We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever language you speak, you will be personally welcomed as a guest here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade
Ranked #90 of 163 Santiago B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2010

The traveller arriving at L’Ambassade in Santiago will find a home that is lovely, old, and European-styled (see photos below - I took many!).

From the outside it looks like a very pleasant house (on a very short street). It is really a quiet, tiny world in itself, complete with Italianate pool, art and travel books, sunny vistas, and staff people who are exceptionally knowledgeable, imaginative, and friendly. I know it sounds like travel jargon, but it’s true here: whatever language you speak, from the time you ring the buzzer to be let in, you will be personally welcomed as a guest. Do you need dinner or lunch served in? That can be easily arranged, with ingredients to your taste. Breakfast is always delicious - and provided specifically at the time you prefer. Would you like to sink into a comfortable sofa some afternoon and catch up with your email under a vine-covered trellis by the garden, maybe with a slice of cake and a cup of coffee? No problem. Would you like help with taxi-ordering or finding a restaurant? Ask any time. Should you just want some nights in an actual bedroom, that’s fine, too. Longer stays can be accommodated in a small apartment which looks out on the garden.

We found the Providencia section a mix of institutions of different nationalities - and it certainly represents a fine mix of tastes. Walkable food places on the avenue nearby include everything from a tucked away outdoor fruit stand to an open-door sushi bar, Peru and Chinese restaurants, a pizza joint, and thick, fresh fruit smoothies in a new coffee bar.

I can’t think of a more attractive, restful, or delightful base for a stay in Santiago.

Be warned, though: we found that taxi drivers don’t always know how to find Calle Suisse. Being rudimentary Spanish-speakers, we did best by asking to be let off at the 2400 block of Avenida Pedro de Valdivia and then walking to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRose67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

This charming B&B is located in a quiet street in the Providencia neighborhood - safe to walk around, a quick cab ride to the hopping parts of town, and a great place to stay. We quickly found our way around, and the staff was always attentive and helpful and could arrange anything we wanted, and always had great recommendations for dinner, entertainment, etc., with really good English skills.

When we return to Santiago, we'll stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowayMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

That charming little Hotel in Santiago is incredibly well managed. I stayed there 5 nights and every day was very enjoyable. My room with balcony on the backyard and the very roman-like pool, was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very well decorated. Breakfast was healthy and very complete. I recommand that fabulous place for those who want to enjoy a relaxing time, in a beautiful establisment and located in a nice part of the town. For my next trip to Santiago, I will go without hesitation to L'Ambassade.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliQuebec31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We had a wonderful time at L’Ambassade, and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. It is an absolutely charming bed and breakfast tucked away on a quiet side street in the heart of Santiago. The owners Pia , Maria and Adolfo, clearly love what they do and they do their best to make sure guests love their home as much as they do. Our day started with a delicious breakfast of breads, fruit, homemade jams, eggs and more served at our convenience. Time, room or terrace, sun or shade – your pick. Rooms were made up promptly and immaculately. Our room was large and comfortable, almost a suite, decorated with antiques (very tasteful, very French), the bed queen-size, the bathroom luxurious. In addition to a stylish yet very cozy living room, there is also a lovely, peaceful garden around a pool in the back which guests are welcome to enjoy. Pia and Maria were happy to offer suggestions in terms of sights to see and dining experiences. If you’re tired and don’t want to eat out – Maria will spoil you with one of her fantastic homecooked meals. From the moment we arrived, we felt we were among friends. This is a place not to be missed in Santiago.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Hotel L’Ambasse is a beautiful spot in one of Santiagos nicest areas called Providencia. The hotel is a tranquil place to recharge from the day in the hustle and bustle of Santiago.
The three young adorable chilenean-french owners run their hotel with love and a lot of sense for detail. They welcomed us with a warm smile and helped wherever they could.
The building has been a real ambassadors house. It is lovely decorated in the French Maison D’Hotes style and equipped with private bathrooms, WiFi, TV a pool and – for all who want to come in winter – an outdoor-sauna.
It was hard to leave the hotel and its lovely owners at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bastelmaus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

This small hotel offers a quiet, warm, and relaxing stay. The rooms are well appointed and feel personal because they are each individually and tastefully decorated. The windows are large, the ceilings high, and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and beautifully presented- fresh fruit, granola and yogurt, assorted breads, juice, and coffee from a french press. The main room on the first floor is inviting and leads to a small garden and outdoor seating area. There is a pool and a small steam room as well. What truly sets the hotel apart, however, are the three owners. They work tirelessly to make sure that their guests are comfortable and knowledgeable about what there is to do, see, and eat in Santiago. My father and I stayed two days longer then we had originally planned, and we cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathermikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We stayed at Hotel L’Ambassade for two nights in March and we enjoyed it! This small hotel is very pretty, and the suites are beautiful. Lots of space and nicely decorated. The house has a lovely little garden with a beautiful pool! Marie Josee and her family are very friendly hosts. The only drawback to this hotel is that it is located in the south of Providencia, which means that you have to take a taxi if you want to go anywhere. As prices are modest, we do not consider this a problem. The peaceful area where the hotel is located makes up for the taxi rides, as it is very tranquil. Recommended!

Maribelle and Otto

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maribelle_and_Otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Centro Histórico
Hotel Casa Zanartu
Hotel Casa Zanartu
#107 of 202 in Santiago
13 reviews
Nippon Hotel
#109 of 202 in Santiago
173 reviews
Providencia
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
#78 of 202 in Santiago
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel L'Ambassade Bellavista
#36 of 163 in Santiago
11 reviews
Hostal Boonen
#92 of 499 in Santiago
23 reviews
Mito Casa Hotel
#5 of 163 in Santiago
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade

Address: Av Suiza 2084 | Providencia, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range: £58 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing