We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“feels like beeing at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Don Santiago Hostel
Ranked #11 of 475 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Romeno, Italy
1 review
“feels like beeing at home”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a nice stay for our last days in Santiago. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is lovingly homemade and very delicious. The community, sharing stories and travel experiences is important in this cosy hostel. The style is kind of old school, colorful trash, we liked it! Thank you friends

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariposa393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    59
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
4
89
119
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff is very wellcoming and helpful. The beds are very comfortable, and every day everything in the hostel will be cleaned. The atmosphere is great, that's why I stayed 12 days instead of 5. However, one thing to improve is the kitchen equipment.

Room Tip: 6 bed dorm is to the backside of the stree. However, in the night, the street is very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyspaghetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It is completely not on to have to come downstairs to the common/dining room to find bodies sleeping on the floor and all over the couches.

This hostel accepts additional guests at a lower rate if you are happy to sleep out in the common area. This is very inconvenient as you have to sit on your bed until they choose to get up, which in a small dorm room is not ideal and also means additional people using the already sparse facilities eg. Lockers, showers etc. This occurred all three nights.

Breakfast is 1 small plate fruit, juice, 1 roll and a spoonful of scrambled eggs. Yes better than breakfast in Argentina but you can easily go buy your own banana from down the road and stay at a higher quality hostel - fruit is extremely cheap in Santiago.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fithealthabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BACKPACKERYOHOO, Gerente at Don Santiago Hostel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear nicole
I just want to let you know 2 things:

1.- Those people you saw sleeping downstair, one of them got stolen at the bus terminal and we let him sleep for free, the other one that you ask to move in a very lovely way at 8 am was a drunk kiwi that couldn't make it to his dorm,
2.- Sorry about the frustration you experiment during breakfast time, we set up 2 eggs per person. If you were hungry afterwards, and you would've asked for more bread or eggs or a bigger fruit salad, of course we would've worked it out. However, this is the first complain about how stingy we are being for breakfast,,,,. .. or u forgot to write about vegemite and nutella ......
3.-I reckon you must be having a great time in order to be writting reviews everywhere. Maybe you can apply for a job in lonely planet, i am sure you would be great critizing hostels :) I would kindly suggest you to relax and enjpy ur trip. You are one of a few lucky people that can travel the world, actually 0,00000001% of the whole world population can do it

Best regards

pATO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The staff was really friendly and helpful but in the morning when we were in a hurry - there was no hot water and I have stayed in cleaner places. Overall our stay was ok but I am far from being over enthusiastic.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Personable and warming staff that are extremely helpful. The best breakfast you are going to find at any hostel. The metro station is around 2 blocks away and there are many very good restaurants in the area. Only around a 20 minute walk to plaza de armas and bella vista. This hostel is very clean, and they offer towels as well. The best hostel to represent the city of Santiago. I stayed in 3 different hostels in Santiago, this one was by far the best and gives you a greater understanding and immersion into the culture.
(spring 2014)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great hostel! The staff is very friendly and helpful, . The breakfast is awesome, I loved the coffee and the scrambled eggs. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Definitely, I will be back someday!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel one night (March 19th, 2014). Our flight was cancelled and we thought we were lucky to find a place to stay around midnight without knowing anything about Santiago. The staff is very friendly and they gave us a private bedroom with a full size. People staying there were nice too and breakfast is very generous. However, the day after we left, both my girlfriend and I were full (I mean FULL) of bedbug bites. I counted 25 bites just on my right arm. I even had to go to the hospital when I got back home because some of the bites were getting to swollen. After a week we still have the marks and itchiness. To clarify: this was the only night we spent in a hotel in our whole trip. Before that we stayed at a friend's apartment for two weeks with no sign of bites and the night after the hostel we returned home. So, in all likelihood it was there were we got all bitten. I feel bad for the hostel team, because they are really nice, but this is a huge sanitary problem and people should know that there is risk of getting an infested bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexican_New_Yorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BACKPACKERYOHOO, Propietario at Don Santiago Hostel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear customers:

It`s really strange what this couple said about the bytes " the day after we left" they realize about bytes......mmmmm they didn`t realize when they woke up, they didn`t realize when they had a shower, they did the day after they left. I don`t refuse the fact of bedbugs, as they are vectors more likely to travel on backpacks. My question is: Why they didn`t say anything for breakfast time or when they checked out? Because they realized the day after checked out..... Weird.

Anyhow, dear customers,. we haven`t had any complain in that room. Even so, The hostel was completely fumigated using cypermethrin by a professional fumigation company on March 24th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 198 in Santiago
267 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 475 in Santiago
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#17 of 475 in Santiago
534 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#5 of 475 in Santiago
925 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 475 in Santiago
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Santiago Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Santiago Hostel

Property: Don Santiago Hostel
Address: Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago 52252, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 475 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Santiago Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hey fellow travellers!Why staying with us?If you check the reviews, most of them point out our staff as the best. Do you know why? Because they love working at Don Santiago, and that happens when the staff feel secure about what they are 'selling' a We know that staying a hostel is sucha a life experience, we know we have hotel style matresses in dorms and double beds. We do provide the best breakfast in Santiago as follows:Brewed coffee, tea, ginger lemonade.Scrambled eggs varieties: oregano, merken (spice smoked chilli with coriander); and ciboulette.Fresh fruit salad with honey. We are a million miles away from the business-like check-'em-in check-'em-out hostels Staff is fantastically friendly and the house feels like staying in a home with friends where you can relax and play music with the guys there, or just listen to them play.Toilets are cleaned everyday, maybe you will have to wait a bit when the house is full, but usually when people is having breakfast, the rest of people is showering, so it works wellWe don`t push people to buy tours, seriously, Santiago is such a safe city, where you can go anywhere (wineries, beach, Valparaiso) by yourself, and we can get you instructions in order to make it cheaper. However, there are tours available, just ask. =)The house is from 1910, wood floors are creaky, and if you are a light sleeper, we do provide earplugs on request. We are not a party hostel though, please know that. Quiet time starts at 01:00There are no rules in Don Santiago, once again, We do appeal to 'travelers common sense'Welcome to Don Santiago!!!!! , Certificate of Excellence TRIPADVISOR 2012'and remember, what happens in Don Santiago, stays at Don Santiago ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Don Santiago Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing