We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bellavista Hostel
Ranked #39 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“Good location”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great location, nice staff, less socializing than in other hostels.
However very noisy rooms with very thin walls. We stayed in a double room and could hear the couple next door talking... Wlan wasn't working in the double rooms either.
Breakfast was average (toast, cornflakes, tea, coffee (however most of the time there was nothing left), jam). There was one big bowl of jam at every table so that after some time the jam didn't look too appetizingly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 8Jul8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    138
    74
    36
    13
See reviews for
9
68
145
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Every single staff member we spoke to in our 3 day stay had the best customer service. Jess In particular for assisting with the laundry and shay for a great hostel overview. We had a double room as it was the same price as a dorm. Great size and great value. The breakfast is also terrific as is the location, right next to restaurants and a short walk to metro station

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was our first hostel in Chile. It was average only. The girl on reception was good, spoke good English and told us all we needed to know. The hostel itself could do with some sprucing up. We were put in the building two doors down, not in the Bellavista hostel itself. The stairs were so unbelievably creaky that you can't sleep through it if someone is walking up and down at night. There is a toilet on the ground floor and the 2nd floor but not on the one in between, where we were. The windows let in all the noise from the street below and it's really loud all night as people come back from the clubs. In the morning cars and locals make lots of noise to keep you awake.

The breakfast was pretty bad. Stale bread, horrid tea and coffee, some bananas. Not enough food for all the people staying there.
Good location in Bellavista. Right by the Bellavista Patio with all the bars and restaurants.
I think if you were going out partying this could be perfect, but if you want to sleep and get over jetlag then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hostel is very well located,next to metro and restaurants, but they have serius security problems, on our first night there was a party on the terrace, next to our room going on till 5 am, we couldn´t sleep at all, and there were people going in and out the hostel near the bedrooms area. The next day our room door lock was broken and anyone could enter the room, they took 3 days to fix it, the result: my friend´s camera was stolen from the locker. I do not recomend this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JBarberan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Chile
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great location in the city, right next to a metro stop, tons of nightlife and nearby to San Cristobal hill but didn't quite live up to its reputation. Breakfast aside, which was nice, security wasn't hot and unfortunately some girls I spoke to had stuff stolen. Repairs were being made on my room during my stay because of power going out and staff weren't always the most helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Varas, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Everyone working and staying there was really friendly. The lounge areas are great for meeting people and the internet is good. Awesome location. As for the rooms, they are a bit older looking and the floor/stairs creak quite a bit. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

good location
good staff (especially the guy with glasses and the girl with glasses.....didn't know their names?)
good room
good ambience

there was also a cat who was awesome.

yeah man good times, i totally recommend to anyone

Room Tip: The private room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kniggaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Chimba Hostel
#20 of 478 in Santiago
417 reviews
Kombi Hostel
#35 of 478 in Santiago
204 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 478 in Santiago
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#28 of 478 in Santiago
278 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 478 in Santiago
694 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 478 in Santiago
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellavista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellavista Hostel

Property: The Bellavista Hostel
Address: Dardignac 0184 | Providencia, Santiago 7530216, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellavista offers the right way to visit the city's trendiest district. In the heart of Barrio Bellavista, our hostel is steps away from the most cultural points Santiago has to offer. Our barrio is packed with chic restaurants, stylish bars and trendy boutiques. We have private double rooms and dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bellavista Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellavista Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing