We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in great area”
Review of W Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Santiago
Ranked #40 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern hotel in great area”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Clean, safe neighborhood with lots of nearby restaurants (try Tiramisu). Lively atmosphere in lobby/bar areas. Rooms have great views although noise from hallways can be an issue. Helpful staff (did not seem aloof as some have mentioned). Excellent gym and spa.

Front desk - easy, efficient check in/out with Sophia. Changed rooms and everyone was accommodating. At times desk appears understaffed though.

Rooms - modern with great views. Noise from hallway can be an issue if you are a light sleeper or insomniac like me.

Gym/Spa - excellent gym with free weights, machines and cardio. As good as you will find in a hotel. Good massage in spa.

Lounge bar - Nate and all bartenders are friendly and make good drinks. Try a clementine crash.

Whiskey Blue - attractive, mostly local crowd. Doesn't get started until around midnight.

Pool - small rooftop pool with lots of direct sun and fantastic views. Kitchen is sometimes slow, but no complaints once food arrives.

Room service - prompt service. OK food.

Concierge - helpful although there was an issue with car rental company.

Overall, if you like W brand and atmosphere you shouldn't be disappointed. If W isn't your cup of tea check out Ritz. It is nearby and quieter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazorsEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello RazorsEdge,

Thank you so much for writting about your experience in W Santiago.

We are very happy to know you had a wonderful time in our property and that our location accomodated you.

I would personally like to thank you for acknowledging our staff specialy Nate of our W Lounge Bar and Sophia at Welcome Desk.

We are thrilled to know that our facilities and services such as pool, gym/spa, whiskey blue, room service and concierge were of your liking.

We truly lament the noise of the corridors, we apologize.

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    466
    187
    73
    53
See reviews for
173
670
84
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I'm actually still here at the W hotel Santiago for another three nights, and I'm not trying to get any favours, I never want favours from hotels, I want them to provide what they say they will provide and regardless of status.

I happen to be a ten year plus platinum Starwood member, for what it's worth, actually that's unfair as in some places it does actually make you feel part of a program that recognises that you have stuck with them rather than go off to some other loyalty program that desperately wants your business as well. There was no mention of my status or the stuff that usually gets a mention when you check in ?

This hotel, is in a great part of town for all kinds of people, if you want an authentic market and local experience it's close, like a few minutes on the underground, if you want a swanky that's all close as well.

The hotel is quite nice, although the first room we were put in was really bad, I was told that I was upgraded ?? but the toilet was in the middle of the room, it did have a large balcony which was great but totally impractical as you spend 0.05% of your time out there, the balcony was much bigger than the room, and the TV remote didn't work and the hot water didn't work for 6 or 7 minutes, that annoys me, but just a really badly designed room for all sorts of reasons.

Day 2 I asked to be moved which eventually we were to a corner room on 10, great room, and to our surprise it has a bath, which we enquired about, but were told that this room didn't have one - so that was a bonus !

Service generally is ok the ladies that make up the rooms, like almost all of the ladies globally that make up the rooms are fantastic, they probably have the worst jobs in each hotel, but they are happy and always prompt and make you feel at home and that nothing is too much trouble, I love these unsung heroins of hotels, and here is no exception.

The stark comparison here at the W Santiago between these beautiful ladies that look after you and your room and the ones at the front line here is incredible.

Front desk isn't bad, but it is downhill rapido style from there. Tonight after along day I went to the bar to get a refreshing glass of Chardonnay, they didn't have any, they told me to sit down at a table and they would come across and serve me, they never did, so I went back to the bar and got a glass of Sav Blanc, as no chardonnay, despite several bottles on the list. I drank the first one and then looked around for someone to get another one, but the packs of two or three waitresses that stand around and laugh and talk with each other, never seem to serve anyone, great job if you can get one I suppose, but not good for thirsty me. I went back to the bar where there were three barstaff, 2 boys and 1 girl, and they basically ignored me, as the boys strutted there macho stuff with the girl and the girl giggled, but all three ignored me until they realised that I was getting a bit annoyed.

They said that they would serve me at the table, but I'd heard that trick before, and I asked for glass of Sav Blanc again and it was such a devastating effort for these three to break up there tryst and when I asked for the bill to sign off, the girl almost had some sort of turn as she had to actually think and do something for a customer - wah, oh no, whatever dude !

At our breakfast experience when the breakfast reception staff just ignored us but eventually pointed to somewhere we could sit outside the main breakfast area and then proceeded to watch us move the dirty cups and plates on the table they suggested we should sit at, nobody lifted a finger to help us, in fact I really think that we ruined their day by being paying guests that sustain their employment, but having the audacity to actually want some help from them, when they were clearly busy chatting and gossiping with each other about important stuff.

Then the last thing that really freaked me out are the older guys in black suits that don't engage in any communication but simply pace around, like some KGB or FBI guys and then continuously ask if you are a guest or not and if so what is your room number, now that get's my goat especially after you've been staying at the hotel for a few days.

So all in all, this hotel makes me question my SPG membership generally as there is nothing here that your membership stuff brags about, but more importantly and I think this reasonably common, there is no staff management or training about how you might want to react and deal with your customers that largely pay money to keep you employed.

This hotel has some great potential, but until they sort out the staff attitude to spare it will always be second rate, which is a great shame.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dunc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at W Santiago, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello Mr. Dunc

I want to trylu apologize for all the things you have mentioned. We are very sorry and truly lament all these situations.

I would like to thank you for the great feedback you have provided us, we will definately work on the aspects mentioned.

I have sent you a personal email in order to get intouch with you. We would love to speak to you before your departure.

Warmest Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CT
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just got back after 4 nights at the W Santiago. It has lots of potential to be a great hotel, but fails to execute on a lot of fronts.

Location--not in downtown, but in an affluent neighborhood about 5 minutes walk from the El Golf Metro station.

Rooms--quite comfortable, but be prepared for all glass showers (which you can see from the front door in some layouts) and a temperature knob that didn't work in any of the 3 rooms we booked. From other reviews this appears to be a common problem.

Concierge--pleasant but not very knowledgeable. Can tell you how to get from point A to point B, but that's about it.

Restaurants--good food, but very pricey ($30/person for breakfast and $50/person for brunch...really?)

Pool--On the roof; great views, but seating for about 20. No service after 7 pm, even though it's light until after 9.

I got the feeling that the hotel has a reputation as a "hot" place in the city, and serves the city...not necessarily its guests. A nice place to visit, but next time I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connecticut_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello Connecticut_Couple

Greetings from W Santiago!

Along with greeting you I would like to thank you for taking your time to write about your opinion of our property.

We are happy to know that you found our rooms comfortable, but we lament knowing that the temperature knob of the shower was not functioning properly, we truly apologize for that. We will take corrective actions concerning this matter, thank you for informing us.

I have shared your comments with the Director of rooms concerning our Concierge Team in order to improve on the point you have mentioned.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our restaurants and the pool facilities.

Thank you so much Connecticut_Couple for your feedback. I have shared your comments with the rest of the W Santiago team in order to work on all the aspects you have mentioned.

Warmest Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel itself is a pretty standard W.

Two issues: Shower had no hot water (when opening the cold water tap at the sink while operating the shower at the same time the water got warm, but not hot).

The other thing is service. Two attempts at getting a drink at the (not very busy) pool bar resulted in nothing. Staff promised to bring the drink, but it never came. That being said, the view from there is amazing.

Certainly not the end of the world, but I expect more at the prices they charge.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello FlyingB1975 ,

I would like to start by apologizing for the situations you have mentioned. I have shared your comments with the rest of the W Santiago team in order to improve the situations mentioned both with water in the rooms and service at the pool deck.

We are truly sorry these situations occurred. I would like to thank you greatly for the feedback you have provided us, it will surely help us improve as a hotel.

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments of W Santiago un Tripadvisor.

We apologize once again and we hope to bring you a memorable experience next time you are here in our hotel.

Warmest Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I am SPG Platinum and often stay at W Hotels, and the Santiago location hits the mark. Great location (we only walked and took the subway while there), the red line stop is only a few blocks away. The hotel itself has a huge lobby bar area which is pretty swank, a terrace restaurant and bar on the 4th floor with delicious ceviche (we went 2x in 4 days), and the 23rd floor pool deck has an amazing view of Los Condes / Providencia and the mountains. Free breakfast for SPG members is a plus, and the food there was also abundant quite good. The bread was always fresh and yummy. The staff was helpful for the most part, we also had a driver (Juan) we used through the hotel to take us to Valparaiso for the day which was a great excursion. The spa is not Bliss, we didn't book appts, just used the shower post check out for the flight home, it was nothing special, although useful. I'd love to get back to this hotel again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbG0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello BarbG0715

Thank you so much for that nice review you took your time to write about W Santiago.

We are thrilled to know how wonderful your W experience was here.

Thank you for acknowledging our services, staff, food duality, pool deck view and bars. We are happy to know that our location also accommodated you.

We wish you a wonderful and amazing 2014.

Warmest Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had an excellent stay at the W Santiago. The location itself it near some of the best shopping and restaurants in La Providencia & Los Condes neighborhoods of Santiago.

The US Embassy is about 3 blocks from the hotel. There are great restaurants within the hotel and the surrounding complex, but if you walk down Isidora Goyenechea there are plenty of options.

The closest Metro station is El Golf on Linea 1 which can take you right downtown near the sights (Universidad de Chile Metro stop). About a 20 minute trip.

The staff was great during our stay. Great coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west, then you get a view of the skyscrapers. Eastern views show off the Ande...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello PLRUS

Thank you for your comments and thoughts in Triadvisor.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your time in W Santiago and that you could make use of our location as well as the services we offer. We thank you for the feedback concerning our staff.

W is all about experiences and we are happy to know you had a wonderful one.

Warmest Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Most W's always have that feel of being slightly better than Ikea. This one is solid. Many new restaurants have popped
Up and it is close to two subway lines. The staff is incredibly helpful and the pool is fun though small. The red2one bar was closed when I stayed and is a real highlight with a beautiful view of the city. Hopefully they reopen soon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello J T,

Thank you so much for your review in Tripadvisor of W Santiago.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed our service as well as finding our location a good place.

I would also like to thank you for recognizing the service of our staff as being helpful.

We wish you a great 2014 and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Las Condes
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
#18 of 196 in Santiago
1,321 reviews
Grand Hyatt Santiago
#44 of 196 in Santiago
2,016 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#6 of 196 in Santiago
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
#29 of 196 in Santiago
761 reviews
San Cristobal Tower
#59 of 196 in Santiago
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Santiago

Property: W Santiago
Address: Isidora Goyenechea 3000, Santiago 8420505, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Las Condes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#22 Business Hotel in Santiago
#29 Family Hotel in Santiago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Santiago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Santiago reinvents the style and sophistication, becoming an icon for fashion and tendency in the city. Enjoy the WET(R) (swimming pool) with panoramic view of Santiago. Embrace yourself with the exuberating unique colors and flavors that our restaurants and bars offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Santiago Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing