We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santiago Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santiago Hillside Hotel
Ranked #157 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

If you are looking to get away from the noisy city life, this is just perfect. Comfortable, safe, beautiful and I rested so well, and food was more than enough and excellent! I would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 97Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    18
    6
    4
    11
See reviews for
15
39
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This quaint hillside hotel is away from the traffic and congestion of the city. Nestled in a beautiful and quiet area, the hotel offers delightful amenities, large clean rooms, with a beautiful lobby with a breathtaking view. The breakfasts are enormous and delicious and often carried us until dinner. The staff could not do enough to help and assist with our questions and needs.
We very much enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

It's a little bit off the beaten track, but worth looking for. A beautiful lobby - comfortable, modern rooms - the most accommodating, friendly staff - all helped make this hotel a real find. The breakfasts were as beautiful as they were delicious and the warm, cozy lobby was the perfect place to end a busy day. The staff had wonderful suggestions about where to go, what to do and where to eat. Our stay was perfect in every way - except that it was only for two nights!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This beautiful hotel sits midway between the ski slopes and downtown Santiago. The staff is very welcoming, the accommodations and view are quite beautiful, and the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. The complimentary breakfast, prepared with fresh ingredients by the staff, is delicious and ample enough to last until the dinner hour.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel was fabulous! It is conveniently located at the foot of the ski slopes as well as in a gorgeous, smog-free neighborhood filled with wonderful restaurants and shopping..
This cozy hotel is warm, inviting, and very, very clean.
The staff was excellent! They helped us arrange tours of the city; wine tours, and a gourmet dinner with live music at the hotel.
The beds were comfortable with homey comforters in a lovely room; the breakfasts, gourmet and abundant; lobby beautifully decorated, comfortable and inviting. The mountain views and surrounding countryside were so gorgeous that it was hard to believe we were minutes from the big city!
We will definitely return during their summer months when we can enjoy the gorgeous swimming pool !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very good breakfast.
Far away from any place,No restaurant or room service available.
The hot water during bath last just few minutes.
Dont go on winter........cold place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcio I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantiagoHillside, Owner at Santiago Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
When making a decision to stay at a hotel you should check its location. The guest wanted to be in a center city location and or nearby the Airport since it was a 1 night stay to get out of town and worked for airline industry nonetheless, chose a hotel while having a fantastic location in the suburb of Las Condes near Malls, restaurants and top residential district in the way to ski resorts, but at 8 miles from center city of Santiago and 13 miles from Airport. Hard to understand his poor choice of location and even harder to understand condemning the Hotel for his choice.
Please check location on Google and you will find that our location is premium.
For his information we do serve the finest continental cuisine and or kosher supervised food as a restaurant and only on requested.
Regarding hot water we do have a central boiler with 2 15000 liter storage tanks and hydraulic pumps. Maybe need to work hot and cold water control keys better.
Winter, relatively cold but we do get wonderful sunny days. Remember foothills of the Andes and not Rio. For the comfort of our guests we do have central heating and 2 fireplaces that keep the place warm, cozy and comfortable.
By the way check out time is at 1200hrs and in your case at 1500hrs even though room was taken. Not kind to blast hotel because they asked you for your room, way beyond check out time and within your requested time for check out, even though we do understand you had a late flight and welcomed to stay in common area prior to your departure. I am sure your airline is not as flexible as we were with time policies. Maybe , just a few bad “Rios “.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel is far from everything and the web page cheats people. It says it is "20 minutes to the world famous ski runs of Valle Nevado and Farellones", what is really impossible (one hour at minimum, with good weather). We payed US$169,00 per night to stay at Casa Farellones: a house distant from the main building, with a poor bathroom with a shower that couldn't stay warm, without wi-fi or telephone, from which we had to get down and up every time we had to ask for something, as a missing towel or a hair-dryer! We had to carry our luggage up and down the hill, as the van was not able to get next to our room. The location is poor and it is hard to go out at night. They offer a dinner that you have to book in the morning for 25,000 pesos (approximately US$55.00) per person. We saw only one employee at the hotel, who worked hard for more than 12 hours a day. One night, after coming from ski runs (2 hours of transfer) and having to walk up to our room under rain, my 10 years old daughter cried during her shower because it suddenly got completely cold. Although we had booked 4 nights, we decided to get out one night earlier. We talked to the manager Andrea who agreed to reimburse us this night as we had paid it all at the check-in. She said she would give us the value with a 25% discount related to Venere taxes. We agreed with that and left next morning with a promise to receive this value in our account, what she didn’t do up to now. Now, she says she will see if she is really obliged to do that!!! I feel cheated and profoundly regretful!

Room Tip: Room Casa Farellones is terrible! Distant, isolated, small bathroom, horrible shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReginaD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantiagoHillside, Owner at Santiago Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
We are equally disappointed regarding this guest, here arrival attitude, aggressive manners and unhappiness with it all, not to mention the untruthful and slanderous commentaries. This is one of those reviews you doubt in answering because of its ill intended nature. It was done with the express intend to damage our fantastic reputation and to persuade others from not having the great opportunity to experience our tremendous hospitality and service as it has been stated by numerous other reviewers which contrast dramatically with reviewers commentaries.
Let me start by addressing her commentary that the Hotel is far from everything and the web page cheats people. The Hotel is located in Las Condes , 2 miles from La Dehesa Mall, 1 mile from Mall Sport, half a mile from the Lo Barnechea square next to Quinchamali a multimillion dollar residential neighborhood and on Camino a Farellones the road to the ski slopes of Farellones and Valle Nevado, located exactly 13.5 miles away. We are also located 13 miles from SCL International Airport and 8 miles from center of town(Santiago). Please look at a Google Map and confirm this for yourselves. Thus her comments are not only untrue but ill intended.
Regarding her commentary as to the time it takes you to travel the 13.5 miles to the ski runs. This depends strictly on road conditions, if it is snowing, etc. That will determine the length of time it takes you to travel the distance of 13.5 miles. However, we normally do the trip in 20 minutes or so. That is with normal weather conditions and in a car. Different also, to travel in a hire bus and during snowing conditions, the case of reviewer. The bus stops to pick up passengers check points for chain requirements, congestion because of snow, etc. So must take this into consideration.
Regarding the 169USD she paid for the Casita Farellones, the rate she should have paid was 299USD per night had she stated on her reservation the true amount of guests and not state there were only 2, when in fact her party was of 4 guests. Obviously, this will set off a BAD START. Notwithstanding the issue above she paid 169USD as she states here. That is because she did not tell the manager of the agreement she had with owner to pay the extra monies.
Casita Farellones is a gorgeous little cabin of approximately 600 sq feet with a huge terraza, 2 bedrooms, 1 bath. The bathroom it is rather tiny but never had a complaint regarding the size , appointment or that it does not have hot water in the shower or that it does not get warm. We did check after her departure as we normally do on all equipment and it did work and does work fine. It does continue to work adequately for other families presently lodged in the beautiful, rustic and cozy Casita Farellones.
Regarding, Wi-fi , we checked and true that it is hard to get and we are placing a new router at the Casita for the convenience of our valued guests. Telephones, true also , none of the Hotel rooms have phones as the Hotel has a phone in the lobby for the use of our guests. The phone is wireless so you may take it to your room for the use of it.
She was provided daily an extra towel supply for her 4 guests and did have a hair dryer. In fact both Andrea and Veronica bent over backwards to aid and service all her needs including the ones that were extras.
Regarding the offer of a dinner, it is not true that we offer her a dinner. She asked for a dinner and she was quoted our prices. Might mention , that we do home cook all our meals including our delicious gourmet breakfast, we also provide kosher supervised meals, so to that extend we are not a bargain for food but extremely reasonable considering the quality of food and service provided. Guests have many options of great restaurants within walking distance to the Hotel or to have delivered from pizzas to sushi.
Regarding her experience with bus she hired during a rain and storm is her own doing and out of our control, However we do feel for her daughter , if it true, but maybe she should have set up the shower as other parents do for their children prior to taking a bath or shower.
Regarding her length of stay and deciding on a shorter stay. She was told by Andrea our host and experienced manager that she would let the owner know about a possible refund, notwithstanding that there is a prepaid reservation through a booking commission agent and within the one day penalty notice clause. Refund with a reservation made through agency needs to be through them and not the Hotel. They earn a commission and pay the hotel only a net amount, minus service and commission fees. If the reservation had been made with the Hotel directly then the Hotel has a policy of refunding the monies entirely. This issue is out of our control. However, this does not give anyone the right to insult the manager or to slander a well establish an reputable Hotel.
Regarding her room tip, this is untrue. Casita Farellones is 30 meters away from main Hotel building, with its own parking space in front of the Casita or walking through the cobblestone path.
Might also mention that because she had a sister staying at the Hotel with her husband and her wanting to be next to her it did cause her to be disappointed. However, we did offer her to be moved to the Hotel and she did not accept due to a pricing difference.
We are very sorry, she had such an experience but we are certain she does go on life having this sort of events do to her foul attitude. A word of advice, please state the right amount of guests in your party when booking a hotel, so not to have problems at check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago
Santa Lucia
Luciano K Hotel
Luciano K Hotel
#10 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Hotel Acacias De Vitacura
#108 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dali Apart Hotel
#188 of 197 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Chalet Valluga
#1 of 4 in Farellones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Hotel Posada de Farellones
#2 of 4 in Farellones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Hillside Hotel

Property: Santiago Hillside Hotel
Address: Camino a Farellones 15201, Santiago 7591511, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santiago Hillside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous boutique hotel and abode, partly built by Chilean national sculptor/artist "Francisco Gazitua," located on 7 green, wildlife filled, walled guard gated acres of Andes Mountains Hillside, on one of the most prestigious and exclusive neighborhoods of Santiago. Fantastic views of the Andes, Mapocho River, Cerro Pochoco Observatory and the entire Valley of Santiago. Up nearly 1500 feet of elevation near San Enrique Square in Lo Barnechea and Las Condes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Santiago Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing