We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal de la Barra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal de la Barra
Ranked #57 of 476 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Londrina, PR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I spent 12 days there and it was fantastic. The bed is very comfortable, breakfest is good and the staff is friendly. The location is pretty good, near important touristic points of Santiago.Everything is very clean. The heater was very good and the bed clothes are clean and comfortable. The traffic noise outside is intense, but you'll get used to it. The price is very nice and it's very close to the metro station, bus stop, and you can get a taxi easily in front of the hostel. I hope I can go back there soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitor_Ogawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Manager at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Vitor,

thanks for you kind review. We love you enjoy your stay and thanks again for taking the time to write us.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    58
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
14
35
77
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aracaju, SE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I love the hostal.
It is really confortable secure and clean.
the people that work on the hostal are really friendly and nice.
It is in an amazing location in santiago.the breakfast is really good.
the shared rooms are really good.

i hope i can come back to santiago and stay at this amazing hostal.

Room Tip: Shared room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Gerente at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias Lucas por escribir. Tratamos de que sea un lugar lo más amable posible.
Las personas hacen la diferencia.

saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. We had Room 1 which is an en suite double at the front of the building. The room was good, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean. Because it is at the front of the building there is some traffic noise which disturbed our sleep the first night, but we soon got used to it. Being a hostal there's no aircon and the room got a bit warm with the window closed.
Being in the en suite room we were given a voucher for breakfast in the cafe next door. Breakfast was OK, but they don't open until 8.00am (9.30 at weekends). If you want breakfast before then you can help yourself from the breakfast laid out in the hostal, but it's pretty basic. There are a couple of good, cheap restaurants within 100 metres.
The hostal is very close to the metro station and taxis pass the door so access is very good.
All in all, it's a hostal, not a hotel and very good value for money. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Director General at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us. We hope to see you again.

Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My family stayed in one of their apartments that sleeps 4. It was modern, secure and clean. We speak little Spanish and the staff did their best to communicate and help us. Breakfast was good too. They even honored a price mistake made online to our benefit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Manager at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking a time to write us. It is very important for the team.
We love you and yooir family enjoy the apartment.

Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

It's relatively cheap and close to Bellas Artes metro station. You have to make your own bed, and tear it down in the morning, but as far as hostels go it gets the job done. I guess it almost ensures that you have a clean bed. The bathrooms were decent as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Manager at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
It is certainly a place to stay.
At hostal de la barra you can find hostel kind of bed where you share the room and you make your own bed, among with very well equiped and fancy apartments up to 4 people and also private suites for 2. There a place for everyone at every price.

Thank you very much fro writing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

my experiense in Hostal de La Barra was wonderfull, reception friendly and very kind with the guest.
the location excelent, because is very close at turistic points.
well I have good memori this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helainea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Owner at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you very mucho for writing us. It is very important for the staff.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Good:
- Comfortable beds and warm blankets
- Three computers to use with pretty fast internet (the wifi was good too)
- Great location really close to a metro station

Bad
- Staff is cold and unfriendly (except for one of the cleaning ladies who was lovely!)
- You have to PAY to store your bags after you have stayed there, which is ridiculous for a hostel.. especially one that already charges more than it's really worth
- Breakfast was minimal.. slightly better than just bread and jam, but no where near as good as some of the other hostels.
- It is supposed to be smoke free but the staff were smoking in the common area down stairs
- We had to wait a really long time outside at night to be let in after ringing the bell a number of times.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristiePants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostaldelabarra, Owner at Hostal de la Barra, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Hi Christie,

we are very sorry about the guy smoking. We checked it and you were true so we just took action about it a couple of minutes ago. The staff member was a holiday replacement and unfortunatly wasnt at the height of our standards.

Main part of our staff took their vacations so we are sad replacement didnt work. But staff is BACK!!!

Every issue you named can be true when a staff desobey a main instruction and legal policy as not smoking is. Sorry for your experience but we encourage you to give us a second chance.

Have a good trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#92 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Hotel Panamericano
#59 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Santiago
#73 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#5 of 476 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de la Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de la Barra

Property: Hostal de la Barra
Address: Jose Miguel de la Barra 451, Santiago 8320114, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 476 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal de la Barra 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hostel in Santiago Chile, in Bellas Artes Lastarria neighborhood. Choosing a hostel in Santiago is not an easy task, the city is huge and there are many neighborhoods that "seem" well located but really they are not. Your days and nights will be spent mainly in Bellas Artes Lastarria because main tourist attractions, cultural centers and all the fun is around here. Our quality commitment is to offer the hostel in Santiago with the best location, in a spotless place and with friendly service. And now we also have the most beautiful tourist apartments and... in the same building than the hostel! We are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostal de la Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing