We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel, very intimate, close to airport.”
Review of Intiwasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Intiwasi Hotel
Ranked #127 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Centrally located a stroll to bus or subway this quaint boutique hotel has pleasant rooms and breakfast on site. Rooms are compact as is bathroom, but free internet and safe and a quiet residential location.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Intiwasi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Intiwasi for a total of 5 nights as we were crisscrossing Chile in December. It is a weird amalgam - not exactly a hostel nor a hotel and since TripAdvisor does not allow for fractional ratings, I would mention that Intiwasi is probably somewhere between 3.5 & 3.75. 4 is probably a bit too high and anything like than 3.5, IMO, is a bit unfair.

Here are some things we really liked
a) Location: Can't be beat period. It is right in the middle of the Providencia neighborhood, an upper middle class area with great shopping, bakeries, restaurants and the Metro all a few minutes away. We too the Metro (Los Leones) everyday and never had to look for a cab except to get to the Airport. The location alone was worth the stay

b) Price - Santiago and Chile turned out to be surprisingly expensive and given the average cost of Hotels, the Intiwasi is very affordable especially if you are staying for a while.

c) Service - The staff were very courteous, helpful & friendly, spoke good English, helped store our luggage when we traveled and provided some nice local tips. They were very prompt in responding to our requests. No complaints on this regard. They also have an in house laundry with rapid turnaround times, a boon for those traveling a lot.

d) Cleanliness - Both the rooms and the hotel was pretty clean and we did not have any complaints.

Some Cons:

a) If you have not stayed in a hostel before and expect a standard full service hotel you may be slightly disappointed. You may need to make multiple trips to the front desk got towels, irons, floor mats etc. There are also no phones in the room (The A/C worked very well, a blessing in hot Santiago). Also, If you are turned off by throwing toilet paper waste into a bin rather than the toilet, this may be a bit of a shock for you :-)

c) The hotel is off the main thoroughfare, but it is on a connecting road that may be a bit noisy especially if you leave the balcony door open. Also, this is a big City with the usual big city noises like car alarms etc

d) My biggest complaint has to be the shower stall. Others have reviewed this before and it is really really small, literally 3 ft long and a 1.5 ft wide. to make matters worse there is a jutting safety bar that makes navigation even harder. Not the end of the world, but something to think about


Overall I would definitely stay again and recommend this place to others

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcvadhool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we knew we shouldn't had.
The best part of the stay was the night receptionist who was super friendly and accommodating, unfortunately the lady staff member was not.
We arrived at 1am, due to our flight time and as we arrived the man said oh no, you have booked for tomorrow. As we presented the email confirming the right time and day, he sorted it out and said "lucky we had a room available"... Lucky? Not lucky, number one stuff up on your part.
We were then shown to the worlds smallest room that you couldn't even swing a cat in. Literally. I wasn't going to fight with reception at 2am by this stage so wait till morning.
In the morning we realised the toilet was not working, to then we see the small sign stating "no bath tissue". What is bath tissue? It's called "toilet paper". So for a boutique hotel as you suggest you are, we then have to use the worlds smallest bin to dispose of our toilet paper. DISGUSTING. You are not a third world city, and no other place in chile did we have to do this. Especially at hotels?!
We were then told to move to another room, to which I brought up we needed to move anyway as we have the email clearly stating that we had booked the "King superior" and not the "single room"... We are on our honeymoon, not backpacking!
They then went to say "ah well, our mistake, you will need to move back to the other room tomorrow". Excuse me? No this is what we booked and paid for and you should honour this. Nope, by the end if the day our things had been moved back to the other single room and we had to stay there. Needless to say we were so frustrated, angry and helpless as what can you do?
Both bathrooms we used are poor. The showers are built for tiny people and the toilet is so close to the wall you have to sit on it sideways. Very "hostel" like. The shower in the king room, doesn't take the water down the plug hole well. You end up ankle deep in water, it's disgusting. Stop spending money on decoration and start investing in your plumbing system.
You are not a "hotel", and especially not a "boutique" one. You are an upgraded boutique "Hostel" and should be advertising at this as a boutique hotel is false advertisement. Yes you have nice decorations but that's about it.
Much nicer "boutique hotels" in the neighborhood, but if you want a glammed up hostel, this is for you.
When asked if we could get a DVD to watch as it clearly stated on the DVD player, the woman rudely said "no, no DVDs". Then take away the sign.
Breakfast was nice, though your choice of toast or cereal were the only choices.
Unfortunately we didn't have a good experience and we told staff this so this should come as no surprise.


Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank margs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntiWasiSantiago, Gerente at Intiwasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Mr Felvus,

I'm sorry about how this problem affected the circumstances of your trip. But l would like to clarify some points expressed in your critic which I consider to be exaggerated.

It is true that we couldn't offer you the booked room, so we are really sorry about that misunderstood. As it was an e-mail booking, we were offering the wrong room, that was our mistake indeed.

As we were unable to meet your stay requirements, we kindly offered to look for another hotel for you, but you refused. There were also no complaints about the room until now.

Our rooms are not big, therefore they are not being offered as that. The room has a correct size, it has enough space for moving and a big closet for the luggage. If the guest is a big and tall person, the experience may change, but never downgraded as you suggest. I would also like to add that we have published several pictures in our website and third parties channels showing exactly what we offer, even the bathroom sizes.

Mr, if you want your room ready after midnight, you must book the night before. In fact it was luck that we had one room available. I'm sorry about that, but we couln't help more.

I'm sorry to contradict you, but the bathroom was working fine because our maid cleaned it the last morning. The toilet bowl was blocked due to your misuse and the repairs cost more than 100 usd to us, amount Not charged into your bill. The paper you describe was placed there for temporary use. There was a permanent, well detailed sign indicating the correct use of the bathroom. Unlike other countries, due to technical facts, in almost every place it's necessary a bin next to the toilet. The bin was clean and it was changed daily. Your appreciation seems a bit out of place.

In fact, we are allowed to work as a hotel by Sernatur (national tourism institution) and all our municipal permissions. We meet all the requirements for either services and Infraestructure. Not all the hotels are the same, Boutique hotels established in Old Houses are susceptible to some dimension restrictions, specially those related to bath and room sizes. Our hotel is for everyone, backpackers, people on holidays and business, young and mature couples, single travellers, families, etc. We are not a hostel because we offer a superior range of services and comfort. Hotels not always are big buildings with a lot of rooms. If you felt it like something closer and homey, that's welcomed. There is no point to delve into the concepts you've been mentioning about the decoration and accommodation.

We will fix that shower straight away. Any plumbing problem is reparied once reported.

Our rates are very competitive, even for this premium area. A much nicer 4-5 star boutique hotel will cost you more than twice, probably without our location benefits.

I regret the way her response was received, though you did not show much cordiality either, lacking in respect at times. Nevertheless, the intention was not to be rude, that's for sure.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo F.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the minute my daughter and I walked in the door to the moment we left, we felt totally at home at Intiwasi Hotel. The staff were terrifically helpful and friendly--giving us excellent information and making tour arrangements for us so we could best use our short time in Santiago. Our room was comfortable, quiet, and attractively decorated--as were all the common rooms in the hotel. The self-serve breakfast was ample and tasty. Not knowing much about the city before our arrival, we felt so fortunate to have landed in a beautiful and tranquil neighborhood that was just a few short blocks from a bustling commercial district and a 6-level modern urban mall with stores, movie theaters, and restaurants galore. Intiwasi provided the perfect home base as we became acquainted with this vibrant city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a queen room.
Not a hotel, more a B&B.
Room had an ensuite, flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, although I could not connect with my device.
A common room computer was also available for internet use.
Ensuite was small but functional enough. Shower was hot.
Breakfast consisted of tea, coffee, bread, yoghurt and was served in the dining room upstairs.
Security seemed good. Key had to be left at front desk when leaving and you had to ring the front door buzzer to be let back in.
Location is excellent - close to Providencia shopping precincts, including large mall. Bus stop for hop-on, hop-off tourist bus just down the road.
Staff were friendly and attentive but did not impose on privacy.
Major negative was noise - able to hear movement from upstairs.
Overall a nice little spot for those not requiring the fancy hotel experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CareerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I can't say enough good about this property! From the great front desk personnel to the courteous and good looking owner Victoria, the service was first rate. My room was clean, cool during the hot summer days and very comfortable. The front desk welcomed me with a late check-in, (approx 11:30), and a very early departure, (approx 3:30) Such were my travel times...

If you want a very pleasant experience in a small, boutique hotel in the Providencia area of Santiago, I highly recommend this fine establishment.

Don't miss out!!

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor off the interior courtyard and it was very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntiWasiSantiago, Propietario at Intiwasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Rambler,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at the hotel. We are truly delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My brother and I stayed at the Intiwasi Hotel for two nights earlier this month while on holiday in Chile. Above all other features, the Intiwasi Hotel is in the perfect location: on a quiet, tree lined residential street only two or three short blocks from Avenida Providencia. As others reviewers have noted, the hotel is comfortable - almost like being in someone's home - but perhaps more a hostel than a hotel by Chilean standards. We found the service to be excellent; the staff was happy to engage in conversation, help with directions and offer suggestions. Rooms were simple, clean and quiet - and as promised very affordable. While the Intiwasi exceeded our expectations, the hotel is certainly not for everyone. If you're the type of person (like me) that feels compelled to clear his own breakfast plate and tidy up the table for the next guest you'll feel right at home. If you want to be waited on, there is probably a more expensive hotel a few blocks away that is better for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madwhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntiWasiSantiago, Propietario at Intiwasi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Guests,

It's a pleasure for us to read your experience! Thank you for pointing out our location which is really a good reason! As expressed in other comments, in April 2012 we have fully turned into a boutique hotel, so those low points have been improved a lot, for example now breakfast is a continental buffet hosted by a chef (and rates still affordables!)

We are always willing to engage in conversation with our guest as this is what makes us different!

We hope you come over again.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
WE Hotel
#100 of 202 in Santiago
92 reviews
Hotel Maria Angola
#119 of 202 in Santiago
76 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Sommelier Express
Hotel Sommelier Express
#87 of 202 in Santiago
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oporto Boutique Hotel
#126 of 202 in Santiago
203 reviews
Presidente Hotel Santiago
#101 of 202 in Santiago
358 reviews
Providencia
Los Espanoles Hotel
Los Espanoles Hotel
#90 of 202 in Santiago
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intiwasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intiwasi Hotel

Address: Josue Smith Solar 380, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: £44 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Intiwasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old house from the forties transformed into a cozy and homey hotel, central location in Providencia one step away from the Metro system and a wide range of services. We offer a design Boutique Hotel inspired by native and natural elements, modern spaces and premises, equipped rooms with good standard to satisfy your rest and stay. Enjoy of an exquisite coffee in our terraces and garden or take a delight in the elaborated and special menu by the restaurant, where you will taste the best regional ingredients accompanied by an original presentation. We award you the most essential and dedicated services along with a personalized attention. We look forward to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Intiwasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing