We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dominica Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dominica Hostel
Ranked #52 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Rio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Confortable and warm beds, big lockers, funny newspaper cutouts as wallpaper in the bathrooms, excellent breakfast, nice bar area and great staff.

ah! location was also great, near the park and a few blocks from the subway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perez79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    46
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
32
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Right in the middle of the action on the Bellavista neighborhood. Step out of the hostel and you're at the entrance of Cerro San Cristobal, turn around the corner and you are on Pio Nono where all the bars are and Patio Bellavista... The hostel itself is great, big beds, warm during winter and great breakfast. Strongly recommend it.! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garfolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This would most likely have been one of the best hostels we had stayed in on our trip: good breakfast selection, privacy even in large dorms rooms, reasonably clean, very friendly staff, good vibe, nice bathrooms centrally located, etc etc. HOWEVER our bag was stolen while we were staying there. Throughout our stay we noticed that the front gate was left wide open on many occasions meaning anyone can walk into the premises- which is what happened in this case, while the staff are very friendly and helpful they are not at all security concious.In addition if you need to store your bags there for the day there is no lockable storage area, and there is no one keeping an eye on it, everything is put under the open staircase. Our passports, camera and some cash were in our bag, after the rig moral we had to go through to get new passports I wouldn't wish this experience on anyone. Don't risk it: here are plenty of other hostels to choose from in Santiago.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deagle769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Had booked three nights in a private room at this hostel. I announced my flight was delayed over 10 hours and they informed me everything was fine. When I arrived at hostel around midnight, I was informed my room had been cancelled due to presence of insects. They booked me a room in an adjacent hostel which I didn't like. Hopefully one of their staff spoke decent English and was available to walk me around town for an hour before I found a hotel I could stay at. I returned to this hostel the next few nights to meet up with the employee. Had a few drinks in the yard. Nice people there and a guitar player/singer. Good location in Bellavista. Owner is also nice person. Private rooms are in yard where the night entertainment is so its noisy. All in all, a fair place to stay, too bad the bugs got in my room!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Hostels are not a first choice to stay at any longer (and, never really have been). However Dominica looked nice on paper so to speak and was reasonably priced.
We chose it because we were travelling with a family member and it was difficult to find somewhere where the 3 of us could stay on a budget for a few days in Santiago.
Other half and I stayed in a 'private room with bathroom' which was essentially a small log cabin at the back of the hostel in the garden. It was compact but had just enough space to fit our luggage in, had a nice enough bathroom and a nice finish. Definitely the nicest hostel have ever stayed in.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful even when we arrived to check in at 1am. Our room, being at the back of the garden area, could be prone to noise but it wasn't an issue when we were there (we admitted defeat and just joined in on the one outside party they did have when we were there). Could be an issue though if the sound of dancing on gravel, dodgy DJing and backpacker chat drivel is not your thing..
Didn't spend much time in communal areas but they looked nice enough with chill out area and computer section.
Breakfast was not amazing and could have had water/ juice.
Good location being in BellaVista which is where nightlife is located.
Nb. Went on 'wine tour' with Xtremo Chile tours (booked through Dominica who recommended). Paid a fair amount but whole day was actually a day out to Valparaiso with a stop off at a vineyard for about an hour at end of day. Confusing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Really clean, modern looking hostel. One of the best hostel designs I've seen in South America. The 8 dorm rooms feel more like a 2 or 4 dorm room because everyone has it's own little cocoon with reading lamp, little shelves and a big locker.

Wifi in the whole hostel, decent breakfast included,...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arnaudvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viña del Mar, Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We paid approximately $15 USD per night for a bed in a room with 8 others. It sounds like alot of people and I was worried as it was my first time staying in a hostel but they way they have the bunk beds laid out it works out very well. It was really clean, the staff was super helpful, spoke good English and Spanish. Everyone has their own locker, with just a returnable deposit of 1,000 Chilean pesos for a lock. They rent towels for 500 pesos. They also have two private "ensuites" seperate from the main building with their own private half bath. Definitely my go-to place when I stay in Santiago!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChrisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hostal Boutique Bella 269
#31 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
The Bellavista Hostel
#35 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Providencia
Chile Backpackers Hostels
Chile Backpackers Hostels
#125 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Kombi Hostel
#40 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
#14 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dominica Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dominica Hostel

Property: Dominica Hostel
Address: Dominica 24, Santiago 8420415, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dominica Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good news!!! Dominica Hostel is finally open! This newly restored old house was especially design to receive travelers. Full of common spaces and with a practical design of the dorms rooms, that gives you the privacy that you need, we are sure that your stay at Dominica will be unforgettable!!!Located in the heart of Bellavista, the bohemian and cultural district of Santiago, the Dominica is the place to be. We are steps away from the funicular to the summit of San Cristobal's Hill from where you can have the best view of Santiago and from where you can explore the huge Parque Metropolitano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Dominica Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing