We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landed on our feet in Santiago”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Lucia Green House
Ranked #193 of 511 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This review comes in 2 parts so take both into consideration:

The accomodation: This is of a reasonable standard not posh and flash but also not a dump. I would say for visit to the city it was of a reasonable standard. Breakfast was fine and the location reasonable.

The staff:
Day 1, the hostal ran a free city tour that was suposed to last for 1.5 hours. After 4 hours of being shown all the best sights and history of the city we get back to the hostel. What a great start.. After asking where was good to eat we were then guided back into the centre and taken to it.
Day 2, we had asked about going to the local markets, as a result the guide at no cost again (although we tipped him well) took us on the metro to the markets, showed us round, took us to a fish resteraunt for lunch in the fish market (we paid for his) and then back via a local bar and a museum.
Day 3, no guide but on their advice and from the city tour we knew where to go we visited the local historical sights. As this was September 1st (month of national celebration) lots of official buildings were open to the public. We went into and had tours around the Congress building, the Presdential palace, the Majors office and Stock Exchange. I bet you can't do all those at home??
While in the Congress building we meet and had our picture taken with the 'Speaker of the House' for the government and given a parlimentary pen....
Great city..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

As reviewers have said this is a basic guesthouse in a very central location of Santiago. While we have stayed in better places - on a value scale this has to be appreciated. There are few places in Santiago cheaper than the Greenhouse (evidenced by how many long term stayers were here) and in fact most hostels were charging 10,000 pesos more a night and even more when you consider this place was willing to discount for longer stays. I cant remember what our room number was but it was on the first floor (2nd floor of building) on the right - it had 4 beds in total and the main bed was much larger than the other room. The room also came with a tv. The bathroom is shared (only 2 rooms on our floor) and was basic - it was cleaned everyday but sometimes did feel a little dirty. Wi-fi was great and there are also 2 computers. Breakfast was basic - bread/jam, yoghurt, juice and coffee but appreciated. There was a kitchen which we used regularly without problem. The family live downstairs and are very quiet, the son speaks English and were helpful without being intruding. Location is right in the heart of the city one block from the metro and bus. Definitely recommend for those on a budget but not for those looking to meet people and party.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband and I originally planned on staying at the Green House for two nights but ended up extending our stay two extra nights. The hostel is very small and basic but in a great location that is only a couple blocks from the Santa Lucia Metro and close to many sights, restaurants, grocery stores, etc.

It is a fairly quiet hostel (due to it being so small) - It is definitely not a place you go if your looking to socialize with a lot of other backpackers.

The common room area was nice with fast WiFi and the bedrooms were good size (and came with towel service, which is rare to find in Chilean hostels). The kitchen was pretty bare and small, so we weren't able to make many meals in the hostel beyond bread and cheese.

Breakfast was basic (bread, yogurt, coffee, tea) but filled us up until lunch.

The only real complaint we had was that the second floor bathroom seemed to have black mold on the walls and ceilings, so we ended up having to use the third floor bathroom, which was much more updated.

Overall, it was a good hostel if you are looking for a relaxing stay somewhere central in Santiago.

Room Tip: Privates are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandingStanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The place is just fine. Nothing special. Nice folks running the place with little English and no help. Average in every aspect.

Room Tip: Stay at Eco hostal 1/2 km away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here in total for around a week, our hosts (Rodrigo and his parents) looked after our stuff when we went away to Easter Island for a week so very trustworthy. The guest house is relatively basic but homely and can be a good place to meet people. It's an IDEAL place to stay to explore the wider city as it is by a metro stop and walking distance to many shops and sights.

Standard breakfast and super fast wifi is included although best if you have your own laptop. The hosts have their own floor below are a hands off but open and friendly if you need them.

Directions:
It can be quite hard to find so here are some directions if arriving from the airport:
From the airport take the bus to a stop in Santiago called 'Los Heroes' (pronounced los erowez). This is by a metro stop by the same name, from here buy tickets to 'Santa Lucia'. Surface from the south exit and go straight then take the first left onto 'Marcoleta' street. Keep going until you see 537, a green door opposite a tattooist, can be easy to miss first time around.

If you are arriving at the city by bus you will most likely arrive at a stop called Universidad de Santiago stop, this is also a metro stop so you can hop on and get to Santa Lucia from here as above.

Hope this helps and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This is a kind of hostel.Very centrally located and near to the metro station.From the Santiago int.airport the best idea is taking a sharing van/minibus service to the hotels
is just outside of the arrivals, will be the budget and secure transfer availability.Private rooms with shared bathrooms are clean.Approx six rooms and sizes vary but not big.
Try to get back side,front side is looking an sometimes noisy street.In the room there was a bunk bed,a TV & table & chair&hangers&head lamp for an hostel, really not bad place to sleep. Continental breakfast is standart,in addition, they are supplying an kitchen, you can prepare all your meals.Though the management does not speak and understand English well.The young guy some times seeing like rude but trying to prepare as they can.This will be a good base for a couple of days,(business trips etc.)
If you are looking for a budget clean place for sleeping and who do not need luxury or expectations too much.They are supplying free internet/pc for their guests.For business trips yes,I will be back there.Basic,budget and their location is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Engelhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed here on our return trip to Santiago. We had been thoroughly not impressed with the place we had stayed the first time. We had also looked at some others and everything in the budget category seemed to be falling a part. We found this one via HostelBookers. It was in a good location and we decided it was worth a try.

The hotel was small, but we were quite pleased. The location was great - so close to the Santa Lucia metro station that it was a breeze to get to. We had done the touristy things the first time we were in Santiago, but we could have easily reached them from here. There were also lots of reasonably priced restaurants close at hand and some great budget shopping.

Our room was small and basic. There was a double bed with nightstands and a TV mounted on the wall. Not a lot of room for our bags, but it was manageable. We did have a window, but no view. It was a shared bathroom. It was clean, but sometimes there was a wait as only one bathroom on our floor. But then there was only three rooms so not like a ton of people using it.

There was a small kitchen that we made use of and found functional. There was also a breakfast room upstais. Breakfast was included, but was basically just instant coffee and toast.

The family lives on the ground floor of this house and it all seemed very homey. It was not the massive backpackers accomodation with lounge rooms, bars, and travel information. This was just basic rooms with Spanish speaking owners. So if you are looking for the backpacker vibe, it is not here. But we were not looking for that. We were looking for a clean, convenient, comfortable accomodation in which to spend our last two nights in South America - and Santa Lucia Green House was perfect for that.

We slept quite well here as the walls were much thicker than at the hostel we originally stayed at in Santiago. Plus there was no street noise. And most importantly, our room was clean.

I would stay here again when in Santiago. It is good value, as it was cheaper than even dorm beds in most of the flimsy made hostels. Plus you could simply not beat its location.

Our double non-ensuite room cost 14,000 chilean (US$ 26). We were pleased with that and would recommend for the mature budget traveller that is NOT looking for a party place.

We booked through Hostel Bookers and be sure to look at the photos before trying to find this place. We found the street easy enough, but they don't have an obvious sign and although it is called "green house" it is not a bright green or anything. Luckily we recognized it from the photo so take a good look at that.

Santa Lucia Green House
Marcoleta 537
Santiago Centro
Metro Station Santa Lucia
Santiago de Chile
Chile

Phone +56 (2) 633-7638
Email greenhouse.chile@gmail.com

Double non-ensuite 14,000 Chilean (US$ 26)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShyBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Landay Hostel
#78 of 511 in Santiago
162 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#39 of 511 in Santiago
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Atacama Low Cost
Atacama Low Cost
#350 of 511 in Santiago
31 reviews
Atton Vitacura
#30 of 202 in Santiago
1,904 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#5 of 511 in Santiago
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Lucia Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Lucia Green House

Address: Santiago centro Marcoleta 537, Santiago 8330042, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 511 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Number of rooms: 278

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing