We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in a family-run hostel”
Review of Casa Provence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Provence
Ranked #33 of 173 Santiago B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The place is very nice and clean, in a (maybe too) quiet neighborhood. Managers are nice and very friendly, garden is nice but at the time of my visit (rainy winter) was not so exploitable.
Very good for value for money, not so good if you want to be in the heart of the movida.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed 2 times in Hostal Romandia and I can recomand the hostel to people who wants to stay in a very quite area of Santiago. Valeria, her mum and a friend runs the hotel. They and their team are all very nice, friendly and helpful. If there is any problem or you need help they are all doing their best to solve it.
The rooms are clean, the breakfast is excellent and there is also a very lovely garden.

Keep it up, ladies!!!!!
Karin L

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for one night, and found it very comfortable and homey. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they even gave us some food for the baby when we arrived (unprepared!) The neighborhood is quiet but close enough to walk into the city. Good wifi and great garden. A really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed in Hostal Romandia for a total of 7 days in the past month. Its located in a lovely leafy street, within easy walking distance of salvador metro station. I had an individual room with a shared bathroom however there is a bathroom for every 2 rooms from my count so you could say it was almost private. Its very clean, breakfast is good and Wi-Fi was reliable with computers available if required.

It has a very homely feel, but as others have mentioned its the ladies work here who make it feel like home.

Over all a great stay in Santiago. Muchas gracias

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed in Hostal Romandia 2 days and enjoyed the homey feeling and the service from the nice ladies running this place.
The hostal is not right down town, but in a nice quiet neighborhood. You can walk down town.
The room was large with lots of shelves to all our gear. Good beds, nice bedlinen and WIFI.
Everything is very clean. Also the shared bathrooms. The shower didn't work too well, which is why I don't give it 5 stars.
There's a really nice kitchen and a large backyard. They let us park our motorcycles in their shed, which we highly appreciated.
If you sleep light, you might want to bring ear plugs. You can hear every time someone walks up and down the stairs.
The ladies running the place are smiling and heart warm and genuinely interested in their guests.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henriette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The owners are very helpful. Although the bathroom was shared. They were enough bathrooms to get still the impression that you had your own. The area is very quite and still not far from the metro to get anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice_VDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We are a couple from NZ doing a round the world trip. This b&b is one of the nicest on our trip so far (4 months). It's more like staying at a friend's house. Made very special by the friendly staff, especially Maria Teresa who made us home made empanadas to share Chilean food with us! She spoke excellent English and was very kind and helpful.

Set in a renovated villa, the rooms are large, kitted with a basin and tv and wifi throughout. We had 5 nights here at the upstairs double room with a balcony for 32000 pesos/night with breakfast inclusive. Breakfast is very good with bread, jam, ham, cheese, fruit and eggs.

The bathrooms are shared but they are modern and cleaned daily. One bathroom between every two rooms so wasn't a problem at all.

The place is secure, and the nearest metro is 15min walk away (Salvador) and services town centre, single fare 700 pesos so very convenient. There is a supermarket and laundromat three blocks away. There is a well kept garden with gazebo to sit under as well as a space to hang washing.

Overall, an excellent place to stay in Santiago, thanks guys!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Bed&Breakfast Blumenhaus
Bed&Breakfast Blumenhaus
#26 of 173 in Santiago
48 reviews
Providencia
Alma Bed&Breakfast
Alma Bed&Breakfast
#19 of 173 in Santiago
42 reviews
Providencia
Marilu's Bed and Breakfast Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Hotel Casa Lyon
#31 of 173 in Santiago
75 reviews
Providencia
Providencia Bed & Breakfast
Providencia Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 173 in Santiago
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Provence

Address: Roman Diaz 1403, Santiago 7501203, Chile (Formerly Hostal Romandia)
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range: £29 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Provence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house has bright and warm environments making it very welcoming for guests. We have a team of collaborators committed to customer service. The neighborhood is characterized by an atmosphere of tranquility, close to touristic and typical areas, gastronomic sectors, green areas, museums, art and decoration galleries, garages, Hospitals and other commercial activity. The "Providencia" district has good access to the hystorical center of Santiago, Metro stations (Underground), Costanera Center Mall, National Stadium, and is the main area for Offices and Bussines in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing