We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sold Chilean food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Confiteria Torres

Confiteria Torres
Ranked #263 of 4,493 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Latin, Chilean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centro Histórico
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sold Chilean food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Good food, good wine, good service. A little empty (but with live music) on a Tuesday night.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Zoette0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    108
    49
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good wine and Chilean food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Went to this place with some friends from work. They have a great local wine selection and good food. Not the best Chilean food I had in Chile, but good. Desserts are great too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CristianoAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São José do Rio Preto, Brasil
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The food was good, but the place needs a refurbishment...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We thougt this restaurant would be a nice food experience. The food was good enough, but the place seems to be a little down. It needs a refurbishment. The service was just ok. But the main thing is the place was not so clean. The waiter´s clothe was dirt.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
254 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, historic café.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Visited for a luncheon, and even though I was not totally blown away by the experience, I would recommend visiting at least once.

Pros:
Our Pisco Sour, when it finally arrived, was very well constructed. They have great appetizer selections to choose from, featuring some of the best pastry work I’ve tasted when it comes to fried versions of empanadas in South America, as well as fried fresh bread rolls of some kind or other, both served with zesty and very tasty tomato salsa. Also, with our main courses that we ordered – meat served was not the most memorable nor favourably cooked, yet, O.K. enough – a tomato and onion salad was clearly the best one I’ve ever tasted in Chile.

Cons:
Service on the Saturday when we visited was super slow, annoyingly so. In fact, there wasn't a maître d’hôtel in sight, and only two humble yet totally over-stretched waiters whom somehow were expected to keep the massive dining room and casual cafe going on their own, without any support of any kind… There wasn't even a bartender to help them out! I think the owner/manager finally arrived well after 1:30 p.m. (dressed in his street clothes), and started to help with the service recovery, but, that even seemed short-lived, and far too late...

Sincerely,

Richard Maloney

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good choice in El Centro, especially for its history and its superb desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Landmark restaurants can be hit or miss. On balance, I would recommend Confiteria Torres for many reasons. The food, although certainly not Santiago's best, is very good. The service is professional in a very old world way. One feels one is part of the history of this fascinating city being there, so the experience remains more cultural than culinary. Still, one can eat quite well at Confiteria, and, while, with one exception, it may not be worth going out of your way, if you are staying in El Centro, it is a good choice. That one exception is the desserts which are world class. A mousse of chocolate and castana, and an eggy pastry which is a specialty of the house - I am sorry not to remember the names as billed - were fantastic. In Santiago, everything is measured by the fact that one is in a world class culinary capital (I say this as a jaded New Yorker foody), on balance, I give Confiteria four out of five Tripadvisor stars. Still, for it's urbane and stately historic atmosphere and surefire ability to please anyone with a discerning palette for desserts, it's a must! And, as almost everywhere in Chile, there's terrific wine!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank tripadwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Confiteria Torres also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Confiteria Torres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing