We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The manager was away, and it showed......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade
Ranked #85 of 160 Santiago B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2011

An atmosphere of ennui pervaded this charming but rather neglected "home from home". The little courtyard swimming pool became ever murkier over the four days of our stay, the cushions sagged further on the outside furniture and breakfast was meted out with difficulty from behind the firmly closed kitchen door. A request for hot milk to accompany coffee was remarked upon, as "les autres clients" always preferred cold, apparently. There was nothing here that some attention to detail could not improve, but the request for another toilet roll in school French should not evoke a sceptical response.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

Having come from the peaceful and laid back atmosphere of San Pedro de Atacama, Santiago felt like a madhouse (going to the fish market at lunch time as our first port of call obviously was not the best choice for gentle easing back into city life). The Petit Hotel was therefore ideal for us - it majors in creating a sense of peaceful seclusion. The Petit Hotel was also our last stop in Chile before heading back home. Spending the morning alternatively dangling my feet in the pool in the sunshine and sitting on our balcony above the garden was the perfect preparation for the afternoon flight. Clearly though the Petit Hotel is not suitable for those who want to be close to the action. However, the hotel is within a few hundred yards of a fairly major road (although far enough away not to be impacted by it) so catching a taxi is very easy indeed. It is worth carrying a map to show your taxi driver where you need to go for the return journey to the hotel - again, the proximity to the major road makes life easy once the driver understands broadly where you are headed.

We found the staff, overall, to be very pleasant and accomodating. The customer orientated outlook of the American staff member nicely balancing the slightly more aloof attitude of those hailing from France (how is that for a fine set of national stereotypes).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We booked L'Ambassade following great Tripadvisor reviews but our stay was disappointing.
1. The main and major drawback is the location: the nearest metro is a 20 mins walk distance, so you will end up either waiting at a bus stop or constantly catching taxis.

2. the area - though residential – is not exciting with very few eating places.

3. We didn’t experience the much praised welcome from the owners. On the opposite, while they were occupied with Spanish- and French-speaking guests, we were largely ignored. The staff were also disappointingly unhelpful with tourist advice, ex. when we were trying to find out about theatres and opera.

We stayed in a room with a 'pool view' for 110USD - overpriced given the location. The room in itself is lovely, and the hotel is done beautifully. But for the reasons above, won’t stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We booked this hotel based on reviews from this website and stayed 3 nights in this Inn. The Inn is located on a very quiet and little street in a residential area. Many taxi drivers did not know where it is located. On our first night getting their, the airport driver did not know the location and had to call for direction. Other times, taxi drivers did not want to take us there from town because they did'nt know the street. There are no real nice restaurants within 15 minutes walking distance where you can get a nice dinner unless you want to take a taxi near the metro station. The breakfast offered was minimal with a few slices of oranges/grapefruit and toast with one cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WSChinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

The traveller arriving at L’Ambassade in Santiago will find a home that is lovely, old, and European-styled (see photos below - I took many!).

From the outside it looks like a very pleasant house (on a very short street). It is really a quiet, tiny world in itself, complete with Italianate pool, art and travel books, sunny vistas, and staff people who are exceptionally knowledgeable, imaginative, and friendly. I know it sounds like travel jargon, but it’s true here: whatever language you speak, from the time you ring the buzzer to be let in, you will be personally welcomed as a guest. Do you need dinner or lunch served in? That can be easily arranged, with ingredients to your taste. Breakfast is always delicious - and provided specifically at the time you prefer. Would you like to sink into a comfortable sofa some afternoon and catch up with your email under a vine-covered trellis by the garden, maybe with a slice of cake and a cup of coffee? No problem. Would you like help with taxi-ordering or finding a restaurant? Ask any time. Should you just want some nights in an actual bedroom, that’s fine, too. Longer stays can be accommodated in a small apartment which looks out on the garden.

We found the Providencia section a mix of institutions of different nationalities - and it certainly represents a fine mix of tastes. Walkable food places on the avenue nearby include everything from a tucked away outdoor fruit stand to an open-door sushi bar, Peru and Chinese restaurants, a pizza joint, and thick, fresh fruit smoothies in a new coffee bar.

I can’t think of a more attractive, restful, or delightful base for a stay in Santiago.

Be warned, though: we found that taxi drivers don’t always know how to find Calle Suisse. Being rudimentary Spanish-speakers, we did best by asking to be let off at the 2400 block of Avenida Pedro de Valdivia and then walking to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRose67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This charming B&B is located in a quiet street in the Providencia neighborhood - safe to walk around, a quick cab ride to the hopping parts of town, and a great place to stay. We quickly found our way around, and the staff was always attentive and helpful and could arrange anything we wanted, and always had great recommendations for dinner, entertainment, etc., with really good English skills.

When we return to Santiago, we'll stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowayMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

That charming little Hotel in Santiago is incredibly well managed. I stayed there 5 nights and every day was very enjoyable. My room with balcony on the backyard and the very roman-like pool, was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very well decorated. Breakfast was healthy and very complete. I recommand that fabulous place for those who want to enjoy a relaxing time, in a beautiful establisment and located in a nice part of the town. For my next trip to Santiago, I will go without hesitation to L'Ambassade.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliQuebec31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Centro Histórico
Hotel Casa Zanartu
Hotel Casa Zanartu
#111 of 202 in Santiago
11 reviews
Providencia
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
#78 of 202 in Santiago
220 reviews
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel L'Ambassade Bellavista
#37 of 160 in Santiago
11 reviews
Providencia
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 160 in Santiago
204 reviews
Providencia
B&B Conchita Flores
B&B Conchita Flores
#23 of 160 in Santiago
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade

Address: Av Suiza 2084 | Providencia, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boutique L'Ambassade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing