We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, but an average, to below-average, hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diego de Almagro Santiago Centro
Ranked #125 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
US
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well located, but an average, to below-average, hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Only spent one night at the hotel, but it was enough to determine this is definitely a rundown, well located, but average to below-average hotel. A look at the lobby confirms it. Rooms are small. Internet connection at the room did not work (and the front desk didn't even care to find out why the wireless connection didn't work) but was able to connect at the lobby. Had to wake up at 4am to take a bus to southern Chile and the hot water was not working (during winter). And last, the front desk wasn't of any help in fetching a taxi (the phone line is busy, go outside and find yourself a taxi at 5am). If you just need a bed in a well located hotel, this will probably do. If you expect good service and expect to get your money's worth, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElNavegante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    71
    85
    34
    24
See reviews for
51
51
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent 3 nights here and it was ok, nothing to rave about. The service was faultless, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located by the palace and by the metro is you wished to use it (cheap, clean and user friendly).
The breakfast buffet was ok, cereals, fruit, toast, patries - the basics. The scrambbled eggs were cold though, so you had to warm that up in the microwave provided.
The hotel food otherwise was shockingly poor, beef was cut the wrong way so you could not eat it, there was only 1 waiter so we helped ourselves to drinks and bread, and most uof us wished we went into town.
Lastly, the rooms were ok, but very cold. Apparently, most people complain about this and the cold water. We had a cold room and the hearting never worked despite being cranked to 35c, but we did have hot water. When we compalined, they gave us a blanket. The bed was very soft and uncomfortable.
There is a pool, but this was never cleaned, is tiny, and is always in the shadow of the surrounding buildings. There was no fitness centre we could use, but we ran outside which was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayalajacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I have recently spent 5 nights here and was a bit concerned before had as I had read the reviews and some weren't that good. But once I arrived, saw that it was great value for money and a very comfortable stay. I was on the 11th floor and the room was spacious, clean and had a fridge but no mini bar, which was fine as I could stock it with my own things. Housekeeping did a great job and serviced the room every day. The reception staff were always helpful and some spoke very good english, as my Spanish is non existant. The hotel is in a great location and you can easily walk everywhere and the Metro station is very close by. Breakfast is European style so no hot food but you could help yourself to whatever you wanted.
My only negative is the Wi-fi. It was quite poor coverage but was free. I would say it was more a 3 star hotel rather than 4 but a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: the higher floors have a nice view on the west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I spent 5 nights at the hotel, I must say that it is not the ideal hotel for business, I travelled with two people who did not speak Spanish, and the hotel staff that received us did not speak English, so I had to translate. The rooms are comfortable, but very simple, it has a safe, but no frigobar. I recommend not ordering taxis to the hotel staff, as you end up paying three times what it actually takes the trip. The exterior of the hotel is quite poor, is surrounded by stores, and only a small door marks the entrance to the hotel. It is well located, close to the center of Santiago which makes it quite easy to get around the city, as it has the subway station nearby. Do not consider it a four star, but from what I paid (almost 90USD / night) it's Ok.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the street are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I just arrived to the hotel and now I looking for another hotel to change.
The aspect is terrible, very simple room with single bed, there is no room service, no frigobar, no nothing. Doesn't deserve 4 stars.
As soon as I got out from the taxi I was apprached by homeless asking for money. The localization doesn't worth the sacrifice.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisCaceres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santiago hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was another latin hotel that was in tired condition and remodeling would have made it more elegant. The front entrance was not welcoming as it was on a busy street with graffiti on the walls. The room decor needed updating and the lobby had wornout carpets. My room, however, was not facing the street so I slept well without disturbances. The morning buffet was adequate and always ready for early birds. There were plenty of computers available for use free of charge. The hotel location was central and afforded easy walking within the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pghs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I will start by saying that the hotel staff and front desk were friendly and the hotel is in a great location in downtown Santiago...a close walking distance to many sites and places to eat. The rooms, bathrooms, and everything in between were less desirable.

Everything is extremely outdated. The rooms were a decent size but very old and simple things you rarely think of were not available. An example is there was only one outlet available in the room. To charge my laptop and computer, I had to unplug a lamp and the TV. Next, the room temperature was freezing and the thermostat didn't work properly - it was as if the air was on full blast for our entire stay. Lastly, and one of my greatest annoyances anywhere, was that I could not get ANY hot water. The shower barely got lukewarm with the hot water turned on full blast and the cold off. These seem like small things to deal with but when they are added together, they can make a hotel stay unpleasant.

Many Tripadvisor reviews spoke of the breakfast but I did not have it in the 3 days /2 nights I stayed here. This is definitely not a 4 star hotel. If you need a place to stay for a night for a cheap rate, then it is doable. But I would not recommend this place if you hope to enjoy your hotel as part of your vacation.

There is a hotel just up the street called Hotel Plaza San Francisco that is a better option.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AP_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Diego de Almagro Providencia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fundador
Hotel Fundador
#84 of 200 in Santiago
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
RQ Santiago
RQ Santiago
#46 of 200 in Santiago
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gen Rooms
Gen Rooms
#96 of 200 in Santiago
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#169 of 200 in Santiago
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#108 of 200 in Santiago
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diego de Almagro Santiago Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diego de Almagro Santiago Centro

Property: Hotel Diego de Almagro Santiago Centro
Address: Avenida Libertador Bernardo O'Higgins 1485, Santiago 1485, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diego de Almagro Santiago Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diego de Almagro Santiago Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diego De Almagro Centro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing