat screen TV set, which I considered an extra treat. We had 2 TV sets. Our bed was comfortable. Although it was very cold outside, we were very comfortable inside.
Across from the front desk was a bulletin board that had announcements and schedules posted. I was at a lost as to how we would get to the pier for our lake crossing until I read our names and schedule of pick up the next morning.
The free breakfast was good. Our dinner was good although a little expensive.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest: We are sorry to hear about your missed flight that delayed your arrival but we are glad to know that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit us again soon so that you can see what’s new. Thank you for your recommendation and we send you our greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great service, amazing bar, stunning views. You wont be disappointed.

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights on summer. Even tough the nights were at -5c we were never cold inside of the building. The place is so comfy, clean and classy. A bit pricy yes, but it is worth the bucks.

Room Tip: Look for the rooms on front of the lake, for a stunning view of Osorno Volcano. Even if you go on wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
• Dear guest: Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy to hear you were pleased with your stay in our hotel, as we strive to offer our guests a warm and friendly service. Many greetings from Chile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

......we could have seen the main volcano from our bedroom window !


Large lakeside hotel with rooms overlooking the lake . A short walk in to the center of town but all the better for that as it was quiet .

As other reviews have noted this is a large hotel with lots of large parties travelling together. We didn't seem to suffer much as a result because most arrived late and left early . Breakfast was OK , possibly not as good as some hotels further north but reasonably varied and fresh .

We ate in the hotel restaurant one night . A reasonably priced buffet option Including a glass of house wine .
Would recommend the sea food restaurant ( Casa Valdes ? ) 50m from the hotel on the route in to town , the fish was amazing .

Note if you go down to floor no one there is a direct route out to the lakeside that avoids walking right round the hotel from the front entrance .

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 7777markw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. Indeed, our hotel has an excellent location in front of Lake Llanquihue and there is a secure back door access for guests to come and go without having to pass through the hotel lobby.
Our hotel is only 5 minutes away from town, and walking along the lakeshore is a relaxing and safe way to get there. Thank you again, and greetings from Puerto Varas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabana del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabana del Lago

Property: Hotel Cabana del Lago
Address: Luis Wellmann 195, Puerto Varas 5550447, Chile (Formerly Cabana del Lago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Varas
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Varas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Varas
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabana del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabana del Lago is the biggest property in Puerto Varas with 10.000 sq mts. with an exceptional location and infrastructure in a warm, rustic, mountain style an ideal place to enjoy the South, and its wonderful natural surroundings. In fact, it is placed in front of Llanquihue Lake bay, bringing the guests the opportunity to enjoy a panoramic view of the lake and volcanoes. In the heart of nature, the hotel becomes a dream place for contemplating and resting. It has the most complete offer of services: spa, heated pool, sauna, steam, gym and full activities such as bicycles, pool table, kids spaces, and just behind a park and canopy. The Restaurants are the perfect place to taste the typical flavours of the region.Hotel Cabaña del Lago has 157 warm and comfortable rooms, garnished with recycled woods typical from the south of Chile and equipped with all the comfort needed for having an unforgettable experience with your couple, family or friends. All rooms have an impressive view to Llanquihue Lake and volcanoes. They also are divided in three categories standard, superior and Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cabana del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Cabanas Del Lago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing