We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but pricy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
Ranked #17 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
126 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good but pricy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Ritz Carlton is conveniently located at one of the best areas in Santiago with subway station literally right in front - one minute away from the premise. The immediate surrounding, while there is not much attraction, it is safe and quiet.

If you like "old-world" charm, then Ritz-Carlton is your hotel to stay. Guestrooms are spacious and tastefully decorated (though not really my taste). Overall very comfortable. Bathroom is really nice and gives a true luxurious feel (tub, shower room and toilet are all separate) - definitely a 5-star space to indulge yourself.

Price wise, this is not a cheap hotel - even with the special rate that we received, it still cost way over $250 a night but it did include breakfast and fortunately the selection was excellent. Internet charge, as a few reviews suggested here, is on the high side. Once you add everything up and it will cost you over $300 a night. I arrived at the hotel close to midnight and nothing was open in the immediate neighborhood so I had no choice but ordered in-room dining.... and what a sticker shock I got, a simple club sandwich cost me almost $30USD! Speaking of first-class PRICE for being inside a super 5-star hotel! I probably wouldn't pick this property unless it is again the event designated hotel. Having said, I still would recommend Ritz Carlton to fellow business travelers, especially if you like the "European" flare.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    294
    85
    36
    21
See reviews for
194
502
47
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We hadn't planned to spend time in Santiago but we had to find a hotel, we chose the RC. All aspects of the stay were good and exceeded my expectations. My only issue was a very loud guest in the room next to us. Of course they seem to be having a really good time - but at 5am? Anyway, good stay for the one night we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dracdc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Ritz is conveniently located for doing business in Santiago. There are trendier places to stay in the city, but I was there for a conference, and such got a great rate and value. My primary complaint was the steep price of internet access, but this is an issue with many chains, not only the Ritz.
Tip - if you go for breakfast, be sure to ask for the raspberry juice

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venustar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

They did a great job at keeping Ritz charm while modernizing the dining room for a more modern feel. The rooms are nice and clean. Really appreciated the wine boutique in the lobby, good selection and knowledgeable staff. Good location for business meetings, meetings rooms are a bit stuffy but loyal to Ritz experience. Only issue I had was with my room card key: changed 7 times in 4 days, but front desk staff was always quick to handle the problem and very polite. Staff in the dining room are attentive and make excellent meal and wine pairing suggestions, very nice touch!

Room Tip: no suggestions re rooms, this is downtown, assume higher floors have nice views but this Santiago so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpgariepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

One expects a lot from the Ritz, and what they're striving to do is excellent. Rooms are nice, service generally friendly, efficient, and appropriately warm, good amenities, good location esp if you are in Santiago for business.

Unfortunately, they fall down on random details in the execution more often than one would expect, and more often than competitors in the city. In 5 stays in the last 2 months for me and one colleague, we've experienced as one-offs:
- Excruciatingly long checkout process as they sorted out breakfast on my bill. They couldn't accept my assertion that I had just signed a bill for $x and had to hunt up the specific waiter who had not yet put it through the system. Elsewhere they would either type it in manually or comp breakfast.
- Room service that sent up something slightly different than ordered
- Buffet breakfast where it took several flagging down of the staff to get coffee - finally arrived 25 mins after I sat down, just as I was leaving (at a hotel buffet breakfast, the staff doesn't do much more than bring coffee!)
- Amenities in the room randomly forgotten, e.g. bottled water missing
- Cheerfully agree to serve food from the bar at a table in the lounge, but after bringing menus no-one came to take order. Went back to bar to place order, and told by waiter that it is "impossible" to serve in the lounge
- My wife called me at the hotel and was told I was not a guest
- Ordered a hotel cab for 8:30am, when I arrived told car not available. Asked if I wanted a normal cab, then told that will be a 20 min wait. (If you can't give me a car when promised, make other arrangements and/or call me or find me at breakfast if it needs discussion)
- Rather more expensive in-room internet compared to other business hotels

None of these is catastrophic, and when you travel you roll with the punches. But when you stay at the Ritz, you shouldn't average one punch to roll with per night/stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montrealais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I was here for 4 nights. The room was superb. Nicely decorated, VERY quiet and the housekeepers did a great job. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The club lounge was well stocked with food and wine for most of the day. The concierge recommended a restaurant just outside the hotel which serves excellent seafood. The services throughout the hotel were great.

The only problem was slow serve in the hotel restaurant. Our business lunch took 2 hours instead of 1, despite being prearranged through a meeting organiser. Next time, we will have a buffet send to the meeting room instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoNo0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here for 5 days on business. Convenient for the Metro, which is good as you wouldn't want to spend much time in the hotel itself. Rooms were quite nicely furnished, comfortable and clean. Bell staff were very good and helpful. The downside here is the restaurant. The food portions were small and the staff were very poor. If you are not sitting in the main restaurant or are outside on the covered patio, you may as well not exist. They don't really understand enough English to get you what you want/need and spend a lot of their time putting information into their cash registers - which obviously requires 3 people to complete the task. It takes forever to get even a simple thing like a cup of coffee, and then it is only 3/4 full and lukewarm. When you finally get your food, it is nicely presented and tasty, but do you really want to take the chance that you will either be forgotten (as I was, prior to walking out on one night), or spend 2 hours over dinner as the food gradually makes its way from the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Grand Hyatt Santiago
#38 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#6 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Las Condes
W Santiago
W Santiago
#39 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#4 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Santiago Marriott Hotel
#26 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
Address: Calle Uno 15, Santiago 8360482, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Las Condes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santiago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#3 Family Hotel in Santiago
#4 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#6 Green Hotel in Santiago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a unique location, with equal distance to both local beaches and ski resorts, The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago is the ideal starting point for your Chilean adventures. With 205 luxurious guest rooms and suites, including 49 Club Level rooms, we invite you to be inspired amid spectacular city and sweeping mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Santiago Hotel Santiago
Santiago Ritz Carlton
Ritz Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing