We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castillo Surfista Hostel
Ranked #21 of 488 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd Home”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hostel made my trip to Santiago great. Amanda, the receptionist, is awesome. There is a home-like feeling I did not experience in the other hostels I stayed at. People gather for movies, games, and talks. It was routine for guests to cook together and ask newcomers if they wanted to join in. The owner is present and laid back.
Location: close to Metro, supermarket, and tourist sites
Bars are walking distance but not close enough that you hear them. This is huge because bars can stay open until 4 a.m.
Safe neighborhood near a park that has a literary cafe that offers many free events
Taxis don't know where the street is because it is not on a main street. Gave it a 4 instead of 5 because I was awakened every morning by some neighbor doing work on his home, trash pick-up, people going to work, etc.
Other Pros: late check-out, helpful advice, very clean, great bed
Cons: internet didn't work well outside the main house...not a big problem though because you have access to the main house at all times

Room Tip: I liked the private room with a bathroom outside of the house. Lots od space and a comfortable doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traderjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, Owner at Castillo Surfista Hostel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thanks for the review!! We take your comments seriously and are always working to improve. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    38
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
52
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Nice hostel, cosy rooms, friendly volonteer staff, good book exchange and movies to watch in living room, quiet location in walking distance of most attractions.
Cons:
Breakfast was a bit small for the price, kitchen could be better equipped. Complicated booking process, all over south America we just sent an email to book, here they required you to pay a deposit via one of the booking sites (credit card).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Airion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, Owner at Castillo Surfista Hostel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thanks!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a private room with private bathroom for our 3 night stay, working off the jet lag from our long haul flight. The hostel is well located in a nice safe neighborhood. It is within 20 mins walking distance of your major sights (and santiago is lovely to walk through with friendly dogs and lots of green spaces), and about 5 mins from Baquedano metro station. The room itself was clean, a little cold without any heating on a winters night but the bed was comfortable and the blankets warm. There is a supermarket down the road, and a kitchen available to cook your own food if you wish. There is a lovely courtyard, but it is often occupied by the lovable but enthusiastic hostel dog Duke, who makes eating out there particularly challenging. The service was fine, and the hostel had a nice communal feeling about it. A lovely little place if you want to relax.

The only negative was that the shower was not particularly hot, and the water pressure fairly dismal unless you wanted a very cold shower. But all in all, a nice place to stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Case0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, Owner at Castillo Surfista Hostel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Gracias!!!! Safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was a great place to stay. We were at first a bit worried because the hostal is on a street that no one had heard of, but upon checking in we realized we were in a great part of town, off the busy streets but central to lots of sights. Lovely staff, nice rooms and very clean bathrooms!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctintheea4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here for a few nights in April. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are cozy. the building is old so their signs about creaky floors and clogged drains. The location is OK. Its a residential area and from the outside its hard to tell if its a house or a hostel and its a 15 minute walk to the nearest nightlife area (bella vista). The owner is a chill SoCal guy who really takes pride in his business which is great. All in all, a great spot to crash for a few nights.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in March, it was our second hostel in Santiago and I much preferred this location. It was within walking distance to the Bellavista neighbourhood that has great bars and restaurants. We had a private double en-suite which was facing the courtyard at the back. The room was extremely big and had a comfortable bed and lots of space to spread out. We did however have issues with hot water and showers were generally cold.

The hostel itself has a lovely vibe to it, very chilled and relaxed. Except for Duke the dog who is anything but chilled! He's entertaining if not a little over bearing at times. The outside area is a lovely space and there's good rooms inside too. The kitchen is a decent size and well equipped. We skipped breakfast, it was typically basic, there are many great places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great hostel, very welcoming staff, we had a lot of fun. Good vibrations!
The hostel has a very homy atmosphere and people are relaxed and easy going. Rooms are great, breakfast is good. We would definitly recommend this hostel to any backpacker!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Quiral Hotel Boutique
#66 of 200 in Santiago
56 reviews
Providencia
Santiago City Hostel
Santiago City Hostel
#47 of 488 in Santiago
101 reviews
Don Santiago Hostel
#9 of 488 in Santiago
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Aji Hostel
Aji Hostel
#39 of 488 in Santiago
225 reviews
Providencia
Boutique Hostel Salvador Oriente
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#10 of 488 in Santiago
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Surfista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Surfista Hostel

Property: Castillo Surfista Hostel
Address: Maria Luisa Santander 0329, Santiago 011291, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 488 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER OF THE HOSTELBOOKERS 2013 EXCELLENCE AWARD FOR CLEANEST HOSTEL IN SOUTH AMERICA. Come experience a boutique-style fusion of CALIFORNIA SURFER and KNIGHTS OF THE ROUND TABLE, nestled within a large 100 year old house in one of Santiago's most unique and safest neighborhoods. My name is Jonathan, a lifelong traveler and California surfer. This hostel is new, a place I created for backpackers, students, ocean lovers, and gonzo spirit soul surfers. I decided not to cram the rooms with beds so you and intimate groups of new friends can stretch out and have the entire house to yourselves, complete with a large kitchen, patio with BBQ, garden, LED TV room, dining room and computer room. Party all night long or take a moment to relax alone. It's all possible here. We are strategically located in the heart of Santiago, in an area of great historical, cultural and natural value. This exclusive area is very close to the typical places of the city: Parque Bustamante, Plaza Italia, San Cristóbal Hill, Barrio Bellavista, Rio Mapocho, Parque Forestal, a large supermarket, laundromats, restaurants and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing