We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff but lousy walls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Providencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Providencia
Certificate of Excellence
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff but lousy walls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

the hostel is great, it has a great, helpfull and friendly staff, a decent breakfast and it's on a central spot in the city. it has, however, really thin walls that compromises the sense of privacy. and in some cases, as was ours, some noisy neighbours can be annoying. even though, it has a great atmosphere and is really worthy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Breno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, receptionista at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your comments and avices, we try everyday to make better for our customers
We hope to see you another time in Santiago
See you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    309
    103
    33
    29
See reviews for
56
194
257
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was booked in a private from for 2 nights. The room was good, but a bit a cold during winter. So layers help! Reception staff was friendly, though a little bit chaotic trying to deal with several customers at a time. So you might have to wait.
Breakfast was ok. Location is close to Plaza Italia, so pretty central.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xplorenewshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for just over a week whilst looking for a more permanent place to live. The staff were always friendly, helpful and a good laugh. Comfy common area to relax in, fantastic breakfast where you can cook your eggs to your liking and a decently equipped kitchen for preparing your own meals.
The hostel's in a central area, close to the metro and Bella vista (bars, restaurants etc.) I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Hey, Natalie!

Thank you very much for your comment.
Hope to see you soon!

Best regards! (:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Hostel Providencia is really a good place to stay: big but familiar, perfectly located, well organized, with great breakfast, very helpful staff, a lot of space and light, bike rental, people cleaning every day.... I can't say anything bad. I felt home and comfortable.
Just a suggestion: it's a big umid house... Some heating was necessary for me in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnabiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
AnabiB!

Thank you very much for your comment. (:
Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I spent two weeks here and absolutely loved it. The location is great. It offers a social environment, but also peace and quiet in a clean room. The staff went out of their way to create a welcoming and fun environment. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

For me the worst hostel I ever went to, the common rooms are very nice and the location is also really good, but the bathrooms and showers get cleaned really late, so as they only have like two showers for 10 rooms before 15 o'clock they are really dirty... The beds are also not really the best, but they are ok for a hostel. But these are all things that I can accept when I go to a hostel… what really annoyed me was the staff, they seemed to be super friendly but they were like in their own group and guests didn’t seem to be really welcome. So in our first night we asked where to go out, and if we could get a drink in the hostel bar, but their answer was: “no today we are making a private party because the hostel became 6 years old” (and guests are not invited??). Other times they sat in the common rooms with their friends as if they were in their own house, and they didn’t even say hello when you came in. I think you can do this in an hotel, but not in an hostel, this violates the philosophy of an hostel, where you don’t care about if it’s clean or not, because you meet cool new people and the staff is nice and not only wants your name and passport number for the check in.
Next time I will try another one in Santiago

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent 5 days in this hotel and tried 3 rooms. This hotel is excellent, very friendly and welcoming; people are wonderful and everything is clean and useful. Lot of services for free : coffee, tea, international phone, towels, Wi-Fi, huge breakfast, TV, computer....
We strongly recommend this hotel to stay in Santiago.
In addition, the hotel is very well placed (near to the metro and shops, closed to center)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biketsworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#90 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#66 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#53 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#5 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Landay Hostel
#69 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Providencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Providencia

Property: Hostal Providencia
Address: Vicuna Mackenna 92 | Región Metropolitana, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Providencia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Providencia: a home away from home for travelers and backpackers in Santiago de Chile! With the perfect location, varied breakfast, comfy beds, spacious and decorated common areas, a cozy bar and an efficient staff, Hostal Providencia guarantees you a pleasant and fun experience with the best price-quality of the city. We are located in the heart of Santiago, just 5 minute-walk from Plaza Italia, Baquedano metro station and the neighborhood of Bellavista, where you will find the best nightlife with many pubs, bars and restaurants. Hostal Providencia stands out for its capacity and big variety of rooms. We have shared dorms (new ones have USB and own light points) and privates single, double, triple and family (4, 5 and 6 people), all with private or shared bathroom option. You can also choose the standard economic type -a large heritage house- or superior - more like a hotel with 32 "plasma TV and central heating. Another great attraction is our unforgettable activities: nights of "terremotos" (typical Chilean drink), pisco sour, pasta and wine, hamburgers, fajitas, choripan, hot dogs, risotto, wine tasting and much more! Other services: Safe 24h reception (entrance with swivel) Breakfast (buffet) WIFI throughout the hostel Multilingual Staff Bed linen and towel Daily cleaning Two full eqquiped kitchens Free national and international calls (landlines) Info & Tours Bar Laundry (additional cost) Kitchenette Free tea all day Computers Printing service Vendomatica (snacks and drinks) Fussball Two patios (smoking areas) Book Exchange Wii Do not think twice: We don’t only provide you a nice stay, we give you an experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Providencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing