We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that glisters”
Review of Hotel Panamericano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Panamericano
Ranked #56 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here three times whilst zigzagging across Chile. Three different rooms all with faulty plumbing. Request to fix safe/ TV controller ignored. Breakfast awful, First seek cutlery, then food laid out seemingly at randome i.e. bread distant from toaster. Don't bother.... bread stale and cake rock har. Attentive staff, leave your coffee and fruit to collect yogurt and the table will be cleared when you return 30 secs later. V IMPORTANT; eleven floors and only emergency stairs the exit on the ground floor is locked shut!! DANGEROUS

Room Tip: Go elsewqere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silversue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello;

We thank you for your words. Obviously the situation you experienced in three occasions with us were not the best, and we deeply regret every single incident you have. Be sure that your case has also been completely analized and corrected, to avoid such unfortunate things to ever happen. We are very clear of our mistakes, and, if possible, on any new visit you may have, we will surely live up to the standards we have met in other cases.

Our every best.
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I chose this hotel because of the walking distance to many of the sights that I wanted to see. Sadly I arrived on a Saturday so everything in the area was closed and looked really dismal and barren with the shutters pulled down. I have no knowledge of Spanish and there seemed to be nobody in the hotel who could help me with basic English. To find out about meals and order anything to eat was difficult (I did find a reasonable supermarket 2 blocks away so was able to buy food there). They is also a lot of building around the Congress so the roads are all blocked off and they seem to working at night which was noisy. The rooms were fine and comfy and the staff were keen to help but for the language barrier. I also believe that it is a business hotel and therefore closes down over weekends maintaining basic staff and no full menu available. The wi fi was excellent and they also provide free access to computers should they be required. On the Monday morning everything changed around the hotel and suddenly there were walkways and cafés that had just been behind shutters before, providing breakfasts and lunches for the many business persons from the offices surrounding the hotel. From the hotel I was able to walk around to a lot of the places of interest which was enjoyable. I don't believe that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello;

We thank you for your words. Obviously the situation you experienced in two occasions with us were not the best, and we deeply regret every single incident you have. Be sure that your case has also been completely analized and corrected, to avoid such unfortunate things to ever happen. We are very clear of our mistakes, and, if possible, on any new visit you may have, we will surely live up to the standards we have met in other cases.

Our every best.
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Good location close to the square. Can be a little noisy at night due to central location. Rooms good, wifi excellent staff helpful and pleasant.

Modest breakfast

Would recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hi,

Thanks for sharing your comments about our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We are very glad to hear that overall you found our hotel up to your expectations.

We have considerably improved our internet service and most of our front desk staff is now fluent in english.

If you are planning to visit Santiago again, we hope to see you back in our hotel.

Very best,
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was so disappointed in this hotel, the actual hotel itself was fair, location was perfect but staff and the operations of it, was dismal. We arrived on a at 930am (after a 15 hour international flight) the weather was torrential on the day of check-in, we were told that check-in was 1pm, which is fine. They held our bags and said we could come back at 12pm to see if our room was ready, we were slightly disappointed we couldn't get in and have a shower and freshen up but we know not all hotels let you check in earlier. so we set out for a few hours whilst we waited for the room to be available. We got back to reception at 1210pm and the staff told us to wait for 20 mins in the foyer, which we did. We waited 40 mins and at 1245 checked with the counter, "room isnt ready until 1pm" so we waited another 15mins, desperate to get into our room and get out of the wet clothes from being out in the weather. 105pm arrived and we went back to the reception counter to be told that "there is a problem with your room" and we are unable to checkin. We were then told we were being moved to another hotel. Meanwhile everyone else around us was checking in. I get these things happen, and the hotel moved us across the road to another hotel. Our main issue was they knew there was a problem, so instead of making us wait and wait in wet clothes sitting in the foyer and sending us away in the first place, why not tell us straight away? It was obvious the whole time something was going on because many other people were checking in earlier and there was no problem. Cecilia who was on the reception counter was extremely rude, and even though she made comment that she didnt speak english therefore was unable to assist us, it was quite obvious she understood everything that was said in english. The young man who had the task of helping us, did so to the very best of his ability and we felt very sorry that he had to deal with the issue, hence we kept our visual annoyance to a minimal, we knew he was doing everything HE could. So we gave them a second chance the following week when we returned to Santiago. Before we left the first time, I checked our next reservation to make sure it was going to be fine and that the room was going to be available when we arrived. They assured me it would be. so when we arrived the second time, the room was available, but the wrong room. We paid for a room with TWO double beds, we were given a room with one double bed. (we were NOT a couple that could share a bed) so the desk staff changed the room , this time is was a small dingy room with two single beds. Needless to say we wont ever go back there. Cecilia on the front desk needs some customer service training. We had a group of 8 travelling altogether, everyone made comment on the bad service. We have all done our fair share of travelling and are very easy going, not complainers at all we know things happen but this was atrocious. ruined our view of Santiago.

Room Tip: Dont book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazvrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro F, Gerente at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time and sharing your opinion about our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We deeply regret to hear that your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations. We strive really hard to provide the best possible service, so comments like yours are taken into account very seriously as a tool to improve our product and services.

Our hotel is on its final renovation stage, so chances are you stayed at one of our last rooms pending to be renovated. This is obviously not an excuse, but it could help to partially explain your disatisfaction.

We have passed your comments to the appropriate departments. Rest assure they will be considered.

Shall your travel plans bring you back to Santiago we sincerely hope to see you again.

Very best,
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I have been at this hotel for three nights and have been very pleased. The room is spacious and well appointed. No problems with flooding shower! Check in was easy and staff have been friendly and helpful even though I speak no Spanish. Desk clerk told me to email him my boarding pass so that he could print it out for me. Breakfast is weak but it is included so about what I would expect. Great location near Metro and can walk to many different areas easily. I would definitely stay here again, especially for $83 a night! Wifi is good, front desk lent me electrical adapters, large flat screen tv in room, only weakness is breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbench400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks for all those kinds words and taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Hotel Panamericano.

We are proud of all the amenities you had the chance to discover and enjoy, and will strive to keep being better, while also considering your recommendation on improving our breakfast service.

Thank you once again for considering us as your choice in Santiago, and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Regards,
Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Staff very unfriendly, and not helpful, to the point of being rude
Failed to book in our friends
Breakfast not refrigerated ... Food like cold meat cuts left out at room temperature
Coffee bad
Bathroom floor floods with water when you have a shower
Charges 20% to book a bus trip
I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here ........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiecr-04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Hello Jackie;

First of all, thank you for taking your time to review our Hotel, and we appreciate and welcome any and all words of advice, as we strive to improve everyday.

We deeply regret the experience you had at our fine establishment, and rest assured we have already taken into account your review, taking matters into hand, and have dealt with the situation recently.

As of now, these matters should not happen any more, and we promise that on your next visit, the experience will much more satisfying.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Hotel is clean, well located, not to expensive, close to many sightseeings. Front desk was helpful most of the time. Rooms are spacious. Windows were soundproof so the noise from the main street wasn't bothering. Wifi was ok. Breakfast continental, keeps you satisfied. Or choose many of the coffeehouses surrounding the hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartekMAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Panamericano.

We appreciate your kind words, and are glad you were satisfied with our establishment, hoping to see you again very soon.

Your advice on our breakfast will be taken into account, as we strive on improving everyday.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
RQ Santiago
#48 of 202 in Santiago
502 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#69 of 202 in Santiago
4,052 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#19 of 202 in Santiago
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Galerias
#73 of 202 in Santiago
900 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#18 of 202 in Santiago
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamericano

Address: Teatinos 320 | Corner Huerfanos, Santiago 8340416, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Santiago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: £59 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panamericano 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panamericano Santiago de Chile is located in the heart of the Centro or Downtown Santiago. The Hotel is located within walking distance from the Government Palace, one of the safest areas of the capital of Chile, which is the Financial, Cultural, Civic and Trade center of the country.Hotel Panamericano stands out among the many deals in hotels in Santiago since it incorporates a full range of hotel services, features 170 cozy and spacious rooms and modern "Junior Suites", tourism services in Santiago and its surroundings, car park, laundry, gym and boxing school for executives, meeting rooms, conference rooms, meeting rooms and rooms for marriages. We have a luxurious VIP meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Panamericano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing