We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Rio Amazonas
Ranked #1 of 166 Santiago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was a home away from home. Home-made jams and fruit juice as part of a great breakfast. Warm, friendly and helpful staff made our stay a real relaxing pleasure, despite 3 flights of stairs! Well located for shopping and for walking to attractions or to metro stop. Large bedroom with bathroom and private balcony overlooking grounds of Argentinian Consulate. A great place to stay for the last week of 5 months travel around South America.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 311robertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

I was looking for a budget hotel or hostal close to Bellavista and Central santiago and found this place. What a great choice! The staff was always helpful and made reservations for some tours and trips for free. The place is located close to bellavista, a safe neighbourhood with many reaturants and bar and active nightlife.

Breakfast was just great, with fruits, yogurt, fresh juice and bread. People there was always ready to give some advice on the city and the best places to get anything you want. The house isn't totally renovated, so there some clicky sound when you step in some parts of the room. The bed was confortable and they offer good wi-fi service. At some morning we had problem with the toilet but it was fixed very fast in the afternoon.

The place was pleasant, quiet and well located,. What else should I ask for a budget price? Nothing. I traveled many places to Santiago hostels and this one was the best option so far.

Room Tip: If you ask for laundry service get as much clothes as you can, because they charge you the same for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricardoo404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Great location, just 5 min walk from bellavista bars and restaurants, 100m from the metro station which makes it very easily accessible from the airport. Staff is helpful, hostal is clean, Internet is fast, the room could do with some upgrade but great value for what you pay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Copp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here when we first entered South America from Australia, and liked it so much we booked in again on our return seven weeks later.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with quadruple-glazing that blocks out the street noise.
Location is very convenient, with a metro station a short walk away making it easy to get to anywhere. Staff are great - every one of them is friendly, smiling and helpful.
You can get various drinks and snacks in the common area, and there is a very good restaurant two doors down (on the other side of the Argentinian embassy).

The hostal itself has a great number of original artworks, as well as large maps of Chile hanging on the walls.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

When I book to stay in a hostel, this is what I want - a beautiful, colourful place run by friendly & helpful staff. Hostal Rio Amazonas is such a place. There is a small artifacts shop near the entrance which is linked to the hostel. It seems to have varying opening hours, but with a good range of South American souvenirs. The hostel itself is clean, secure, and central. It is an easy walk to the Palace, the Plaza de Arms, the Metro or across the river to Bella Vista. A continental breakfast is offered in the morning with small snacks & drinks on sale in the afternoon/night. The staff are amazing and I got heaps of advice from everyone I spoke to.

I stayed in a single room (Room No. 12) on the second floor which has two windows which look out onto the small lane beside the building and the Argentinian consulate next door. It was a small but adequate room, big enough for me and my belongings. There was a bit of rust around the shower cubicle, but there was always hot water available when I needed it. Towels & soap were provided, and there was a wall heater in the room. A telephone is also available, if required.

My only negative comment is that the doors to the rooms didn’t have blinds or curtains, which in itself, I don’t see as a problem. However, the room opposite me had the TV going all through the night and the glare & flickering images lit up my whole room, which I found quite annoying, having woken during the night.

I would definitely stay at Hostal Rio Amazonas again, and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

great find. wonderful, friendly, warm, hospitable and lovely family, dog and staff.
When we arrived it was unseasonably cold - so even though the room has a heater - it's still quite chilly in it.
there were not too many guests when we were there and so that was rather nice as the hostel's common areas are not very spacious. we got room 38 - which has it's own quiet balcony. it's right at the back and top but they helped us with our luggage. The balcony's a real plus to sit outside on sunny days or in the late evenings. the room itself is not too big but that's okay. Having access to their kitchenette was also good as i can't eat that much dairy and bread which is served every morning. i was able to make oatmeal or eggs. Delicious juice. Yes have the submarino. it's good. Location is perfect to get to bellavista and barrio lastaria and lots of other places.

thank you to Rio Amazonas. We had a lovely stay in Santiago and that was also because of you.

Room Tip: Room 38 and any of those facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MYJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked a family room at the rio amazonas for us and our two daugthers in july, and it was really a perfect hostel to stay for our needs: good location and family ambiance at a good value. The room was bright and quite large, everything was clean, and the best part was certainly the staff, very kind and helpful. We recommend 100%.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#18 of 202 in Santiago
351 reviews
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#19 of 202 in Santiago
351 reviews
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 202 in Santiago
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 166 in Santiago
213 reviews
Santa Lucia
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Santa Lucia
Trivento Apparts
Trivento Apparts
#1 of 507 in Santiago
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Rio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rio Amazonas

Address: Avenida Vicuna Mackenna 47, Santiago 8330019, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range: £63 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Rio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our colorful Hostal Río Amazonas, a very good choice of accommodation near Plaza Italia, the best location in Santiago, within a few steps of the most famous landmarks of the city. With a safe family atmosphere, our hostal combines the elegance of original architecture with all modern comfort. Meet and share with other travelers during our great homemade breakfast or at the bar of our comfy lounge area, while enjoying an espresso, a pot of tea or a Pisco Sour. We speak English portuguese and French, and will be happy to help you with good tips and advices for your travel in all Chile.We are certified Touristic Quality since 2009 and recommended by international guides books ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Rio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Rio Amazonas Plaza Italia Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing