We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostal I've ever stayed in !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Rio Amazonas
Ranked #1 of 173 Santiago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I spent about 10 days here while taking a Spanish course at the COINED school just across the street. I have stayed in hostels in many countries, and this is the best I've ever stayed in. Clean, comfortable, quiet at night, great atmosphere for reading, relaxing, etc., in the lobby, great breakfasts, very friendly and helpful staff, great location. I had checked out other hostels and hotels in the area, but many of the other hostels seemed to cater to a younger, louder, more partying crowd (I am 43), and I wanted a place where I could be social in the evening if I chose to but not be surrounded by partying 20 somethings all night. I enjoyed meeting a variety of people from many countries in the dining and reading areas. Finally, the location is great. You can walk to many sights and are just a few minutes from the Baquedano metro stop. I hope to return to Chile with my family and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I heard noise occasionally from the street, because Santiago is a big city and this hostel is on a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank clmsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was fortunate to stay here for 6 nights and got to stay in two very different types of rooms. My first room (2nd floor off garden terrace) was a single bed--almost monastic space, which was tiny but sweet, especially as I was not spending too much time in my room. It was like a lovely nest to come home to. The only complaint that I had was that the shower was not terrific and very small, but everything was small in this space. I discovered the hotel's amazing water pressure capability when i moved to the third floor double, with a huge everything (bed, window, bathroom) due to some floor work going on on near my first room. Either way, both rooms were comfortable, spare and clean. Breakfast is lovely with fresh juices and breads, yogurt etc. Plenty to start you out on your day. Excellent coffee. Above all though were the people, particularly Carolina whose English was impeccable and she was helpful on many different levels, including helping me to catch a cab when I was in a panicked time-crunch, and translating for me when a nationally known folk singer was sitting at breakfast with me. I would have stayed there longer given the chance and would definitely recommend and go back here. Another thing that is really interesting is that in past reviews there were comments about outside noise in the front street facing rooms. In my smaller room, the window faced the street and it was not too loud, but set back a bit. In the larger room, the window faced the street but had been double glazed. Was this a response to the reviews? It was very quiet and effective. I wish I had taken advantage of the sweet little bar and the adjacent craft shop, but time would not allow it for me. All in all a magnificent and wonderful stay. Definitely a highlight for my first time in SA.

Room Tip: Rooms off street are quieter, Deluxe room on top floor is huge and great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellamyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

One of the nicest hostels I stayed in in South America. Indeed, if you get a private room, you'll appreciate that this place has all the advantages of a hostel with none of the disadvantages of a hotel. During my 2 night stay, staff were consistently efficient, knowledgable, and welcoming. My room was bright and clean, (though on my first night, a couple of very loud drunks on the street woke me up about 4 a.m.. Maybe try to get an interior facing room?) The family has carefully preserved the building's beautiful architecture. I loved the two pleasant communal areas: an intimate interior bar (opens early, closes around 10 pm) and bright outdoor terrace. And what a great location near really good dining options, a park, Pablo Neruda's museum-home...You'll find a decent breakfast, and a small book exchange too. Overall, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bitofasnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a great two night stay here. The staff were very helpful and the hostel and our room was very nicely decorated. The included breakfast was good too. It's not right in the centre, but still only a few minutes walk to the main street in Santiago near to some cool areas of the city (shops, restaurants, bars, markets etc). We would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Recently stayed at Rio Amazonas for 20 nights - 13 nights with a group and 7 nights solo. When planning my trip, the staff responding to my emails were very helpful. From my arrival, the staff provided excellent service in answering questions, making suggestions, providing directions and more. In addition to a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere, it is well cared for and clean throughout. The two single rooms I had at different times as well as the larger room shared with two other people were comfortable with plenty of hot water. I especially enjoyed the patio area. Rio Amazonas is just a short walk from the metro (subway) and there are many good restaurants and other amenities in the area. Next door, there is an excellent shop with craft and artisan creations from Chile, Peru and a few other Southern American countries. When I return to Santiago, I definitely will stay here.

Room Tip: While I did not experience any problems with noise, it might be good to ask for a room that does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnieF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I preferred this location much better to another area of Providencia we were staying in. It was much better in walking to sights, parks, and a fun neighborhood Bellavista.

We were in a family triple room away from the street facing traffic. It was relatively quiet with just a slight humming sound, but it was not bothersome. The gentleman that checked us in--Israel?--was very professional and informative.

There were yummy pisco sours and other treats offered for sale in the lounge area. The outdoor patio is nice to hang out, but just know that smoking is allowed there, too.

The rooms are accessible by stairs so keep that in mind if you have heavy or large luggage. We rented a car and there was secure parking --locked gate-- on the side of the property that is shared with residents on the same block. Even though it is a narrow street, hopefully you have a smaller sized vehicle.

In a rush to check out, I had left my wedding ring in the room. I only realized this when we were on the other side of town! We returned and the woman at the Front Desk had already been informed by the housekeeper who found it on the nightstand. She then called her on a radio and she came down and handed it to me personally. I could have hugged her!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lololas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Santiago-this place is for you. Located in an ideal location in the heart of the city, it is within walking distance to many great restaurants and city attractions as well as the subway. The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to make sure your stay is enjoyable. It is a small hotel with a big heart! Great value for your dollar too!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not located on the front side of the hotel. The noise from the traffic is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadeenewheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#21 of 204 in Santiago
380 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#4 of 204 in Santiago
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 173 in Santiago
225 reviews
Santa Lucia
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Rio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rio Amazonas

Address: Avenida Vicuna Mackenna 47, Santiago 8330019, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range: £59 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Rio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our colorful Hostal Río Amazonas, a very good choice of accommodation near Plaza Italia, the best location in Santiago, within a few steps of the most famous landmarks of the city. With a safe family atmosphere, our hostal combines the elegance of original architecture with all modern comfort. Meet and share with other travelers during our great homemade breakfast or at the bar of our comfy lounge area, while enjoying an espresso, a pot of tea or a Pisco Sour. We speak English portuguese and French, and will be happy to help you with good tips and advices for your travel in all Chile.We are certified Touristic Quality since 2009 and recommended by international guides books ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Rio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Rio Amazonas Plaza Italia Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing