We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of La Jardinera

La Jardinera
Ranked #3 of 144 Restaurants in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: European, Chilean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Do not miss this unassuming small restaurant. The best food we sampled over a month travelling around Chile & Argentina. We did not find La Jardinera easy to find as our B&B had not heard of it and we started asking for a gastropub! Remember to just ask for La Jardinera and look up directions on their website. Magda & Rodrigo have both worked at Michelin starred restaurants in London. We were so delighted with both the food and the service that we returned the following day at lunchtime. We also took several leaflets back to our B&B so that others would be able to easily find La Jardinera. Recommend the amazing fish & chips - quite delicious - the best ever.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arloanise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    131
    24
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Check open times”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My own fault, I did not check. They do not serve Sunday or Monday dinner..only lunch. Had to rate.. but did not eat there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Minneapolis_MNRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
472 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Truly excellent”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We called here because of other favourable trip advisor reviews and we were very pleased with the choice. We chose the fish & chips and salmon fillet on a prawn and king crab risotto accompanied by a good bottle of sauvignon blanc. Everything was excellent and supported with probably the best service of our whole trip.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Restaurant is conveniently located in downtown, walking distance from our hotel. It is cozy and nicely appointed. The menu is small but interesting. My husband had seared scallops on a pea purée which was unquestionably the best he's ever had. I had the house salad which also was a chopped salad with wonderfully flavorful dressing and adjusted to fit my vegan diet. Main course were equally delicious. The risotto was prepared for me with no cream,butter or cheese and couldn't have been better. A truly wonderful dinner!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LNM1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
195 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips Anywhere Anytime!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We loved the location of this restaurant, in a charming, peaceful wooden house away from the traffic nightmare of the busy restaurant district in downtown Puerto Varas. We were concerned about leaving our Subaru with kayak on top and filled with paddles and kayak equipment, but were able to park right in front of the restaurant. This meal was our reward after five soggy days of sea kayaking in the fiords of Pumalin Park. Our mouths were watering for some special, delicious treats. We arrived to find a toasty woodstove to warm our chilled bodies. We were the first to arrive at 7PM and were welcomed graciously despite our outdoorsy, sopping wet rain gear. My husband savored every last bite of the fish and chips. It is not typically my favorite dish, but the samples he shared with me literally melted onto my tongue. Bob said the French fries were just like his mother's and the ketchup was authentic American (Hellman's, according to the owner). His Erdinger Dunkel dark beer was excellent and served in an elegant, tall beer stein. I ordered the ceviche, which was generous and quite good. Would you believe that we finished off our meal by splitting not one, but two orders, consecutively, of the yummy, molten dark chocolate brownie topped with a scoop of pistachio ice cream. The owner and waiter couldn't have been nicer. We will definitely go back for more fish and chips on our next trip to Puerto Varas!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Jardinera also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to La Jardinera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing