We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hostal el raco”
Review of Hostal el Raco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal el Raco
Ranked #169 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This I a great hostel maybe 10 small blocks walk to the centre. But it has local shops, bars, cafes nearby you would probably never see if not staying here. The hostel itself I found very clean. My room was large with double bed and ensuite. Wifi was fast, room had Tv though I did not use it. The staff were friendly and polite. There were also extremely helpful. At about £15 per night with breakfast included this was teriffic value. An absolute gem.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank CraigsdSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We arrived late, but received a smiling welcome.

Our large double room with ensuite shower was spotless and warm.

Staff provided us with a sit down breakfast albeit simple it was at 5.30am, so thanks for that.

A little street noise at night but that was probably due to the start of the Easter holiday, rather than the norm.

We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: If having to shower early, you need to call reception (ext 200) to request hot water be turned on!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

we did not have high expectations given some of the reviews but even this didnt prepare us for what we found. Dirty sheets, dirty bathroom with only cold waater to shower in. The walls are so thin we could hear people down the hall let alone next door. Its cheap for Santiago hence the two stars but I would not recommend this place and suggest you look elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank adlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The people are very kind and service is good. However, do not expect the hostal to look as it does on the website. Wireless internet was not available nor can you place calls to cell phones from the hotel (even for a charge). Breakfast was basic and the house is quite old and a bit shabby, but ok for the price. Barrio Yungay can be dangerous at night, so beware. There are not many businesses around this area, so you are better off in nearby Barrio Brasil.
Hot water was often not available for showers. Very small rooms and dark house.
They do often transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I really liked the hostal, the familiar environment and the nice decoration called my attencion. The room I stayed was very cozy.
Besides the great attention of the owner and the other employees.
However if you are looking for a hostal close to a lot of bars and restaurant, this place is not for you. When I arrieved at night I could find only one opn restaurant close to the hostal.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiacarvalho_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Luna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matías C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Dacarlo
#137 of 202 in Santiago
86 reviews
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#115 of 202 in Santiago
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#16 of 499 in Santiago
549 reviews
Landay Hostel
#73 of 499 in Santiago
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal el Raco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal el Raco

Address: Santo Domingo # 2816, Santiago 8350377, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing