We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent option in Santiago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa Roja Hostel
Ranked #10 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A decent option in Santiago”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The place is really big, with rooms shared between 20+ people, but it was actually pretty quiet which was nice. The location is pretty central, being between the historic building of La Moneda/downtown area and the artier district of Barrio Brasil. I stayed just one night and it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    155
    76
    20
    27
See reviews for
18
99
183
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Both La casa roja as Santiago are very nice places! I stayed there for more than a week and wish go back in a next travel. The hostel works in a oldish style building, very charming and all works great: hot showers, nice beds, large kitchen. Certainly will be better when all bath reforms end.

Room Tip: Basic: If you don't sleep easily, avoid mixed rooms; Always, EVER put your stuff locked in prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Geizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
yes we are working on little details still to change but we are getting every day better and that feel great, so glad our guest can enjoy our work :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great place with a huge garden including a pool! Definitely the place to be if you want to meet new people from all over the world with good vibes!
Very precious tips for sightseeing (touristic tours), and if you want to party the hostal has a brand new bar where you can share a beer with travellers or simply taste one of the famous chilean cocktails.
The place is amazing with a big kitchen, also very clean and spacious and the staff was very nice and always helpful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labuse782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
that's rigth, we have transportation packages and clothe rental at the hostel! cheap and easy to get a crazy ride to the imposing mountains also bar for those who want to party and ask at front for our new safe and cheap transfer to ther airport 3 to 11 guest only 5 thousand pesos each!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The casa roja was recommended by travelors i met in mendoza and I was not dissapointed. The hostel is in a gigantic mansion but the vibe still feels warm and homey, if you are there in summer i assume the pool is a great place to hang out. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: The dorm room by the reception seemed to block some of the noise from the common areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank throlieyhdm333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
that's rigth! we have a great pool and bar with some good music for summer time!
and the brand new inside bar at front for winmter time with the best marley coffee for cold mornings (USDA organic) try the great nuttela moka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
564 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I visited La casa Roja in May. It was low season and there weren't many people there. Even so we could hear the staff next door like there were in our room. We spoke with them three times to keep quiet and after hotel staff intervened they finally stopped.
Great party hostel though very loud.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
that's why the creation of our brand new bar at front so people who wants to have fun doesn't bother the other's sleep, also our brand new organic cafeteria , the best taste, dont start amorning without a good marley coffee at front
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

La Casa Roja is by far one of the best hostels I have ever. The location is close to La Alameda which is the main boulevard in Santiago. The hostel is also close to several cafes and bars, which is good for a casual night out. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Israel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
only good vibes allowed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location and really easy to get into the city. Awesome facilities which included a full kitchen to make meals in house. Friendly and helpful staff. A great choice for young travellers who want a social hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcalca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
a social place with room for 100 different cultures perfect for adventurer souls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 478 in Santiago
694 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 478 in Santiago
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#16 of 478 in Santiago
541 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#28 of 478 in Santiago
278 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 478 in Santiago
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Roja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Roja Hostel

Property: La Casa Roja Hostel
Address: Agustinas 2113 | Barrio Brasil, Santiago 8340463, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa Roja Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barrio Brasil and a few steps from the subway, La Casa Roja hostel invites you to enjoy our swimming pool, big gardens and terraces, and more than 1.400 Square meters for relaxing and having fun. Anyway, at front desk we have always nice people willing to make your experience in Santiago and Chile sweeter!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your La Casa Roja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Roja Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing