We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need in a nice and friendly place.”
Review of Hostal Vermont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Vermont
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Nice Hostel. The location couldn't get any better, just going downstairs and you are right downtown and the lake! The atmosphere is quiet, they have a pretty nice kitcken where we are all welcome to cook some food, moment when usually we have the chance of meeting with the rest of the travellers.. The garden it's big and beautifuly green , perfect to hang out during the day.

The staff is super friendly. They gave me all the info I needed and told me stories about how they have been working restoring the house and even showed me pictures from before and now and I can tell they are doing a good job. They organized a couple of movie nights where all the guests will chill in the living room, watch a movie and have some drinks.
I really enjoyed my stay at this Hostel.
Tip: It would be nice if they advertise it better when you want to get there by car, because they have a different entry for the parking area.
I really enjoyed my stay at this Hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JOMP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

This was the most expensive place we stayed in Chile and was far from the best. The bathrooms especially were disgusting and hadnt been cleaned in day (weeks?). The management are having a joke with the price they charge.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank kelly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirce, Owner at Hostal Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback.
We want you to please bear in mind that this is a "Hostel" , not a "Hospedaje or Residencial" (they are usually cheaper , don't have bilingüal staff, a fully equipped kitchen, internet/wifi, etc)
Our prices are average for a "Hostel"; that it why we invite you and everybody to confirm this information in the Puerto Varas area before you book a room.

Hostal Vermont opened last December; and since then lots of restoration, painting, gardening, etc, has been done to this old house to make sure our customers feel safe and comfortable. The new management takes our customers feedback very serious; specially the bad ones, and we are happy to inform you that we are going to make sure our daily housekeeping and cleaning procedures are being reinforced.


Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Its again a nice old colonial style house with a nice big garden, shared common space, and a nice kitchen. We stayed at the double room first floor and it had a huge bed and enough space at a reasonable price. They also give discount if you come from the Vermont Hostel in Osorno and you have booked from there. People are very nice and helpful, always ready to give information.

Anyhow, Puerto Varas is much more touristic than Osorno (its located directly at the lake), has much more restaurants and therefore also much more backpackers. So there are plenty of young people and of course.....they party (just as we had once...). So if you come here be prepared, its not gonna be as quiet as Osorno and there will be much more people since the house is bigger (more beds) and they also have campers in the garden. For backpackers traveling alone a perfect place to meet people and have dinner and drinks for a cheap price with other travelers for around the world.

Room Tip: If you travel as a couple we advice to book the matrimonial room on the first floor with huge window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirce, Owner at Hostal Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear friends,
Thank you sooo much for your candid comments and tips; we have been working really hard to make our new Hostel in Puerto Varas a safe and comfortable place where our guests can feel at home when they are away from home :)
We know we still have lots of restoration and maintenance work to do, and to hear from our guests that we are actually doing a good job it is very inspirational.
We hope you keep enjoying the rest of your travels.
Big hugs for you and lovely Yoko.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Arquigati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mamahostels
Mamahostels
#7 of 91 in Puerto Varas
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Margouya
Casa Margouya
#13 of 43 in Puerto Varas
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Tronco del Aleman
Hostal Tronco del Aleman
#33 of 91 in Puerto Varas
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Margouya Patagonia
Hostal Margouya Patagonia
#4 of 91 in Puerto Varas
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Vieja Hostel & Camping
Casa Vieja Hostel & Camping
#43 of 91 in Puerto Varas
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal y Cabanas Villa Germana
Hostal y Cabanas Villa Germana
#16 of 91 in Puerto Varas
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Vermont

Address: Pasaje Ricke 224, Puerto Varas 5550459, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Varas
Price Range: £28 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Vermont is located in a very charming and welcoming house surrounded by beautiful gardens in a quiet neighborhood, but just a few steps from the city center and the lake! Here you can find everything you need: comfortable beds in spacious dorms with lockers, private rooms and clean bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Vermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing