We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beds”
Review of Hostal de la Barra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal de la Barra
Ranked #60 of 467 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Beds”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Great comfortable beds, great location, hot showers, awesome wifi, and awesome staff. It has a laundry and even has a kitchen stocked with spices and sauces!!! Everything we needed after a week in the jungle and a week in the desert.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Director General at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you very much for writing, it is very important to us and we appreciate it a lot.

HdlB staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    59
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
15
35
77
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

It has a good location, very nice and helpful staff, the breaksfest was ok. We slept in double room and it was too small even for one person. The rooms are very loud, the bathroom smelled very bad. This hotel is a place for globtrotters with the priority of not spending much money. You will not enjoy any comfort here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Gerente at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thank you for writing us.
We define ourselves as a Hostel, not a hotel. For us that means a smaller than a hotel place, no conference room, no spa, no gym, no swimming pools but.....familiar ambience, cozy place, clean as our own home and best location. We are sad you couldnt appreciate the comfort we do offer and se Hope you give US another chance on The future.

We have 4 different sizes of private rooms and apartments. Yours was The smaller and cheapest one. Fits 2 people in single extra largo beds and The spotless bathroom even fits a bath, not just a shower. We are confident its worth The price, at The best location in The city.

No other complains about bathroom smell has been received. IT was checked and works perfectly.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

On arriving in Santiago, I first went to a very bustling hostel around the corner from this one and stayed one night, but upon finding Hostal de la Barra on my second day, I changed accommodation IMMEDIATELY. HDLB is much smaller than its neighbor, but infinitely more comfortable and welcoming: it's always warm inside in winter (when I visited), the beds have DOWN DUVETS (!!), and, best of all, the women who run the operation are incredibly lovely and helpful. I couldn't recommend HDLB more enthusiastically. Also, they were upgrading the interiors when I stayed there, so expect it to be even nicer when you visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, General Manager at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi Seph,

thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review. We are always upgrading the interior to make it as cozy as possible, some ppainting around here, some lights around there, ovens for Tearrie´s pizzas, etc. Hope to see you again around here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Location was prefect, walking distance to most things you want to visit in
downtown,Bellavista,Lastiria and other surrounding neighbourhoods. We walked to Cerra San
Cristabal after strolling the Fruit/vege Markets.Two metro stations within close proximity -
Santa Lucia( Red line) and Belle Artes ( green line)Staff were always helpful and happy. The
only down side was the road noise and the fire station beside the hostel going out at all
times of the night. We seemed to get used to the noise. Great showers- heaps of hot water.
Breakfast was at the cafe next door which was the same each day .Juice,ham and cheese
tostada and a coffee. Enough to keep us going.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Beside the hostel is the 1st fire department of the city, founded almost 200 years ago. It is more historical than operative and they rarely go to a fire. They were celebrating some kind of anniversary so made more noise than neccesary. Sorry for that.

We are happy to have them near the hostel anyway as security is increased to the top.

Thanks again for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here in the low season with a 3 for 2 nights offer. We had the “deluxe” apartment. Nice small apartment with a good bed and a very good TV. Also a good location in the city. The kitchen has two small electric cooking plates (with one broken), which produce almost no heat, so cooking is very limited.
Heating can not be turned on and is done by a timer so we had to wear a jacket in the apartment because it was that cold! They could not adjust it.
The entrance to the apartment is through a large tiled hallway and is also used by other people. It is extremely noisy when people are opening doors and talking at all hours in the night.
Bathroom is nice but for the hot water there is a electric boiler and when it is empty after ten minutes it is only luke warm and it is not enough for two people to shower.
Staff is nice but not very knowledgeable. Wifi is only available near the dorms and not in the apartment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thaddeus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thanks for your review. We are sorry you think it is overpriced. We certainly dont think so.
As described, it is a very nice deluxe apartment that fits up to three people at the best location in the city.

Heating system is programmed to keep the place comfortable but without wasting energy as our enviromental policies are very stricted in all fields where we can make a difference (heating, light, water, towells, trash).Electric kitchen is working perfectly, we have improved the operation instructions shown in the place so will be easier to use it.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

very good hostel is a cozy and clean place near the center of Santiago, near the metro station, making it easy to reach anywhere in the city, the staff very nice and willing to help I recommend it for anyone who wants to know city, besides that I had fun in Santiago, strong breakfast set you up for exploring the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Manager at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you!!! you feedback is very important to us and aprreciate you took the time to leave it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Well located - close to city center, affordable restaurants, 2 metro lines, supermarkets, Bellavista and other tourist spots. Hostel was clean and staff was attentive to guest needs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ant1field
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Owner at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thanks for your review. We hadn´t read a review before talking about the huge amount of restaurantes located less than 7 minutes walking and it is a very important point. OOur own restaurant, the lovely Café de la Barra is a mid-low price option. Our neighbor just 2 doors from hostel one is Opera, one of the most expensive restaurants in Santiago, choosed (again) as the restaurant of the year in the city, but beside in front of it you can eat at the lowest prices in any of the small cafés around there. Then you have a lot of mid price options just two blocks and so on. If you visit our website you can see in the location section some of the restaurants available just around the corner. And if you want to expend less, supermarket is 2 blocks so you can buy your own food to cook in our kitchen for private and shared rooms or in your private kitchen in any of the department. Nice review, thanks for it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#99 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Hotel Panamericano
#58 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Santiago
#68 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#5 of 467 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de la Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de la Barra

Property: Hostal de la Barra
Address: Jose Miguel de la Barra 451, Santiago 8320114, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 467 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal de la Barra 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hostel in Santiago Chile, in Bellas Artes Lastarria neighborhood. Choosing a hostel in Santiago is not an easy task, the city is huge and there are many neighborhoods that "seem" well located but really they are not. Your days and nights will be spent mainly in Bellas Artes Lastarria because main tourist attractions, cultural centers and all the fun is around here. Our quality commitment is to offer the hostel in Santiago with the best location, in a spotless place and with friendly service. And now we also have the most beautiful tourist apartments and... in the same building than the hostel! We are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal de la Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing