We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, well located and hard to fault...”
Review of Landay Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Landay Hostel
Ranked #70 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, well located and hard to fault...”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Having stayed in Don Santiago the first time in Santiago, I thought I would try another hostel this time around so gave Landay a try. The reviews all looked good and its easy to see why.

The place looks pretty new and is in a beautiful building with big spacious rooms. The bunks are huge and very comfy (although I would stay in a bottom bunk if you are small or not so agile (no ladders). Each room has big lockers for security which is always a big plus for me.

The bathrooms are clean and modern (good hot water) so I gather they have been updated recently having read a previous review about bathrooms letting the place down (certainly not the case anymore...at least for the communal ones). The kitchen is also functional albeit a little small so if there is chopping to be done and someone else using the kitchen, you may need to chop in the dining area. Certainly not a big issue though.

The staff were friendly (either locals or fellow travelers working there for a bit), the internet was quick and they had a decent lounge area where people were watching films and football.

As for the location, its just off Avenida Brasil, which has plenty of bars and restaurants a little further north so you don't need to go far to have a good time. Its also near Los Heroes, Republica and Cummings metro stations so its quick and easy to get anywhere you need to go...frankly, you can even walk to the center, its not that far.

There is not much more I can say really. I met friends whilst in Santiago so didn't get involved in the usual hostel atmosphere this time but it was all pretty chilled with a good mix of people should I have wanted to. Really good hostel, so well worth a look when doing your hostel hunting.

P.S. Its also really easy to get to Valparaiso from here...take the metro from Republica to Pajaritos (direction San Pablo) and then a bus from there to Valparaiso (Turbus & Pullman both run for around $4,000-4,500, takes 90 minutes if that).

Room Tip: As above, take a bottom bunk if you are small or less agile as they are very big and there was no la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    59
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
37
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a hostel in the central area of Santiago. It is a very simple place and very pleasant to be. The staff is very kind, helpfull and makes the atmosphera of the hostel very cool. I recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicafrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

It was a nice hostel located close to Los Heroes metro and centropuerto bus station. The latter is a good cheap option to get the the airport. Not a great many restaurants nearby that were good, but certainly easy to ride the metro nearby.
The second floor has a small staircase with low ceiling to negotiate, but is quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hostel is in a beautiful building and it has lovely features throughout. The location is great, positioned between 2 metro stations and in walking distance to local amenities,
We stayed in a 6 bed dorm on the second floor, looking onto the courtyard and it was lovely. So bright, airy and fresh. Beds really comfy and it was nice to be given towels for free!
The kitchen is well equipped and has a good breakfast free of charge with toast, cereal, fruit, tea, coffee and juice.
The negatives are that there were only 2 shared bathrooms so I had to wait a couple of times. Also the receptionist might've been new as she seemed to not really know what she was doing. We were told that there was no space in the same dorm for 2 nights and so we'd have to swap rooms, we packed everything up by 9am and then at 3pm were told that we had to move back to our original room? Very confusing but like I say, she was probably new so this sort of thing may not happen regularly.
I'd definitely recommend staying at this hostel.

Room Tip: Some of the dorms were in the middle of the building and had no windows, ask for a room with a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzanillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel one night while just passing through Santiago. The building itself is cute but cramped. The staff quite friendly, although when checking in we found it odd that we were asked if we would be needing towels when we booked a private room, we aren't typical backpackers. My husband and I were getting up early to catch a flight from Santiago, we were woken up in the early hours due to a crowd in the bar which is part of the hostel, then by people in rooms all around us because you can hear everything in that building, the walls are clearly so thin. The building is not meant for people to actually sleep in. Terrible experience which was really too bad because they were nice people

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great place to stay, Handy to everything. Mine Host most welcoming and helpful. Good Breakfast. He is an English is his first language guy. He keeps the place free from pesky locals so it it a haven for travellers.

Room Tip: I loved going right up to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FrankS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It is a very friendly hostel to stay in Santiago. There are clean and big rooms and the bathrooms too. We have been in a room with a view outside. This hostel is near downtown. It´s a safe place in the city. .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank steinmannbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#97 of 196 in Santiago
597 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#18 of 478 in Santiago
541 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#5 of 478 in Santiago
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Chile Lindo Hostel
#29 of 478 in Santiago
245 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
#199 of 478 in Santiago
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landay Hostel

Property: Landay Hostel
Address: Erasmo Escala 2012 | Barrio Brasil, Santiago 8340584, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Landay Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landay Barcelo Hostel is in one of the best neighborhood of Santiago, its called Barrio Brasil "The historic district" The Hostel it just two blocks from Los Heroes metro station (the main metro line of the city).It also has the NEW Coffee Bar where you can enjoy the really good Marley Coffee, delicious Muffins and healty sandwich in the best place.Come in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Landay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing