We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel in the historic Lastarria barrio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lastarria 43/61

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lastarria 43/61
Ranked #18 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel in the historic Lastarria barrio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed three times here whilst we were travelling around South America. The apartments were very clean and nicely furnished. The staff were always very helpful, especially Christobal, who spoke excellent English. Otherwise you needed some basic Spanish to communicate with the other staff. The position of the hotel is excellent, close to very good restaurants, metro, historic sites, parks, and Cerro Santa Lucia. We left and arrived at very odd hours which was never a problem with their 24 hour reception. Also we felt very secure there. Strongly recommend this boutique hotel for a short or longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchtoowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    110
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
84
102
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent seven days at the Lastarria 61. I believe it is a little newer than 43. They are adjacent to each other and run as a single unit. We arrived late in the evening on a weekend for check-in, however, Elizabeth was waiting for us and quickly got us settled in. We had an issue with the safe (the pervious guest locked it and left) so we had to wait till morning for someone to get it opened. No big deal. It was very cold inside the suite that night so the next day we enquired about the heat. We were told the building heat had been shut off for spring a couple of weeks ago. They gladly brought us a space heater which worked just perfectly to keep us warm and cozy. There were a couple of burned out light bulbs that were quickly replaced. In reality, whatever we requested was responded to quickly, professionally and with a friendly disposition - even if we were communicating by hand signals. Our fault for not speaking Spanish. The internet wi-fi worked well and was no problem.
There was usually someone on the front desk to help out with phone calls, taxis, etc. If not, we could go next door to 41 where the admin office was located.
Christopher, the young man at our front desk most afternoons spoke very good English and was always more than willing to help in any way whatsoever.
We had read the reviews about some issues on paying the bill, so knowing that we would be checking out on a Sunday, I contacted Karen at the admin office. She suggested we come by Friday afternoon to settle up. We had no problem putting the entire amount on our Visa card and verified that the Chilean Peso worked out to the correct USD amount.
The cleaning ladies were friendly and thorough and always waited till we went out for the day before bothering us with the housekeeping. They supplied clean towels when requested but didn't change the bedding. We left a man's sports coat to be dry cleaned and it was returned the next day in great condition. The added cost to the bill was $12.00 USD; far cheaper than any cleaning done in North America.
Lastarria 61 is within the heart of a trendy neighbourhood surrounded by great restaurants, kitchy boutiques, coffee bars and lots of local artisan shops. There is also a "U" supermarket just a couple of blocks away and a subway stop right around the corner. The subways in Santiago are clean and as safe as any public transit can be in a large city.
I would highly recommend this apartment hotel if you are spending any amount of time in Santiago and want to do some cooking for yourself. The kitchen was well stocked and everything was in good working condition.
On another positive note, the shower was the best I have experienced in a long time.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the inner suites that look down into the inside courtyard. There are no real windows t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed in Lastarria 43 (there are two properties - 43 and 61 - right next to one another). We had a two bedroom apartment with small kitchen and bathroom for 5 days. It was great. Great neighborhood - could walk everywhere or get cabs easily. If you do have a car, you probably won't use it. There are lots of restaurants and sights that are walkable from the place. They have free wi-fi and the place was very clean and comfortable. It's noisy because it's on a popular walking street but that is why it was such a great location. They have nice thick windows so it kept the noise out pretty well. They control the temperature centrally so you didn't have control over heating/cooling although that wasn't an issue for us. Nice shower with good hot water. Tip - being your own hair dryer if you want one and also bring conditioner because all you get is a small thing of shower gel and shampoo and one bar of soap. Would definitely come back. One of our friend stayed in Lastarria 61 on the top floor and had an amazing outdoor terrace. We didn't have any outdoor space.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jms760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Lovely apartment on top floor that accommodated our family of 5 very well (we were tight but very comfortable), wifi not great but signal varies throughout the day, found the staff very helpful and lovely, especially Tomi who speaks very good english . These apartments are very well located with probably some of the better restaurants very close by. We went for a run in the large park close by and found it a really nice place for exercise. We stayed for 5 days whilst we were skiing and found these apartments suited our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Great place for families in an ideal location. These apartments were probably the best value for mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The apartment was quite good, nothing to complain. There is no breakfast, but there is a supermarket nearby. They claim to have parking, but in fact it is a public parking on the same street (6000 Chilean pesos per night). Also, it's not in a very secure place: we here robbed just in front of the hotel when putting things to the car (the receptionist of the hotel does NOT see what is happening outside, there is a door with an inter-phone and no windows).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in 61 Lastarria - just down the street from Lastarria 43.
There is no lift but the staff were very helpful in taking our luggage up when we checked in & carrying it down again when we checked out.
Apartment was in very good condition & the daily service was excellent & non-intrusive (always happened while we were out.) Laundry service of our clothes was excellent.
It's in a great location - very close to public transport, lots of great restaurants/cafes nearby, walking distance to interesting locations (galleries, parks, etc.)
Tomi the manager was especially helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandda5561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The apartments look lovely and the location is fantastic but it is managed like Fawlty Towers.

Management doesn't ask or warn guests when doing maintenance in the apartments, which is often. I returned from a weekend away to discover someone else's belongings in the apartment. When I asked about this I was told that the maintenance man had forgotten his things when he was in the apartment while I was away. Two days later, I returned to the apartment hoping for a couple of hours of peace and privacy and found the maintenance man and a locksmith in the apartment dismantling the lock. When I asked if they could warn me in advance of non-emergency maintenance calls, I was told this was impossible. There have been five visits in the past seven days to turn on the heating for the winter and perform unidentified maintenance on the lock. Other than poor management, I can't see why this couldn't have been done in one visit with forewarning.

During our extended stay, we have also discovered that there are panic buttons in the apartments that set off alarms in the middle of the night. Unfortunately, two different sets of neighbors mistook the panic buttons for light switches. This happened once in the middle of the night and calls to the desk downstairs went unanswered while the alarm went off for 40 minutes. After six weeks living here, I am still not clear on when or whether someone is expected to be at the front desk which is a problem because the only way to receive phone calls is through the front desk.

When they can be found, the staff are nice, honest and well meaning but they clearly haven't had much training. This was problematic when the internet went down and they didn't know where all the routers were located...

There is noise until the restaurants on Lastarria slow down after about midnight.

This could be a great place if management were organized, professional and service-oriented.

Room Tip: In Lastarria 61, apartement #s that end in 2 or 3 face onto the side street so there is less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overworkedinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 197 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Ismael 312
Hotel Ismael 312
#14 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Hotel Loreto
#20 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#67 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
RQ Santiago
#47 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 197 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lastarria 43/61? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lastarria 43/61

Property: Lastarria 43/61
Address: Jose Victorino Lastarria 43-61, Santiago 8320165, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lastarria 43/61 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious cultural and historic quarter of Santiago, Lastarria 43 & 61 are surrounded by excellent views as well as numerous restaurants, galleries, and many of the city’s must-see attractions. Belonging to the National Architectural Heritage, both buildings have been restored from old homes. Lastarria 43, the older of the two, combines the charm of old world design with today’s comforts, while Lastarria 61 brings a modern feel to its classic architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Lastarria 43/61 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing