We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast you'll find south of the equator” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Santiago Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Santiago Hostel
Ranked #11 of 471 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast you'll find south of the equator”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

With great staff, good location and phenomenal breakfast this is rightfully one of the top places to stay in Santiago!

They helped book my skiing trip and offered a assisted in booking my winery tour.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    58
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
4
88
119
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a great three nights at don santiago. The World Cup game we wanted to watch wasn't showing so they looked it up for us on the staff computer and played it simultaneously with he game on TV. We got great restaurant suggestions in the area every time, and really helpful advice for getting around. The breakfast is as great as everyone says, and the staff were very chill and helpful. Pato, one of the employees, recommended a crazy show in the neighborhood that we never would have found otherwise and it was our best night out in the city. Overall, a great stay. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a cozy hostel and great recommendations in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ETnothome2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel has a very cozy feel - its got a lot of character and colour.
Staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. They're real cool to sit n chat with. It's a small hostel so it's real easy to get to know everyone.
Breakfast is amazing. Eggs, fruit, fresh fruit juice and different spreads including vegemite and nutella.
Great location being a 5 minute walk from the metro.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Xtina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeno, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a nice stay for our last days in Santiago. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is lovingly homemade and very delicious. The community, sharing stories and travel experiences is important in this cosy hostel. The style is kind of old school, colorful trash, we liked it! Thank you friends

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariposa393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff is very wellcoming and helpful. The beds are very comfortable, and every day everything in the hostel will be cleaned. The atmosphere is great, that's why I stayed 12 days instead of 5. However, one thing to improve is the kitchen equipment.

Room Tip: 6 bed dorm is to the backside of the stree. However, in the night, the street is very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyspaghetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

It is completely not on to have to come downstairs to the common/dining room to find bodies sleeping on the floor and all over the couches.

This hostel accepts additional guests at a lower rate if you are happy to sleep out in the common area. This is very inconvenient as you have to sit on your bed until they choose to get up, which in a small dorm room is not ideal and also means additional people using the already sparse facilities eg. Lockers, showers etc. This occurred all three nights.

Breakfast is 1 small plate fruit, juice, 1 roll and a spoonful of scrambled eggs. Yes better than breakfast in Argentina but you can easily go buy your own banana from down the road and stay at a higher quality hostel - fruit is extremely cheap in Santiago.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fithealthabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BACKPACKERYOHOO, Gerente at Don Santiago Hostel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear nicole
I just want to let you know 2 things:

1.- Those people you saw sleeping downstair, one of them got stolen at the bus terminal and we let him sleep for free, the other one that you ask to move in a very lovely way at 8 am was a drunk kiwi that couldn't make it to his dorm,
2.- Sorry about the frustration you experiment during breakfast time, we set up 2 eggs per person. If you were hungry afterwards, and you would've asked for more bread or eggs or a bigger fruit salad, of course we would've worked it out. However, this is the first complain about how stingy we are being for breakfast,,,,. .. or u forgot to write about vegemite and nutella ......
3.-I reckon you must be having a great time in order to be writting reviews everywhere. Maybe you can apply for a job in lonely planet, i am sure you would be great critizing hostels :) I would kindly suggest you to relax and enjpy ur trip. You are one of a few lucky people that can travel the world, actually 0,00000001% of the whole world population can do it

Best regards

pATO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The staff was really friendly and helpful but in the morning when we were in a hurry - there was no hot water and I have stayed in cleaner places. Overall our stay was ok but I am far from being over enthusiastic.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#4 of 197 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 471 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#15 of 471 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 471 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 471 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Santiago Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Santiago Hostel

Property: Don Santiago Hostel
Address: Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago 52252, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 471 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Santiago Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hey fellow travellers!Why staying with us?If you check the reviews, most of them point out our staff as the best. Do you know why? Because they love working at Don Santiago, and that happens when the staff feel secure about what they are 'selling' a We know that staying a hostel is sucha a life experience, we know we have hotel style matresses in dorms and double beds. We do provide the best breakfast in Santiago as follows:Brewed coffee, tea, ginger lemonade.Scrambled eggs varieties: oregano, merken (spice smoked chilli with coriander); and ciboulette.Fresh fruit salad with honey. We are a million miles away from the business-like check-'em-in check-'em-out hostels Staff is fantastically friendly and the house feels like staying in a home with friends where you can relax and play music with the guys there, or just listen to them play.Toilets are cleaned everyday, maybe you will have to wait a bit when the house is full, but usually when people is having breakfast, the rest of people is showering, so it works wellWe don`t push people to buy tours, seriously, Santiago is such a safe city, where you can go anywhere (wineries, beach, Valparaiso) by yourself, and we can get you instructions in order to make it cheaper. However, there are tours available, just ask. =)The house is from 1910, wood floors are creaky, and if you are a light sleeper, we do provide earplugs on request. We are not a party hostel though, please know that. Quiet time starts at 01:00There are no rules in Don Santiago, once again, We do appeal to 'travelers common sense'Welcome to Don Santiago!!!!! , Certificate of Excellence TRIPADVISOR 2012'and remember, what happens in Don Santiago, stays at Don Santiago ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Don Santiago Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing