We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a hostel...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Providencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Providencia
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's a hostel...”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We usually stay at Hostals or B and B type places but found it hard to find a good one in Santiago so opted for cheap double rooms here. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, the staff were friendly but i wasn't comfortable. It has very much a hostel feel but lacking in the fun of many others. There was a mistake with my booking, the toilets ran out of toilet paper and you could hear every whisper from the rooms next door the walls are so thin. The floors all creak loudly and the road out the front is busy and our windows were dodgy and let all the noise in.

The location is great, just up the road from Bellavista and the hill. For value and location it's good, but i didn't like being here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strunky_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    318
    108
    33
    29
See reviews for
59
197
264
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The position of the hostel is golden, very close to the metros Baquedano and Parque Bustamante. The ambience is great, every day there's some kind of activity of young and outgoing people. This is a great place to make friends while enjoying a cool beer. If you are looking for luxury in comfort on the other hand, this is not the place to do so. Although the bed sheets are clean and there are no bugs or anything, the common bathrooms are dirty and shabby. This is probably reflected in the price, because it is very cheap to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHCH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Friendly & helpful staff, very fun environment, great place to meet new people and new friends.
Lot of activities within the hostel! Centrally located to night life, shopping and food! Close to public transit,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hintona13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a private room and found it suited our needs for our last few days in Chile. We’d previously stayed at more expensive hostels with private bathrooms but value for money, Provadencia is perfect. It was clean and tidy and there were plenty of bathrooms so it wasn’t a problem getting a shower. It’s a huge, old rambling place and popular with the backpacker crowd. Breakfast wasn’t bad either, bread, jam & a mix of fruits. It’s a short walk to Plaza De Armas or a couple of stops on the metro. The only drawback on the 2nd night was our room faced the patio area and it was past 4.00am when we finally got to sleep. The people outside weren’t that noisy but you could hear them clearly, 2 floors up. I’d recommend a room facing the road as it’ll be quieter and avoid room 21 if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: Get a road facing view, not one that faces the courtyard as too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The hostal ir very confortable, has a great kitchen, very friendly staff and good rooms and badrooms. The location is perfect, next to the subway and to Bellavista. Lots of places to eat, have a drink and visit. It is excelent!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a cute building and a good area. But it's so loud.
The hostel is on 2 levels.
There are dozens of young backpackers at this place. They were extremely loud and inconsiderate of other travellers. They slammed doors and were playing music and running around well after midnight. The staff did nothing to try and alleviate the noise.
The single rooms are a good price but they are tiny with paper thin walls.
Breakfast is basic.
Unless you are a solid sleeper do not sleep here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Owner at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Binvive,

Thanks for you comment. Our policy is no noise after midnight every day. We do tours & activities every day but untill 23:30hrs. then people go out to Bellavista that is very close.
Im sorry you coudn´t sleep well. We have 14 Deluxe rooms in the new building that are much better than in are Patrimonial house.

Any way, we have increased controll after midnight.

Thanks,

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Extremely helpful staff, great setting. Clean kitchen area, very useable community areas. Hot showers, breakfast good. Wonderful central location to explore Santiago. Activities organized for guests. Prompt public internet facilities. Plenty of rubbish bins. Cleaned daily.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#93 of 198 in Santiago
590 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#64 of 198 in Santiago
3,865 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#6 of 475 in Santiago
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#57 of 475 in Santiago
189 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 475 in Santiago
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Providencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Providencia

Property: Hostal Providencia
Address: Vicuna Mackenna 92 | Región Metropolitana, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 475 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Providencia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Providencia: a home away from home for travelers and backpackers in Santiago de Chile! With the perfect location, varied breakfast, comfy beds, spacious and decorated common areas, a cozy bar and an efficient staff, Hostal Providencia guarantees you a pleasant and fun experience with the best price-quality of the city. We are located in the heart of Santiago, just 5 minute-walk from Plaza Italia, Baquedano metro station and the neighborhood of Bellavista, where you will find the best nightlife with many pubs, bars and restaurants. Hostal Providencia stands out for its capacity and big variety of rooms. We have shared dorms (new ones have USB and own light points) and privates single, double, triple and family (4, 5 and 6 people), all with private or shared bathroom option. You can also choose the standard economic type -a large heritage house- or superior - more like a hotel with 32 "plasma TV and central heating. Another great attraction is our unforgettable activities: nights of "terremotos" (typical Chilean drink), pisco sour, pasta and wine, hamburgers, fajitas, choripan, hot dogs, risotto, wine tasting and much more! Other services: Safe 24h reception (entrance with swivel) Breakfast (buffet) WIFI throughout the hostel Multilingual Staff Bed linen and towel Daily cleaning Two full eqquiped kitchens Free national and international calls (landlines) Info & Tours Bar Laundry (additional cost) Kitchenette Free tea all day Computers Printing service Vendomatica (snacks and drinks) Fussball Two patios (smoking areas) Book Exchange Wii Do not think twice: We don’t only provide you a nice stay, we give you an experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Providencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing