We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Blue Jar

Blue Jar
Ranked #217 of 4,583 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centro Histórico
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch around 1pm, and seemed to make it just before the crowd. The food was great, the staff was wonderful, and the owner either knows everyone or makes you feel like she knows you.

Helpful?
Thank P_Meaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    87
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Happening place!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Food was great, location was great, and the staff was very friendly (in both English and Spanish). What more do you want?! I ate here twice for lunch, once inside and once outside. I liked outside better as they provided table canopys to shelter you from the sun. The place has a nice energy to it. I had the corvina which was excellent. Also, I easily had the best expresso of my trip here. It was silk without the burnt taste so many other places serve. I will certainly come back next time I visit Santiago.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If in Santiago, you must go here…I will return”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

What a fantastic experience! We ate a late lunch and I was a bit disappointed that the daily special was sold out. That was my only disappointment. Fantastic food treats! The owner took us English-only speakers under her wing and guided us through the menu. It's down near the Presidential Palace and we will definitely return when in Santiago.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My friend and I walked in off the street without knowing anything about this place. We sat at the bar, as the entire restaurant seemed to have been reserved. The food was excellent: great taste, great presentation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A British run restaurant in Santiago. Excellent!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Being in Chile on business from the UK for just a couple of days I went with some government officials for a quick lunch at Blue Jar as it was recommended by one of our local colleagues.

Imagine my surprise to be greeted by an English lady running the restarant! The menu then revealed innovative Chilean food but also some cheeky British dishes such as sausage rolls with tomato ketchup.

I have to admit I skipped the British items and went for snapper which was absolutely outstanding. One of my colleagues had the steak with french fries which looked great. We finished it off with proper coffee (more difficult to get in Santiago than you might imagine) and mint tea made with fresh mint leaves. We were given some complimentary pastries/tarts to go with the coffee which was a really nice touch.

Fast, friendly, innovative, tasty and not expensive. The magic combination.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Jar also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Blue Jar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing