We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Ibis, but far from Central Santiago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Santiago Estacion Central
Ranked #75 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This Ibis could not be more conveniently located to transit in Santiago--it is INSIDE the bus station. We rode into Santiago from Vina del Mar and found that our hotel was literally 20 steps from where our bus pulled in. So. It has that going for it!

It also has a lot of other things going for it: this Ibis is very clean, has a friendly staff, and it is close to malls, markets, cheap restaurants, and lots of other conveniences. It is far from the center of Santiago, but you can easily walk to the city center since the hotel is located right on the main drag thru town and there is sidewalk and other pedestrians the whole way. It takes about 40 min. Or you can just hop on the subway which is about a block away. There are tons of buses as well.

We were put in an accessible room on the second floor. We are tall so the bathroom was a little awkward but it was very clean and we got used to it after 4 nights.

A saxophonist sets up directly below the window of this room every morning during rush hour. We had a few late nights in Santiago so waking up to that every day wasn't that great.

Being so close to the bus station you are right in the middle of the action, so the room doesn't feel that private--if you open your curtains you are really, really close to a ton of people. However, that means that the hotel feels very safe--it's never deserted, even late at night. During the day, this area is actually wildly crowded, because of all the markets, so if you don't like crowds greeting you the moment you exit your hotel, I would stay elsewhere.

If you are in Santiago to enjoy the tourist sites, I would suggest Providencia's Ibis, which is closer to the center. We are going to try that one next time.

Santiago is a super fun city. It reminded me a lot of LA. It takes forever to get around. Choose your neighborhood carefully or you'll spend the whole time getting from A to B. :-)

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 2,064 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and I were guests in this hotel in December 2012.
As we were getting in Santiago from Mendoza by bus, is was great to have our hotel only a few step away.
And we planned to go to Viña Del Mar and Valparaíso also by bus which was easier by been close to the station.
The hotel staff was kind, they just made one mistake not reading my voucher entirely and trying to charge for the breakfast that was included, by this little mistake was undone when I showed the voucher again.
We were at the fifth floor and the noise from the bus station was NOT a problem.
There is a food court inside the bus station with only fast food options.
The breakfast was really good and we could also have some dishes from the restaurant for dinner. The dinner was average, nothing special, but edible.
Well, there is a shopping mall 1 block from this hotel, where you can eat at the Bariloche restaurant to have a nice dinner and this mall has a great view from the city.
Also you can reach a subway station half block away.
The supermarket is about two big blocks away.
There is always a lot of people in the sidewalk in the area, but we didn't have any trouble.
The front desk could manage a taxi to take us to the airport early in the morning and aparently they work with a fixed price (11000 chilean pesos) which I think is fair.
It's not the be the best locatiopn in town if you're not gonna use the bus station frequently, but as I used this a lot, it was perfect for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leticia_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS SANTIAGO E, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Client,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Santiago Estación Central. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carloscacunda
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBIS SANTIAGO E, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The main advantage of this hotel is that it is right next to a major bus terminal (for the airport and other towns) and to the metro, to visit other parts of the city. It is like other Ibis hotels: modern and clean , but without luxuries. The buffet breakfast is good value at 5.50 euros. Although we were on the 6th floor, we could hear the traffic a bit, together with the street dogs at times. The area is a bit rundown, but safe. We ate near the rail station, 10 mins walk away.

Room Tip: On a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtriBit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS SANTIAGO E, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Client,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Santiago Estación Central. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBIS SANTIAGO E, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I have stayed many times at Ibis Hotels, and I also hold a Platinum membership with their loyalty program, Le Club Accor. This hotel is not up to the Accor/Ibis standards. The duvets in my room were once changed for dirty ones and the one time I tried to complain about something the front desk attendant said he was too busy and could not handle that.
Also there is no cleaning in the room, there were some wine spills in my room desk that stayed for days until I got myself some wet toilet paper to clean it.

Well, whereas the hotel is not well run or managed, the property is Ibis standard, beds are comfortable, and noise isolation is good. Shower is also good. Location is not in a good neighborhood, but has got easy access to metro and inter city buses.

I would advise you to stay anywhere else in Santiago, even the other Accor (Ibis and Novotel) properties in Santiago, due to the poor service and cleanliness in this particular location.

Internet service is also no good and also not possible to make complaints to management on that, been told it is not a hotel responsability, since it is a third party service. When it connects it is ok, but it gets an "invalid user /login" many many times before it gets to work. If you can, get a prepaid SIM card for Broadband (banda ancha movil) for your stay.

Room Tip: There are smoker and non smoker floors, mind that when picking up your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranerio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS SANTIAGO E, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience in the hotel. I am really sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
For us it's very important to receive coments about our guest' stay, therefore your feedback is very important to us. .

In relation of the cleanless of the room, we are taking the appropriate measures with the housekeeping service to prevent future occurrence.
For the WIFI, we will change this month the operador to give a best access at our guests.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelteam2011_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBIS SANTIAGO E, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Dacarlo
#125 of 202 in Santiago
96 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#71 of 202 in Santiago
4,108 reviews
RQ Santiago
#46 of 202 in Santiago
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Paris Londres
#147 of 202 in Santiago
208 reviews
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#115 of 202 in Santiago
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Santiago Estacion Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Santiago Estacion Central

Address: Avenida Lib Bernardo O'Higgins 3780, Santiago 9160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: £42 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Santiago Estacion Central 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Santiago Estacion Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Santiago Estacion Central Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing