We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Santiago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Lucia Suites
Ranked #187 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Búzios
1 review
“The best place to stay in Santiago”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is seriously the best place to stay in Santiago. The staff is very helpful and can help you with everything you might need, from nightlife to day tours. The rooms are spacious, clean and the matresses are so comfortable that I miss the bed back at home. We stayed for 5 nights in the beginning of our trip thru Chile and we came back on our last night to get our flight.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esthercarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    18
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
22
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. I can't comment on the dorms or shared facilities, but we had an ensuite double room which was clean, light and airy, and even had cable TV. The kitchen and breakfast area were good, and breakfast was fine if nothing special (bread and fruit). The staff were friendly and they offer a 20% discount for volunteers which makes it a really good deal. The only problem we had was on the night we stayed in and tried to get an early night - the rooms on the top floor are very noisy from the roof terrace door, and there was a big party up there the night we were in.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Santa Lucia hostel is the best located. Their suites are clean comfortable and gret view to santa lucia hil. It's stuff it's great, make you as at home. They help us making a great trip to Patagonia. Definitely a place to recommend for experience travelers!!!

Room Tip: Suites 11 or 12
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Experiencess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Quite expensive for what it is. Staff hang around in the common area as if it were their lounge. You also get the impression they just don't care. Also the lockers have seen better days. Does the job though and I love the location.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euanontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I stayed at this hostel for over two weeks as I was planning the next part of trip and had to wait for a visa. I could not have found a better place to wait - the hostel itself is clean and well maintained, and it has a warm and welcoming vibe - the staff are so nice and helpful, it felt like I was hanging out with old friends. There is a great terrace on the roof, which looks out onto Santa Lucia Hill, and there was a rooftop barbeque during my stay ($6 each for all you can eat plus beer) which was good fun. The location is also really central, there is a market place across the road for last minute souvenir shopping and you´re in walking distance to lots of good restaurants and tourist attractions. There is also a metro station really close by which is always useful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k0alita87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Stayed one night in a shared 6-bed dorm. Cramped as expected, but the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean. The bathrooms could be cleaner, but at the rates you pay it was reasonable. The staff were friendly if you were friendly to them. Excellent location a minute or two from the Santa Lucia metro stop and next to Santia Lucia Hill. Walking distance from a lot of great restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demonsavatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

this place had some good reviews and looked good on their website -- the pictures are deceiving and we don't know what those good review writers were thinking. this was by far one of the worst places we have stayed at during our eight month trip in south america. the staff are friendly for the first two minutes upon arrival. thereafter, you are only met with sour faces and blank stares. the staff themselves take over the common room (with their friends over) as well as the kitchen and meet you with disapproval should you try to share the oven or counter space. the breakfast is not worth waking up for. the rooms are awful, sterile, the cheap white walls have plaster so sharp it grazes your skin and tears your bags if they lean up against it. the sheets feel unwashed and should you pay more for a private bathroom, the tiny step-in-sideways box is never cleaned anyway so you have to either put up with the stench of a toilet-paper filled waste basket for however long you are staying or throw it out yourself. surprising, as the online site promises bathrooms that are cleaned five times a day and even once during the night. not so! the only saving grace is the rooftop, but even up there, the promised grill is not working and pushed off to the corner. there's one good thing about this hostel and that is the location. so you'd be better off looking for a place around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aaaaahh_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#125 of 196 in Santiago
137 reviews
Santa Lucia
Poker Hostal
Poker Hostal
#25 of 478 in Santiago
83 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 478 in Santiago
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Aji Hostel
Aji Hostel
#35 of 478 in Santiago
222 reviews
Plaza Paris Amistar
#8 of 158 in Santiago
196 reviews
Santa Lucia
Apart Hotel Agustinas Plaza
Apart Hotel Agustinas Plaza
#41 of 158 in Santiago
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Lucia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lucia Suites

Property: Hostel Lucia Suites
Address: Santa Lucia 168, Santiago 8320222, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Santa Lucia, offers the best location at downtown Santiago, in front of Santa Lucia´s Hill and 1 block from metro station Santa Lucia. We are known for having the best mattresses of the city in a cozy ambiance. Our bilingual workers helps everyone making their trips. Also we have roof top terrace with wonderful view & BBQ, breakfast is included, free internet, Wifi and the most helpful workers. Try it - you won't regret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Lucia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing