We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Casa Roja Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Los Arcos(Santiago)
View Hotel
Hotel Brasil(Santiago)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agustina Suite(Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
BMB Suites(Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Majestic(Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RQ Santiago(Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
247
164
82
22
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
164
82
22
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge kitchenbarrio brasilold mansiontable tenniscleaned regularlycommon areasbed dormswimming poolchillilots of hot waterrooms are biga great place to staylaundry servicebars and restaurantssouth americametro stationbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Paid cash for three nights and never got a receipt. The staff repeatedly insisted I had only paid for one night. If you stay here, definitely get a receipt! Atmosphere kind of sucked too. Good price but no breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kg0596a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

that is a must. always ask for your receipt when you pay for your acomodation, is your warranty at the moment our system fails, computer systems are not 100% reliable nowadays, we always ask before charging if the system say so that's part of the staff work to have evrything in order at front . on the other hand we have cheap prices for backpackers budgets, we do not take advantage with nobodys money,and breakfast is only included at privates as every site indicates, but everyone is available to buy any of the choices we have from 1 cup of coffee for 400 pesos to the delicious breakfast de la casa for 2000 pesos, also cheap!
we go for understanding and not figthing
peace out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice place, good fun, some of the staff excellent BUT be very carefully with your stuff...on the day I left, someone stole from the locked baggage store another guests backpack and police were called.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

we feel terrible sorry about robery, we have strong security cameras around the house, electric door at the hostel for not opening the door late at nigth without checking first, reception 24 hours, every bed has a locker, is important for our guest to use them for security because we never know what in people's mind.. we are conected with the cops in case of any emergency, and around 30 persons around part of our team. there some not honest people traveling around also, I dont get why but their always trying to get advantage of others. if someone gets robbed here we willl help with cameras and cops and information for your insurance for sure and if we find someone stealing by cameras we will kick them out for sure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A great hostel, good location and reception, Fácil acesso aos principais pontos turísiticos de santiago e duas estações do metrô bem ao lado. Cheerful and helpful staff, ample and warm, I felt at home!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vanessadm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had a wonderful experience in La Casa Roja. Hot water, beautiful rooms and lot's of space. The breakfast is awesome too. The only problem was the WiFi, which is not very good inside the rooms (but you can use it perfectly in the common area). It's also close to a lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nayara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

thank you! we do have great breakfast choices and if you are in privates a generous breakfast included :) and very good spots to eat around the area, a patrimonial neighborhood with a little old times magic dont miss them ask at front for your guide! wifi is available in common areas only for the moment but it will come for all over the house even for newspaper readers privacy ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The place is really big, with rooms shared between 20+ people, but it was actually pretty quiet which was nice. The location is pretty central, being between the historic building of La Moneda/downtown area and the artier district of Barrio Brasil. I stayed just one night and it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews