We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot be 5 star with good WiFi” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
Ranked #18 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cannot be 5 star with good WiFi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is tired and old fashion. Felt like I was in a retirement village.
Most people have iPad and Wifi laptops but this seems to be lost on this hotel. WiFi only worked in the lobby and was expensive.
I now only search for hotels which have quality WiFi included. WiFi is essential for business, making bookings and of course lodging reviews on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmeir, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Mr. James E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. I am very sorry to hear your experience did not meet your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you.
Feedback is extremely important to us, and so if you could afford the time, I may be reached directly at this number +56 2 24708500.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Sandra Estornell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    294
    85
    36
    21
See reviews for
194
504
47
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Recently I spent four night for business at the Ritz in Santiago. I had spent the previous two nights at the nearby W, and couldn't wait to get to a place with brighter lights and less music blaring in the elevators.

The Ritz is located in a very central and convenient part of Santiago, Las Condes. It has a very traditional lobby that is very clean and nice. What you expect from the Ritz.

As a Marriott Gold member, I was disappointed that I wasn't allowed access to the club lounge. That and breakfast would cost me an additional $125 per day. That is not a typo.

Upon checking into my room, I was pleased with the size of the room and the privacy the bathroom afforded. Having just left the W, a bathroom without windows into the room was welcome. The room, while spacious, wasn't very business friendly. The chair at the desk didn't have coasters or the ability to go up or down. That was an issue because the desk was incompatible with the height of the chair. I was forced to take a cushion from the furniture so I could sit at the table. I am 6' tall, so this wasn't due to my height. There was a plug to convert my US based plug, so that was a nice feature. However, the plug was below the level of the desk and couldn't easily be accessed. I was able to use another plug, so it wasn't that significant, but still, I use hotel rooms all the time for biz and this wasn't a great set-up.

One day, I left my room around 9 AM and returned at 1:15 PM and my room had yet to be cleaned. They came by to clean it and I decided to go to the lobby to work for an hour. There wasn't a single electrical outlet to be found. I asked for assistance and the person from the Ritz couldn't provide a place for me. Fortunately, the gentleman at the front desk allowed me to use the club lounge and that was a very nice gesture and really appreciated. There I was able to work easily.

The club lounge is big and spacious and offers up a large variety of food and beverages.

I had room service twice and the selection of food seemed pretty good, although, I am a vegetarian and almost always limited. The service was good and the people always friendly. They also have wine and beer in the room. The wine is more affordable than the beer.

One of the benefits I really liked was the car service available. They were MBZ and almost always available. The prices were reasonable and the drivers always very friendly.

There are also places you can walk nearby for dinner or drinks. While I visited the in-door pool on the top floor, I didn't use it. There is also a gym in the same area. There is also a small area outside the pool area to sun.

Overall, I liked this hotel better than the W, simply because it was more my style. The hotel could use an update to the networking capabilities and other minor areas, but still, a nice place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrbExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaxaq
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Regrettably we only stayed one night before going for a cruise. However I must say that the level of cleanliness, hospitality as well as service was second to none. The room was nice and spacious, with a comfortable bed which was very much appreciated after getting 3 flights to arrive from Europe. We also enjoyed having a couple of drinks at the restaurant and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay again if I happen to be in Santiago once again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

the expected ritz standard can be found in this hotel with nice a gentle service, great room and a fantastic restaurant. try the restaurant and you will not regret.also the top floor pool and gym look stunning. only negative side was to have to pay in dollar rather than chilean pesos

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquelita_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Booked in by Seabourn for 2 days after a great cruise. Disaster at the front, as the hotel could not organise the leavers & the new arrivals. 2 hour wait for room, at which point we asked again, to be given keys and told "your room is just around the corner". Good room, comfortable bed, awful showers, really weak, scotch mist has more water pressure, and front desk didn't seem to care despite twice talking to them.Food OK, but staff almost pleading for tips-odd, since it's not Argentina.
Santiago is a world class city, and needs a world class hotel: the Ritz-Carlton is not it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_cullum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The suite was large, comfortable and clean, as was the bathroom - stocked with nice bath products and comfortable linens. The location is good and easily accessible (the metro stop is literally steps away). If you don't want to or can't venture into other parts of Santiago, there are restaurants in the vicinity and the restaurant and bar in the hotel itself are very good. What made it stand out, though, was the all-around excellent service. Wouldn't mind staying here again with more time to explore this part of Santiago.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iberjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

By far and away the best hotel experience ever. I travel over 100,000 miles a year all over the world and this is the fiirst hotel I have stayed at and never found anything to complain about. I am not an easy person to please. Couldn't find a fault.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Grand Hyatt Santiago
#38 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#6 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Las Condes
W Santiago
W Santiago
#39 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Santiago Marriott Hotel
#26 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
Address: Calle Uno 15, Santiago 8360482, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Las Condes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santiago
#3 Family Hotel in Santiago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#4 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#6 Green Hotel in Santiago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a unique location, with equal distance to both local beaches and ski resorts, The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago is the ideal starting point for your Chilean adventures. With 205 luxurious guest rooms and suites, including 49 Club Level rooms, we invite you to be inspired amid spectacular city and sweeping mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Santiago Hotel Santiago
Santiago Ritz Carlton
Ritz Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing