We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Thanks.”
Review of Bosque Nativo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bosque Nativo
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I called this place beforehand, and was told that people of all ages stayed here. This may be true. But make no mistake about it, this place is a youth hostel, and more suited for youngins looking for a place to crash.
My Chilean girlfriend and I were given a room right behind reception. The room itself was obviously a space that wasn’t originally a bedroom, but converted into one. The door was a wooden sliding door with a padlock. The room had a strange, off odor. Maybe body odor; it wasn’t a pleasant scent. Carpet was dirty. The room did have wifi. Bathroom was acceptable. Included breakfast was OK. When the young women at the front desk talked on the phone, it was as if she were talking in our room.
The layout of the place doesn’t make sense. Our room was on the first floor. On the second floor, there are only dorm rooms, which were filled with rambunctious young men and women. The young men were stomping and bouncing a ball on the floor, which created quite a bit of noise in our room. I would make more sense to have all the dorms on the first floor, and the private rooms on the second floor.
If you’re a couple or mature traveler looking for a quiet, clean place, don’t stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rucksack67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights in the private double room (Araucaria) at Bosque Nativo. This is one of the tidiest, inexpensive and well-located hostels in all of Chile. It was the low season in the south, so the hostel was not full and we had mostly quiet nights of rest. The usual night owls' arrivals from being out on the town was heard easily through the hall by our room, but if you travel in hostels, you are equipped for this. The room is cozy with little space for packs or luggage, especially when traveling as a couple for extended periods.

The location is ideal and the price as well. The river walk, restaurants, markets & shops are steps from the door. It's a bit tricky to find if you don't know the city, so just look for the casino and follow the directions from there.

The staff was helpful & friendly, especially Franco. There are different staff covering in the evening. There is a well equipped kitchen & the typical Chilean breakfast is served each morning. A comfortable living room and dining area makes for a great place to hang during the wet weather, and the wood stove is always going to keep it toasty warm. We will most definitely return!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xyzava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

When we booked our hostel in Valdivia, this was the last one that had any rooms available, so we were prepared for the worst. The hostel is quite difficult to find, tucked away on a little side street, which is not marked on the tourist maps.
When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. The hostel has a kind of eco vibe to it, with most of the building covered in wood panelling, inside and out. The downstairs common areas were clean and spacious, with cable TV and two computers for general use. The main area was set up as a dining area, and the smaller area was kitted out with sofas and cushions for watching TV.
The dorms were slightly larger than we have been used to – either 6 bunks or 8 bunks in each room, but neither felt too cramped. The lockers could fit a large sized rucksack and were positioned directly aside each bunk. This caused a few problems, as it was not really possible to open both the bottom and top locker at the same time.
Bathrooms were shared between the entire hostel, and were split male and female. Each bathroom had three toilets, two showers and two sinks. There was never really a need to queue for anything. One thing that did strike me as a little strange was that the toilet roll dispenser was shared between the three toilets – you have to get the toilet roll before you enter the cubicle.
The kitchen is fairly large and well equipped, though some of the knives could do with a bit of a sharpen. Breakfast is included and is above average.
Wifi is available throughout the building free of charge and fairly fast and efficient.
The staff are friendly, but very little English is spoken, so you will need to know a little Spanish when you arrive.
One thing that was a little strange was that when we arrived, we were put in separate dorms, and told that there was a male/female split policy. This was slightly inconvenient, as we had not been notified of this beforehand, and it was clearly not the case when we met our roommates.

Room Tip: Try to get in the 6 bed dorms.The 8 bed ones feel a little crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hostel has everything you need and want; great kitchen, really nice lounge area and very comfy beds. It was really chilly when we were in Valdiva, but the fire was always lit and it was lovely and warm! The location is good to explore the local area, which is easily done on foot. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This hostel is from a non-profit organisation and the funds help to maintain the native forests in Chile. So you will not expect a luxury hostel, but it is built with a lot of wood (each room has another type of wood for the walls and furniture) what gives a very cosy feeling.

As volunteers are working as receptionists, service may be different from time to time. At our time it was okay.

The only really uncomfortable issue is that the wooden walls are too thin, you can hear all steps on the stairs and outside your bedroom door. So this hostel is not the best option if you want to stay more than one or two nights.

The bathroom was basic, very small, but clean.

The common area where you get breakfast was a dream - full of light, inventive furniture -and free internet.

As the location of the hotel is near to the center (although in a very quiet street), I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank styriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The hostel Bosque Nativo is one of the nicer hostels I've seen. The interior is themed in native wood, and the common rooms have books and forest products to look at, while relaxing in the lounge, giving it a cozy warm feel. Common areas were clean, had wireless internet and easy access for cooking in the nicely stocked kitchen. The staff was attentive, and accommodating, especially on cold nights, where they had an assortment of warm woolly slippers for all the guests! There is even a rooftop deck that has a great view of Valdivia - this was a super find during the quiet afternoon. The location, on a quiet neighborhood side street could not be better for walking around town or easy access to the bus depot. The only negative I would give it would be the tiny shower space with no place to hang your towel while showering. And it was only sometimes running warm water.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lianne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We went with a group of 11 students from North Carolina State University to study conservation management in the Valdivian Temperate Forests. The hostel was great for our large group. We had a wonderful asado there and it was very convenient to downtown and teh University Austral de Chile. In addition, we really appreciated all the information in the hostel on native forests. I would recommend this hostel to anyone for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccienek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdivia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Torlaschi
Hotel Di Torlaschi
#4 of 13 in Valdivia
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
#1 of 13 in Valdivia
895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostelera Borde Rio
Hostelera Borde Rio
#9 of 13 in Valdivia
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique  Borderio
Hotel Boutique Borderio
#7 of 13 in Valdivia
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diego de Almagro Valdivia Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hostel Chumaihuen
Hostel Chumaihuen
#2 of 57 in Valdivia
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque Nativo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque Nativo

Address: Fresia 290, Valdivia 5110232, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Valdivia
Price Range: £12 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bosque Nativo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing