We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional company that exceeded my expectations”

Cascada Expediciones
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,209.00*
and up
Torres Del Paine Explorer Tour
Ranked #102 of 240 Outdoor Activities in Santiago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a local Chilean-owned adventure tour operator offering soft-adventure and nature tours throughout Chile, Argentina, and Bolivia with a particular focus on Patagonia and the Atacama Desert.
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Cascada Expediciones, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"torres del paine"
in 7 reviews
"other companies"
in 2 reviews
"chilli"
in 8 reviews
"ecocamp"
in 6 reviews
"circuit"
in 4 reviews
"organisation"
in 2 reviews
"company"
in 2 reviews
"hike"
in 2 reviews
"information"
in 4 reviews
"tours"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2018

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Cascada Expediciones, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Cascada Expediciones is one of the best and easiest travel agencies and tour organizers to deal with. When I first called to get information about EcoCamp, one of their resorts, I didn't know much about Torres del Paine National Park, Patagonia and honestly, not much about Chile either. The experience was great! they explained everything about the park and the different tours they offer to Patagonia and they helped me select the best tour based on what my interests were. Claudia, the customer service specialist I worked with, took the time to answer every question and to address every concern I had on multiple calls and email exchanges. They are very passionate about what they do and it shows on the quality of the services. payment through their website was easy and safe and the entire process from first contact to the end of my week-long tour, was seamless. As a traveler, you want experiences that change your life and Cascada knows how to provide that. I plan to book some of the other tours they offer to other parts of Chile and South America.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank FrankR2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Cascada Expediciones, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Hola,

Thanks for your feedback! Our team is passionate about their country and this is something they prove through their job on a daily basis. We want our guests to feel welcome and transformed when they go back home, and we are delighted to read you loved both Cascada and EcoCamp. We hope to welcome you again in South America!

Saludos,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Decided to be in the mountains for a few days we came with some recommendations and overall the team did a good job, was friendly when welcoming us and the briefing was okay. On our day leaving the other couple joining us was late so we had to wait, that was not too cool as the car was still not too warm. As we arrived in the mountains, the entire surrounding changed and it was incredible to hike where almost no one else hiked. We maybe met with 3 or 4 other groups during our time there, so this was well done. The guide was okay, could have talked more about the mountains and myths I wanted to hear more about, but he was a warm personality. The hike was strenuous and I'd say so far the toughest until we made the Inca Trail in Peru later on, but as the place is still not as crowded as other places I've been to, this is a good option.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank hannnahmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Cascada Expediciones, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hola!

Thanks for your feedback. We are delighted to know you enjoyed Chile and the work of our team at Cascada. At Cascada, we are proud to be a leader in adventure and sustainable travel in Chile and want every guest to have a unique experience in the incredible landscapes our country has to offer. We are nevertheless sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with the logistics and the guide you had on your hike and passed on your comments to the appropriate team member. We believe such comments are a key aspect of the quality service we provide and we are proud to be constantly improving. We hope to have you again in Chile!

Best,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

If you are traveling to Patagonia / Torres del Paine / Ecocamp, avoid using Cascada to book / organize your travel at all costs. If you have to use Cascada, make sure not to work with Guillaume Doerig or Benjamin Caceres, who were both incredibly unhelpful / rude. As a result of Guillaume's mistake, I have been defrauded out of over $2,000.

My friend Amitoj and I booked a four night stay at Ecocamp in February 2018 through Cascada. Amitoj and I were planning to travel to Ecocamp from Perito Moreno (6 hours away) after an excursion ending at 5 PM and were planning to fly out of El Calafate (4.5 hours away) at 11 AM, so we needed to confirm our stay at Ecocamp would make sense given that tight schedule.

Before we booked, we repeatedly asked Cascada's agent (Guillaume Doerig) to confirm that we would be able to arrive at Ecocamp after our Perito Moreno excursion ending at 5 PM, and leave Ecocamp early enough in the morning in order to make our 11 AM flight from El Calafate. He repeatedly confirmed that we would have full flexibility. Only 5 days later did he inform us that the Argentina-Chile border opens and closes at 8 AM and 10 PM respectively, which would make it impossible for us to arrive and leave per our schedule. We therefore were unable to use the first and last nights of our 4 night stay.

Needless to say, Cascada has refused to offer us any compensation for the mistake that Guillaume made, despite acknowledging that he misinformed us. Emails to managers at Cascada (Chloe Mazille and Isabel Menendez) have been ignored / gone unanswered.

Put simply, my advice is this - avoid using Cascada at all costs. They make sloppy mistakes but are unwilling to own up to those mistakes or do anything to fix them.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Prateek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Cascada Expediciones, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hola Prateek,

Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased to know you had a good time at EcoCamp and enjoyed both the friendliness of our staff and the coziness of your dome. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you haved experienced in Patagonia and passed on your comments to the appropriate team members at Cascada Expediciones. We have carefully verified the pre-trip communication between you and your travel agent (Guillaume) to have a global understanding on the situation and be able to make a proper decision. You did a last-minute purchase (on February 10th) and advised Guillaume you would travel with your own means of transport. On February 14th, we confirmed the schedule in our Puerto Natales office in order to give you the National Park entrances. You then realized the issue regarding the border crossing and advised Guillaume you would not be able to do your trip as initially planned. Guillaume expressed his sincere apologies and assisted you to find the most suitable solution.

At Cascada, we are dedicated to maintaining a clear communication with our customers and to reply all kinds of questions for travelers to have the best experience. However you did not send Cascada any information regarding your schedule in Argentina (flight in El Calafate) beforehand. For that reason, Guillaume could not help you without having this information. We ask our guests to provide us with this important information to be able to offer them the best service. Therefore we cannot provide you with a refund as we cannot hold your travel agent responsible for this miscommunication. Our Customer Service team was pleased to answer your concerns on the phone after your trip and we would be delighted to provide you with more information if you have other enquiries. Thanks for your understanding and we hope to welcome you again in Patagonia!

Best,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cascada Expediciones also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Cascada Expediciones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing